The Lone Butterfly

Hello Everyone
If you are a regular visitor to my Blog then you probably have read that this year has seen me dig out my Twinkling H20s, after too long being neglected by me.  It was when I had them out for other DT posts that I continued playing with them, making this Darkroom Door card featuring a stunning butterfly from the aptly titled, Butterflies stamp set.
If you would some more information on this card then you can view the post over at the Darkroom Door Blog.
I’ve always liked paints, in fact, paints are something I immediately incorporated into my stamping from the very outset, using old art supplies I already owned then sourcing paints from the local DIY store for heritage colour emulsion paints and the local supermarket for children’s metallic paints, happily combining them with my traditional artist supplies.  Then, via a stamping group, I discovered Twinkling H20s.  One of the reasons why I particularly like Twinkling H20s, is for their watercolour nature with the added bonus of that subtle shimmer.1beautifulbutterflyFor this card I had in mind a dreamy, painterly background with one of the larger butterflies from the stamp set as the focal.
When making backgrounds like this I find it so therapeutic, allowing the paint to do the work and knowing that there will never be two backgrounds the same.  With some subtle stamping and my favoured paint flicks, the background was complete.lynnemoncrieffI usually never have a strong idea of what a piece will look like on completion but what is normal is for me to have a few keywords that I keep in my head. That sounds really pretentious, doesn’t it!!!! So for this card I knew from the outset that I wanted a lone  butterfly as the focal with the words floating around in my head:- painterly background, texture and fragments of richness.
I love transforming ordinary pieces of paper with paint. Simple pleasures! detailtwoThe final pieces of adornment for this card. detailoneI would say that anyone who loves butterflies would love this set as there is a beautiful range of sizes and styles of butterflies.
It is possible I might not be around much at the weekend but I do have my usual That’s Crafty sneaky peek post scheduled for Sunday 25th. Hopefully I will be able to visit as many of you during Friday but if not, I will try and catch-up with your Blog posts as soon as possible.
Have a lovely weekend.
Wishes
Lynne

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Samantha Read
    May 23, 2014 @ 02:39:13

    Such a beautiful card Lynne 🙂
    Wishing you a lovely weekend,
    hugs xx

    Reply

  2. may
    May 23, 2014 @ 05:40:20

    Gorgeous card Lynne, I adore the butterfly & amazing background…So Beautiful… Hugs May x x

    Reply

  3. Valerie-Jael
    May 23, 2014 @ 06:31:07

    Gorgeous card, the butterfly contrasts so well with the rich background. Valerie

    Reply

  4. craftytrog
    May 23, 2014 @ 06:42:58

    A beautifully painted butterfly, and your background is wonderful Lynne.
    I hope your weekend is a good one.
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  5. Annie G
    May 23, 2014 @ 07:08:23

    A stunning background in gorgeous shades. The butterfly is fabulous.

    Have a lovely weekend Lynne x

    Reply

  6. Buttons (Jenny Marples)
    May 23, 2014 @ 07:13:30

    Staggeringly beautiful Lynne and I love the trimmings on this. Jenny x

    Reply

  7. butterfly
    May 23, 2014 @ 07:59:55

    It’s just glorious, Lynne – that background just sings to me – a wonderful card altogether (and not a remotely pretentious process… it sounds just like home to me!).
    Alison xx

    Reply

  8. Julie Lee
    May 23, 2014 @ 09:06:48

    This background is superb! I love those flicks and the subtle stamping. The texture of the added waxed paper is lovely too and that lone butterfly – well – fabulous! How could you think yourself pretentious, Lynne? Your blog posts are always simply inspirational – nothing could be further from pretense: you are a true artist! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  9. rachel fisher
    May 23, 2014 @ 13:06:24

    Hi Lynne – love the beautiful butterfly and i think you did all those things you were intending to. I think its great to be flexible when creating and o with the flow but its also nice to have a few waymarkers too! Great piece – have a lovely weekend xx

    Reply

  10. Rosie
    May 23, 2014 @ 18:00:59

    A gorgeous piece of art, Lynne.

    Have a wonderful weekend

    Reply

  11. barnie
    May 23, 2014 @ 19:03:07

    That’s a wonderful creation, a beautiful butterfly.

    Reply

  12. Anne R
    May 23, 2014 @ 19:25:15

    The butterfly is stunning and I love the wonderful background you have created Lynne. I don’t think it is pretentious at all, it all makes good sense to me! Hope you have a lovely weekend. Anne xx

    Reply

  13. 1cardcreator
    May 23, 2014 @ 22:07:57

    What a gorgeous transformation the ink makes in your hands Lynne! The butterflies are stunning, I love the added flecks too. Enjoy the weekend, big hugs, ~Diane

    Reply

  14. Astrid
    May 23, 2014 @ 22:15:44

    Brilliant Lynne, love this butterfly card! The trimming at the top and bottom are so textural, love them and that stamp certainly is a beauty! Lovely soft background too!

    Reply

  15. 3renee
    May 24, 2014 @ 00:26:03

    This looks like a beautiful watercolor painting. Really lovely with the butterfly.

    Reply

  16. coco
    May 24, 2014 @ 07:29:30

    Oh, this little piece of art is so BEAUTIFUL!!! I can’t resist leaving you a comment today Lynne 🙂 Wishing you a lovely weekend, hugs Coco X

    Reply

  17. Darlene
    May 24, 2014 @ 13:01:18

    this is beautiful……

    Reply

  18. Dorthe
    May 24, 2014 @ 14:14:31

    Oh so beautiful, with that big butterfly, on your gorgeous background, and that fantastic paperpieces you created.
    A stunning art piece , my dearest Lynne.
    Hug and kiss
    Dorthe

    Reply

  19. Shari T.
    May 24, 2014 @ 15:35:53

    Fabulous design, Lynne!! Your lone butterfly is stunning–what a great stamp set from DD!! I can see that set being used to create a faux butterfly collection under glass….Hmmmmm 😉 I’m enjoying your use of Twinkling H2O’s, too. I am unfamiliar with that product, but am seeing it being used by artists to add that bump of shimmer to projects! Your little ripped pieces of paper look like strips of satiny, incandescent fabric that changes shades depending on the light that catches it! Just lovely!! And your butterfly looks like the butterfly that landed on my shoulder yesterday!! I actually had a butterfly land on my shoulder yesterday morning, as I was headed out of my house and into my hubbie’s truck! (of course, I kind of chased it around first). It was a ‘Mourning Cloak” butterfly and it alighted on my shoulder so quickly, and when it flew away, its wings brushed my cheek and I think landed on your gorgeous design 🙂 Just Lovely, Lynne!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  20. Julie Lavalette
    May 24, 2014 @ 21:10:33

    Beautiful card Lynne and I love the Butterfly stamp. Your painted background has a look of subtle butterfly shapes in it when you look closely. Clever.
    Julie x

    Reply

  21. paper profusion
    May 24, 2014 @ 21:32:38

    Such a stunning background Lynne, and your butterfly is sublime. Nicola x

    Reply

  22. Sharon
    May 25, 2014 @ 02:30:37

    Just beautiful Lynne – butterflies never go out of fashion for creating with – always so beautiful!

    Reply

  23. Ruth
    May 25, 2014 @ 10:19:07

    I love all of your work Lynne and this is no exception!
    XRuth

    Reply

  24. Ira
    May 25, 2014 @ 12:02:04

    Your background with the speckles is spectacular dear Lynne, no wonder the elegant butterfly loves to reside here for a while… It just looks so very real to me, as if it can fly away the moment we try to disturb its piece and quiet, so let’s just be calm and enjoy its beauty…
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  25. Dianne
    May 25, 2014 @ 23:57:22

    Hello Miss Lynne, I’m in LOVE with that background the colors, stamping flicks it just gorgeous, pretentious you NEVER, I always say how humble you are for being Designer Extraordinaire full stop. The butterfly is beautiful and those added bits of colorful paper are a perfect fit to this card, thanks for ALWAYS inspiring me..

    Reply

  26. http://giogioscrap.blogspot.com/
    May 26, 2014 @ 21:23:51

    wow, you amaze me when you stepped out of your usual colours. It’s so warm , goldish, and rich, love it!!

    Reply

  27. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    May 28, 2014 @ 15:16:52

    really beautiful Lynne and that butterfly is stunning ♥
    oxo

    Reply

  28. 2amscrapper2
    May 29, 2014 @ 23:21:46

    love all the elements here

    Reply

  29. The Scrap Yard
    Jun 01, 2014 @ 01:19:41

    Dreamy and romantic! I love that butterfly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

