Of Mica & Men (Published)

Hello Everyone
Please don’t blame me for this title post! It is the title of a feature I have in the  recent issue of Take Ten, (Spring issue).
I am always amazed and thrilled when published. For this feature the team at Take Ten photographed one of the cards, A Family Business, with a vintage setting which was so harmonious to the feel of the cards and the wonderful Oxford Impressions stamps.
I used so many different Oxford Impressions stamp sets for the four cards, dipping into one set for a label then another for ink blots, then another for a key or pen nibs. That is what I love about stamping is when you can mix ‘n’ match multiple sets.
The idea behind this card collection was to have a vintage, masculine collage style stamp as the focal and to build on the theme of the focal with the other stamps selected and with all this in mind, each card has to be a quick make, in essence, ten minutes or less.
The ScholarDIGITAL CAMERAThe second card, A Family Business is the one they selected for the full page layout. I am always interested to see how Stampington & co stage artwork. In this instance, they set my card propped onto a shabby, distressed box and in the background there are shelves with a vintage camera and old glass jars and bottles. DIGITAL CAMERAThe reason for their title, Of Mica & Men is due to my inclusion of shards of mica tile on each card. Some pieces smaller than others but I used the mica to layer over stamped elements, adding depth and a touch of vintage interest.
A Man of Numbers
DIGITAL CAMERAand finally Cavalieri Brothers. This is such a wonderful stamp and one I last used for a DT project for That’s Crafty. DIGITAL CAMERASo, there we have it, a collection of Take Ten vintage style masculine cards with a big Thank You to Take Ten for publishing them.
Thank You also to you, for taking the time to visit this post.
Wishes
Lynne

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tracy745
    May 14, 2014 @ 22:54:19

    Lovely cards, love the clean fresh designs and fabulous imagery. Congratulations on being published. Tracy x

    Reply

  2. may
    May 15, 2014 @ 04:51:08

    Fabulous selection of male cards Lynne, Love the stamps you have used & fantastic designs…Congratulations on being published… Hugs May x x

    Reply

  3. craftytrog
    May 15, 2014 @ 06:12:15

    Congratulations Lynne!
    These are wonderful cards, I’m sure that a lot of thought went into your ‘quick” makes!
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  4. lucy Edmondson
    May 15, 2014 @ 06:38:23

    These are wonderful cards, Lynne. Congratulations!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  5. Annie G
    May 15, 2014 @ 06:39:59

    The title totally appeals to my sense of humour Lynne 🙂 As for your cards……..,totally stunning.

    Hugs Annie x

    Reply

  6. rachel fisher
    May 15, 2014 @ 06:51:45

    Hi Lynne – love your title – and the use of mica! What a great idea! Hugs rachel xx

    Reply

  7. Valerie-Jael
    May 15, 2014 @ 07:17:05

    Wonderful cards, congrats on being published again! Valerie

    Reply

  8. Anne R
    May 15, 2014 @ 07:40:24

    Man congratulations on being published Lynne! I love the very clever title they used and of course, I love your wonderful CAS cards too, they are fabulous! Anne xx

    Reply

  9. butterfly
    May 15, 2014 @ 07:53:33

    I think it’s a really clever title – and I love the set of cards. Congratulations on another well-deserved publication honour.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  10. Sue
    May 15, 2014 @ 10:58:37

    PRETTY Cool!

    Reply

  11. Shari T.
    May 15, 2014 @ 15:40:41

    FABULOUS, Lynne! I’m not surprised that this collection of cards were published by Stampington & Co!! Just Fabulous creations!! I can’t wait to get my spring issue of Take Ten so that I can ogle your cards 🙂 Just FABULOUS–it’s all I can say 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  12. 1cardcreator
    May 15, 2014 @ 17:05:06

    Wow, these are fabulous! I have seen the large mica shards before but never had the imagination as to what to do with them. These are splendid male cards, love the set. Congratulations on getting published in Take Ten too, just fabulous! ~Diane

    Reply

  13. Ira
    May 15, 2014 @ 17:11:23

    First of all please allow me to apologize dear Lynne for having been seriously MIA the past week… Things have been extremely hectic at work, which didn’t leave me time to blog… But this makes it all the more fun to visit your blog and see what you’ve been creating. What a treat this is for me! How wonderful for you to be published again, always so very well deserved, for your work is surrounded by style, romance, elegance and sheer beauty. Thanks for giving me such a wonderful evening my friend, biggest of hugs, Ira x
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  14. Corrie
    May 15, 2014 @ 20:26:57

    Congratulations on being published again, doesn’t surprise me as your cards are simply beautiful !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  15. barnie
    May 15, 2014 @ 21:13:41

    Congrats on being published again. All these pieces are fantastic.

    Reply

  16. Terry
    May 15, 2014 @ 23:26:25

    I actually got a kick out of your post title! What a fabulous grouping and all are such a masculine delight. I am so happy that you have been published once again and your art belongs out there for all to see! Hugs!

    Reply

  17. jo
    May 16, 2014 @ 04:15:38

    Congratulations once again! these cards are stellar … i love the use of the mica and i love the male images … wonderful work!

    Reply

  18. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    May 16, 2014 @ 10:57:23

    Clever title and wonderful art pieces dear Lynne…
    especially nice use of white space!
    The magazine layouts sound interesting…
    Congratulations once again
    oxo

    Reply

  19. michele s
    May 16, 2014 @ 15:02:41

    beautiful cards, congrats on being published. you are an inspiration. xo

    Reply

  20. Dorthe
    May 16, 2014 @ 17:36:30

    Congratulations my dear Lynne, yes you so deserve to be published ,
    Your use of stamps and mica has resulted in some wonderful cards, that would have taken me more than 10 minutes to think and create!! They are beautiful, all in browns on the white background, and the stamps are great, too. Love your adds of little bits, that makes them so special.
    Hugs from me.
    Dorthe, xxx

    Reply

  21. Julie Lee
    May 16, 2014 @ 19:13:10

    Great cards. I love how you were inspired by these stamps. Your work is always so original and thought-provoking. I love Stampington magazines. I keep meaning to buy one again. Years ago I used to flip through a friend’s – before taking up craft seriously. I always loved to see the innovative makes. I never thought I would get to know one of the artists, in a way! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  22. Paper Profusion
    May 16, 2014 @ 20:07:18

    These are fab Lynne! You are so talented the way you can make wonderful art with few ingredients (hope that sounds right – it is definitely a compliment). Well done on yet another publication. Nicola x

    Reply

  23. Sharon
    May 17, 2014 @ 00:42:39

    Amazing cards! Congrats on having them published – always so well deserved & always so inspiring!

    Reply

  24. Chris
    May 18, 2014 @ 19:14:12

    I was just looking at these in Take Ten today. Your cards are wonderful, great inspiration for making cards for the men in our lives.

    Congratulations

    Chris xx

    Reply

  25. Marjie Kemper
    May 19, 2014 @ 13:10:08

    These are fabulous, and I had to look to find fabric… at first I thought there wasn’t any, and I told myself that was impossible. What a great collection!

    Reply

  26. Dianne
    May 20, 2014 @ 11:34:16

    Oh Miss Lynne I love the tittle, ten minutes cards, AMAZING, they are all so beautifully clean and simple, love the Mica pieces, they deserve to be published, thanks so much for sharing them..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

