A Love Letter To Scotland (Crafty Individuals Challenge)

Hello Everyone
I am a few days late in sharing news of the new challenge theme at the Crafty Individuals Blog.
For the month of April the theme is Nature’s Beauty, a wonderful theme open to many interpretations and styles.  If you wish to enter then you must include at least one Crafty Individuals product on your artwork.  It is worth your while entering as the Top 5 entries will receive a Crafty Individuals stamp of their choice.  All entry details can be viewed that Jean’s Crafty Individuals Blog (link above).
A lengthy post … you have been warned!
Initially my plans were for something delicate with a colour palette of muted Springtime tones and a flutter of butterflies but as I looked through my Crafty Individuals stamps I came across CI-204.  This stamp spoke to me as I am in a somewhat reflective mood at the moment and this stamp has a special place in my crafting life.
Some time ago, when I first became passionate about stamping I sent, as a Thank You, a hanging to Jean and Malcolm using this stamp.   I was so touched when they asked for it to be a project on their then website. One of the reasons it meant so much was because Crafty Individuals was the first stamping company whose stamps I fell in love with.  naturesbeautylynneAlthough my Blog is not the arena for discussing the  Independence/Unity debate which is swirling around Scots at the moment, now more than ever before in my lifetime Scotland has been very much in my thoughts.  So that is my other reason for this stamp choice. My team sample for the challenge is  my love letter to the beauty of Scotland.  The colours of the purple and green I used throughout echo the colours of the landscape.  It is a piece which hopefully also evokes the contradictions of the Scottish landscape which can be harsh and brutal  yet at the same time there is a fragility to its beauty.
I am not naive to believe that every nook and cranny of Scotland is poetic, far from it and nor do I buy into the shortbread tin images either, I will be the first to mock many of the representations but sometimes it is nice to lay the cynic aside for a moment and don those rose tinted spectacles!
It was only once I was reaching for the tub of Gel Medium to adhere the elements that I realised it was too stark, it needed some background stamping and I realised I had the perfect stamp in the form of CI-406, the wonderful new manuscript stamp which to my shame I had not inked up before now.manuscriptoncanvasTo try and capture the colours of thistles and  heather, all except for a piece of green lace, everything was dyed/stained.thistle2Burlap, stained gauze, stained seam binding and also some dyed silk (?) which I received from my lovely friend Dorthe were gathered.thistledetailIt would be fun if you managed to find the time to join the Nature’s Beauty challenge. I wonder what this theme will inspire you to create. Maybe, like myself, you will find yourself reaching for a different colour palette than you would normally work with.  Whatever you create whether a card, tag, hanging, altered art, etc …. have fun.
Happy Stamping!
Lynne

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie G
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 21:28:51

    You know how much I love Scotland Lynne and this is a fabulous tribute. The stamps are stunning and the background/ details are beautiful.

    TFS and best wishes
    Annie x

    Reply

  2. rachel fisher
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 21:32:21

    I adore the colours you chose here Lynne – stunning and beautiful xx

    Reply

  3. Rita
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 21:43:35

    Another Scots classics here too Lynne. Now I’m singing The Thisle of Scotland. A beautiful tribute , in fact when CO brought them out I just had to buy them and have used them quite a lot as well. Your hanging is stunning and so well executed. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  4. Julie Lee
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 21:56:53

    This is so beautiful and such an interesting post. I think thistles are most certainly among Nature’s most beautiful and most extraordinary treasures! What a gorgeous hanging this is, Julie Ann xx

    Reply

  5. paper profusion
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 22:20:06

    I’m in a similiar pondering mood Lynne so your post strikes a chord with me. You’ve a wonderful way with words. It’s a really lovely hanging, just like your lovely self! Sleep well, Nicola x

    Reply

  6. marci piraro
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 23:12:58

    A beautiful hanging, and I loved reading your post also.

    Reply

  7. Marilyn J. Rock
    Apr 09, 2014 @ 23:22:41

    Beautiful hanging! I love thistles! xo

    Reply

  8. valerie-Jael
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 06:21:16

    A beautiful piece and a wonderful tribute to Scotland. I spent many holidays there in my youth, and always looked forward to my time there. Valerie

    Reply

  9. Brenda Brown
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 06:21:45

    This is a beautiful work of art reflecting your love of Scotland and what it portrays in terms of the landscape. The imagery, colours and design fit beautifully with the theme and your thinking. Thank you for sharing your art and thoughts in this way xx

    Reply

  10. Suzie B
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 06:53:48

    This reflective lyrical post is a pleasure to read and the lovely hanging is s pleasure to look at.
    Suzi B xx

    Reply

  11. may
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 07:30:13

    Gorgeous work Lynne, it reflects your love for Scotland…I too was born in Scotland but I now live in the south of England…met & feel in love with an Englishman…37 years & two children later we are still very happy together… I miss the beauty of Scotland…so Thank you for this wonderful post today…Hugs May x x

    Reply

  12. astrid51
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 08:04:53

    A gorgeous hanging Lynne, that spells Scotland in so many different ways, just lovely and a worthy tribute to our wonderful country! Whether it will gain independence or not, even though I’m not a born Scot, I will always love it!!

    Reply

  13. Meggymay
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 08:10:53

    Gorgeous hanging Lynne, love the lilac colours it makes me think of the heathers on the moor.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  14. Shirley
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 12:14:17

    Gorgeous feminine design, love it. The mauve fabric is a perfect backdrop for the lovely thistles. Have a great day, Shirleyx

    Reply

  15. Dorthe
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 15:59:28

    A heartfelt love-note to your wonderful Scotland, dear Lynne.
    A beautiful tribute to the landscape of your country, -and yes it shows both fargility and the rough and harsh of your landscape.
    And Lynne, you alwayes express yourself so beautifully, I love to read your posts as much as seing your art.
    Hugs and xx
    Dorthe

    Reply

  16. Dot Arnott
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 17:11:23

    Love this Lynne. Favourite colour is purple, so this is right up my street.

    Reply

  17. Rosie
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 17:20:32

    Wow, this is gorgeous and sooo romantic, love it.

    Reply

  18. Ira
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 17:23:38

    An absolutely gorgeous tribute to Scotland dear Lynne, the purple is amazing, makes me think of those fine, lush fields of heather! Gorgeous make! Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  19. nicecrane
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 19:03:29

    OMG, Ira, I love your soft color combo,,,and the vintage styleeee,,,, wowwwww, love it.

    Reply

  20. Anne R
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 19:35:25

    It is a wonderful tribute Lynne, I love the colours which remind me so much of my childhood, some of which was spent in Aberdeen, and each year my grandmother sent me a little bunch of heather wrapped with a tartan ribbon…….. I think I must be in reflective mood! Your handing is beautiful. Hugs, Anne x

    Reply

  21. coco
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 20:32:10

    Great make Lynne, very beautiful, and the background on fabric using this script stamp is fabulous!!!! Hugs, Coco xx

    Reply

  22. barnie
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 21:10:51

    That’s a breathtaking piece in fantastic colors, just wonderful.

    Reply

  23. Florence
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 11:34:17

    Gorgeous project Lynne. Lovely colors. I want to try and enter this months challenge. I always seem to miss it. Thanks (as always) for the reminder. Have a wonderful weekend.
    Florence xx

    Reply

  24. 1cardcreator
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 18:04:42

    What a gorgeous piece, and I love to see you work with such vibrant colors too! ~Diane

    Reply

  25. Shelly Schmidt
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 03:16:04

    This hanging is such a beautiful tribute to your country! The colors are fabulous- and the thistle image is so beautifully showcased- esp on the bed of burlap colored green! I always love seeing all of the details on your projects!

    Reply

  26. Maureen Cross
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 14:33:25

    Love this lynne, beautiful colour! Question-where do you get those little hangers, with the clips on, from?

    Reply

  27. Gery
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 16:54:35

    Wow, this creation of yours is gorgeous.
    So many thoughts of you in this post, thanks for sharing.
    CI can be proud of you as a DT member. Your work is very motivating.
    Groetjes Gery

    Reply

  28. Sharon
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 06:10:25

    Oh stunning & do I ever love the purple & of course all the lace!!

    Reply

  29. michele s
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 07:03:42

    breathtakingly gorgeous! xo

    Reply

  30. butterfly
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 21:27:44

    Those thistles are glorious, and this shows them off to perfection!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  31. Dianne
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 14:27:44

    Hello Miss Lynne, oh I have missed visiting you, this hanger is gorgeous, I’m in love with Scotland, their thistles are stunning, reminds me of the one in Brave heart, which keeps, the purples are glorious, thanks for sharing..

    Reply

  32. Marjie Kemper
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 19:57:43

    A beautiful tribute to your country, Lynne. Such bold colors and I love the hint of rough burlap peeking out.

    Reply

  33. The Scrap Yard
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 19:42:19

    Lovely pastels. So pretty and full of spring!
    Kate

    Reply

Leave a Reply

