Adopt The Pace of Nature

Hello Everyone
I recently shared with you some DT samples for Darkroom Door featuring new releases. Amongst the new stamps I received was also this stunning (and I do mean that) set called Feathers. In fact this post is long overdue to being shared with you as I made it some weeks ago. Nature themed art probably isn’t something you associate with me yet it is something I enjoy.thepaceofnaturelynneThe feather had to be the focal on this canvas panel and I knew I wanted a mix of textures. Immediately the canvas panel brought texture and the paint effects also fool the eye into believing there is even more texture there, well there is a little bit with the addition of the thickly applied blue paint.
I always like to work with a neutral colour palette but I wanted an ever so slightly, hint of colour and this blue seemed the perfect choice against the various shades of browns. I then picked up the colour on the canvas panel with the paper blooms.paintdetailThere are five stunning feathers in total from this new stamp set and this is only the first of my projects.  I already have some other Feather artwork waiting in the wings.
I couldn’t resist stamping onto muslin.  What is so appealing, you can actually see the paint marks on the canvas shining through the muslin.photo2featherA gathering of elements with a natural feel to them and, of course, a touch of lace!detailoncanvasThank You for your visit to this first post of a brand new week and the last week in April, can you believe that!
Staying with Darkroom Door related posts for one minute, I will of course be closing The Sewing Bee Giveaway at any moment so if you haven’t managed to join the fun then please scroll down to view last Monday’s post.
Have a lovely week.
Wishes
Lynne

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CarolS
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 01:42:54

    This is wonderful! Love the touch of blue and all the texture!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  2. Rita
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 01:52:03

    Wonderful art piece Lynne. I love the feather stamp. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  3. Debbie Kaste
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 02:36:24

    Very lovely artwork Lynne. Great choices of materials too.

    DebbieK xo

    Reply

  4. Sue
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 06:51:30

    I love the calmness of this gorgeous creation .
    Suzi B xx

    Reply

  5. lucy Edmondson
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 07:36:14

    This is so gorgeous, Lynne, that feather on muslin is amazing,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  6. Sue F
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21:32

    A lovely project Lynne and stunning stamps as well.

    Reply

  7. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:22:43

    Fabulous, dear Lynne! What a beautiful stamp and I love the great textured background with the little touch of my favorite shade of blue. Wonderful choice of embellishments too.
    xo Julia

    Reply

  8. Dianne
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:43:03

    Well Miss Lynne I do think of your art with nature, you know I love feathers, I must try to stamp on muslin, I love the effect, well my dear you have inspired be so much thanks for sharing all your outstanding work, hope you have a wonderful week, thanks so much for your support it means the world to me, ((( HUGE HUGS )))…

    Reply

  9. Anne R
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 14:18:55

    The feather really is beautiful Lynne and I love how you created so much texture to the background, the hints of blue are wonderful and so are the embellishments. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  10. 1cardcreator
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 14:26:28

    Gorgeous Lynne and it fits so well with your textured natural style. ~Diane

    Reply

  11. Dorthe
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 14:32:29

    This is a very delightful and beautiful piece,dearest Lynne.
    The feather on muslin with the painted canvas looks gorgeous. The little blue is such a lovely touch, on the canvas and in the bloom, and the real feather showing almost the same pattern as the stamped one, gives a fantastic effect for the eye !!
    Hugs, dear you, from Dorthe

    Reply

  12. Shari T.
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 15:05:01

    So pretty, Lynne! The hints of blue are fabulous–reminds me of looking into a cloudy sky and seeing those shy hints of blue sky poking through 🙂 LOVE the feather stamp and your feather embellishment–Perfect! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  13. Ira
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 15:15:31

    The tenderness of your muslin feather creation is nearly palpable dear Lynne, this is just so pretty…
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  14. Corrie
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 16:38:31

    Wonderful blue touches on the brown. Stunning composition. Absolutely fabulous !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  15. butterfly
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 18:16:36

    Yup – stunning is definitely the word, both for the stamp set and this beautiful creation. Nature themes wouldn’t be the first thing that sprang to mind for you, but whenever you do turn your hand to Nature, you create magic. This is gorgeous, Lynne!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  16. Buttons (Jenny Marples)
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 18:46:45

    Love this combo of textures and softness which compliment the feather image. Jenny x

    Reply

  17. Meggymay
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 20:18:21

    Gorgeous project Lynne, love the Nature theme.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  18. Astrid
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 21:20:16

    Gorgeous Lynne, they do look like amazing stamps and I totally love how you complimented the beautiful stamped feather with the real one, – a brilliant touch than and another stunning creation!

    Reply

  19. hettiecraft
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 21:30:52

    This is gorgeous Lynne. You got a thumbs up from Hubby too, as he looked over my shoulder at it!
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  20. craftytrog
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 15:52:06

    This beautiful piece of art makes my heart sing Lynne!
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  21. Julie Lavalette
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 16:57:09

    You have managed to take a feather stamp and make it look beautifully elegant. Lovely work, Julie x

    Reply

  22. barnie
    Apr 29, 2014 @ 20:43:01

    Such a beautiful piece of art.

    Reply

  23. Terry
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 21:56:17

    I love birds and feathers are a favorite of mine! You have used this stamp with total perfection! Another beautiful display! Hugs!

    Reply

  24. trisha too
    Apr 30, 2014 @ 22:22:45

    So pretty, Lynne! We just had a pair of guinea fowl wandering through our yard yesterday; we couldn’t persuade them to spend the night in the barn, silly birds! 🙂

    Reply

  25. nefertiti
    May 01, 2014 @ 22:44:14

    Wow!! a gorgeous creation Lynne!!!! bizz

    Reply

  26. Gery
    May 02, 2014 @ 10:42:17

    This realy is gorgeous. Lynne.
    I am totally in love with these feathers and I already ordered them, but there were some problems in the delivery from Australia. So I had to wait!!
    Waiting is not funny, when I see your work with this stampset. I want them now!!!!
    I had to laugh a little when I read: “…and of course a touch of lace!!”.
    No Lynne without lace?!?!
    Groetjes Gery

    Reply

  27. Samantha Read
    May 02, 2014 @ 13:00:21

    Wonderful nature art. I think your nature art is my favourite, I shall never forget those beautiful butterflies a couple of months ago. Saying that, everything you make is just gorgeous!!
    Big hugs, Sam and Poppy xxx

    Reply

  28. Ana K.
    May 02, 2014 @ 16:16:50

    Stunning!

    Reply

  29. marjiekemper
    May 02, 2014 @ 18:53:11

    Scrumptious! And of course you needed lace 🙂

    Reply

  30. michele s
    May 05, 2014 @ 04:25:09

    this is beautiful. xo

    Reply

  31. Sharon
    May 25, 2014 @ 04:40:39

    I agree with a comment already left “calmness” that’s exactly the feel this piece has!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

