The Wisdom of Jane

Hello Everyone
Each month at Gecko Galz, as well as our regular DT samples we also have a Cross-Promotion where we are asked to create a sample using Gecko Galz product(s) in conjunction with the company which has been selected for that particular month and then we must also work to a particular theme. For the month of May we are working in conjunction with Vintage By Me and asked to create samples with a vintage style.  I will not hide the fact that when I saw the products from Vintage By Me I was absolutely delighted as the images were so beautiful.
I couldn’t help myself, I had to work with the Jane Austen themed image sheet and I knew immediately that I would be altering a child’s board book which I had bought such a long time ago, a bargain at 99p but for some reason, I was always saving it, waiting for the right project to come along.
Whenever possible I like to include stamping on my projects and the Jane Austen themed allowed me to play with all three sets of Jane Austen inspired stamps from Oxford Impressions.
The book, including inside covers, meant that I had 16 pages to alter, including the cover to deal with.  If you would like to view the rest of this post then I warn you that it is a photo heavy!  With me deciding to share the complete project here I thought it wise not to include the instructions which  I normally share when it is a Gecko Galz post.  If you happen to be interested in viewing the instructions, then you can read them at the Gecko Galz site.
Please join me as we open up the cover of this book and revel in the Wisdom of Jane

Size:- 5″x5″

bookcoverEager and with a deadline in my mind, I forgot to take a photograph of the board book but you can see with two layers of Gesso that the words were still peeking through.  The cover has a padded feel to it, which is rather nice, with a vinyl texture.  You will also find instructions as to how I set about altering the cover at the Gecko Galz site.
I was very lucky that for the inside pages, the shiny paper pulled away so easily and were a dream to apply paint.  I was anticipating I would need to apply Gesso but no need.  Each page had the same stamp, the beautiful damask stamp from Oxford Impressions’ French Script which was partially inked and randomly stamped as I wanted the appearance of aged wallpaper.24 April 001Inside cover – Pages 1 and 2
pages1and2Pages 3 and 4
Life is the flower for which love is the honey
pages3and4The quote was stamped onto re-sized Gecko Galz digi paper. All pages are individually noted in my instructions at the Gecko Galz site. 26 April 010Pages 5 and 6
If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.pages5and6The Gecko Galz papers were the perfect backdrops for the stamped quotes and the stamped book stack and butterflies26 April 012
Pages 7 & 8
The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.
pages7and8
Pages 9 & 10
There is no charm equal to tenderness of heart. pages9and10
This is such a beautiful paper by Gecko Galz. Simply stamped the quote and trimmed with stained lace and paper blossom. 26 April 021Pages 11 & 12
A woman, especially if she have the misfortune of knowing anything, should conceal it as well as she can.pages11and12Pages 13 & 14
There is nothing like staying at home for real comfort

The stamped house was so perfect for this quote.pages13and14Pages 15 & 16
pages15and16
What you could not see as I turned the pages for you, is that nestled inside the cover of the book there are three pockets I made to house three tags made with Vintage By Me digi ledger images.  I simple stapled some beautiful velvet ribbon.
triooftagsIf you stayed with me until the very end I have a huge Thank You so say to you as that was a very long blog post.
I hope you all have a lovely weekend.
Wishes
Lynne

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lee
    May 09, 2014 @ 21:02:02

    This is just gorgeous, Lynne. I love your colour choices and something tells me that Jane would have loved them too: those colours have a very Jane Austen feel to them, I have long thought about altering a board book, I must have a charity shop trawl soon. I have a friend who would love something like this for a gift, as she is a huge Jane fan. The roses, the butterflies and the lace all make this so special. You have inspired me again! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  2. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    May 09, 2014 @ 21:09:49

    Every page of your altered board book is pure delight dear Lynne ~♥~ your color choices and way with marvelous details and touches is always exciting and special!
    Wishing you a lovely weekend …
    oxo

    Reply

  3. Fliss
    May 09, 2014 @ 21:17:44

    An absolutely beautiful creation Lynne and just love everything about it. Jane is a favourite of mine too as I love all of her books.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  4. Samantha Read
    May 09, 2014 @ 21:20:58

    Now that Poppy and I have finished dancing and had a lay down 😉 how gorgeous is this??? Lynne this is just SOOO lush, I’m lost for words . . .
    Wishing you a fabulous weekend, big hugs from us both xxx

    Reply

  5. Annie G
    May 09, 2014 @ 21:21:19

    The perfect choice for an avid reader like you Lynne 🙂
    The details/pages are stunning with such elegance. Beautiful vintage colour palette…you can tell I adore ir.

    Have a wonderful weekend
    Hugs Annie x

    Reply

  6. Rita
    May 09, 2014 @ 21:35:43

    Goodness me Lynne, this is just fantastic. Lots of work in it too. I love all those gorgeous pages. Hugs Rita xxxx

    Reply

  7. barnie
    May 09, 2014 @ 21:48:52

    Wow, that’s a breathtaking project.

    Reply

  8. Buttons (Jenny Marples)
    May 09, 2014 @ 21:52:01

    Oh superb Lynne. Page after page of vintage gorgeousness. I can just imagine Regency ladies flicking through picking their next piece of clothing. Jenny x

    Reply

  9. Dot Arnott
    May 09, 2014 @ 21:52:07

    Stunning.

    Reply

  10. rachel fisher
    May 09, 2014 @ 21:58:29

    a beautiful book Lynne with so many gorgeous pages – lots of work – lovely and so pretty xx

    Reply

  11. Sophie
    May 09, 2014 @ 22:23:52

    Reblogged this on Sophie's blog….

    Reply

  12. Marilyn J. Rock
    May 09, 2014 @ 22:29:39

    Such beautiful color choices! Stunning! xo

    Reply

  13. Shari T.
    May 09, 2014 @ 22:57:11

    What a Beautiful altered book, Lynne! Your attention to detail is Fabulous! I love the meaningful quotes you chose for your pages and those delicate touches of lace here and there–So pretty and feminine, very Jane Austen-like, indeed 🙂 You should be very pleased with how this turned out–Gorgeous!! Enjoy your weekend! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  14. Sue
    May 10, 2014 @ 07:01:56

    I’m breathless with delight. This is stunningly beautiful Lynne and I’m so glad you shared the entire book. I love the papers and images but the way you’ve combined them brings Jane’s book to life. I can picture her now, sitting in the morning room writing in her journal. Fabulous project

    Reply

  15. butterfly
    May 10, 2014 @ 07:17:03

    Oh, well I can see exactly why you fell in love with those images! What a gorgeous altered book – each page is a delight – just lovely, Lynne!
    Alison x

    Reply

  16. Sue
    May 10, 2014 @ 08:26:19

    Oh wow this is totally stunning…. so romantic.xx

    Reply

  17. Anne R
    May 10, 2014 @ 08:53:20

    Your book is delightful Lynne, I think Jane herself would love to have seen this wonderful creation. Each page is beautiful and I love all those quotes. It must have been a real pleasure for you to create this. Anne xx 🙂

    Reply

  18. Rosie
    May 10, 2014 @ 11:42:01

    Wow, Lynne, a very romantic and elegant piece of art.

    Have a wonderful weekend

    Reply

  19. may
    May 10, 2014 @ 12:06:59

    Gorgeous work Lynne, each page is so beautiful…very romantic & elegant… Hugs May x x

    Reply

  20. Valerie-Jael
    May 10, 2014 @ 14:19:10

    So much loveliness, so many beautifully made pages – really a treasure. valerie

    Reply

  21. Dorthe
    May 10, 2014 @ 15:17:42

    Oh Lynne, a whole book, how beautiful every page is, and the Jane subject so lovely and romantic. Ofcourse I love your colours of soft browns ,blue,and rosa, they are born to be used with Jane`s life and thoughts- The papers are so lovely, and all the qoutes, are even now a dayes ,in some situations ,usable ,some so right still! Your adds of flowers, laces and cut out pieces are adorable, and gives the last perfect details, to your amazing little book.
    Warm hugs,
    Dorthe

    Reply

  22. Lyneen
    May 10, 2014 @ 15:25:28

    Lynne Stunning!!!!! what a beautiful book… I love all things Jane and this is no exception!!!!

    Reply

  23. 1cardcreator
    May 10, 2014 @ 18:23:36

    Wow, this is absolutely stunning Lynne! I adore the papers you chose, some of my favorites that’s for sure, lol. I love how you stamped it and added the lace texture to it also. Seeing this makes me want to give something like this a try, you are so inspiring. ~Diane

    Reply

  24. Gigi Harlan
    May 10, 2014 @ 18:27:27

    Your sample book is gorgeous! I adore your one of a kind style!

    Gigi @ Old World Patina

    Reply

  25. Astrid Maclean
    May 10, 2014 @ 20:54:10

    This is such a stunning little book Lynne, – each page a total delight! Gorgeous papers and images but to be honest, my absolute favourite is the beautiful backgrounds you created with that damask stamp!!

    Reply

  26. craftytrog
    May 10, 2014 @ 21:26:27

    Such wonderful words & sayings! A gloriously altered book Lynne! xxx

    Reply

  27. michele s
    May 11, 2014 @ 04:34:53

    LOVE LOVE LOVE. every page is a dream. xo

    Reply

  28. marci piraro
    May 11, 2014 @ 10:31:34

    A beautiful book!

    Reply

  29. The Scrap Yard
    May 11, 2014 @ 19:20:54

    This is a stunning book! So vintage. What beautiful stamping in the background and images.
    Kate

    Reply

  30. gio
    May 11, 2014 @ 19:34:55

    Your book is amazing, Lynne. Every page is a little treasure, and now you know how much I like Jane Austen. I even reading a book just now ‘A Darcy obsession’, with the same caracters, not bad at all. 🙂

    Reply

  31. Karen McAlpine
    May 12, 2014 @ 13:40:17

    I love how you used the children’s book for your project!! You know I love Jane!! Super project!! Love all of it. I am going to buy a couple books at a garage sale and try this!! Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

  32. 2amscrapper2
    May 12, 2014 @ 14:57:38

    this is a labor of love, worthy of being showcased in a magazine–internet or paper

    Reply

  33. Sharon
    May 17, 2014 @ 00:45:32

    An absolute stunner altered book Lynne!!!

    Reply

  34. Avril
    May 23, 2014 @ 16:41:39

    A beautiful vintage treasure, love everything about it.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  35. Dianne
    Jun 13, 2014 @ 07:33:34

    Soooooooooo Gorgeous……

    Reply

Leave a Reply

