Delicate Beauty

Hello Everyone
If you are a regular to my Blog then you might have already seen posts where I have shared artwork depicting the fabulous Feather stamp set from Darkroom Door.  Knowing that my friend Nicki’s birthday was approaching I had to use one of the feathers as Nicki has a love of nature, none more so for our feathered friends.NaturephotooneI wanted the feather to be the main focal on the card but I didn’t want too plain a background, at the same time, nothing too fussy which would detract from the feather’s beauty. Not that I need an excuse to do so – I gathered a watercolour paper pad, dissolved walnut ink crystals, Gesso, paints, brushes and baby wipes and happily spent time painting a large sheet of the watercolour paper. I can happily while away the time doing this.
The colours might not be clear in the photograph but the result is a background where the media have blended to create a diffused, dreamy appearance with hints of blue, grey and soft brown, also with a lovely texture to it.paintedwatercolourpaperI always have a batch of pre-prepared tags, although that batch is dwindling, time soon for a bit of a re-stock.
I didn’t add any extra stamping to the tag, only the feather as I didn’t want to obscure the beautiful marks on the stained tag.phototwoA Darkroom Door stamp which I have reached for many times since I got my hands on this other stamp set earlier in the year. photothreeMany of the usual bits and pieces were gathered to embellish this card.detailIf you have an interest in Darkroom Door then you might be interested to know that the Blog is frequently up-dated.
Thank You for your visit to my first post of this brand new week.
Wishes
Lynne

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 02:11:43

    Definitely a delicate beauty Lynne!

    Reply

  2. Brenda Brown
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 04:34:39

    A divine card that I am sure was very well received. I love the watercolour background and the contrast of the beautiful feather which stands out prominently and proud. An artistic and delicate design Lynne, I love it. Sorry I have not been around much but a wonderful holiday took my attention away from blogging, but glad to be back and see your beautiful creations xxx

    Reply

  3. rachel fisher
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 06:52:20

    gorgeous piece Lynne – the feather is fabulous! Love that sentiment too – and so very true xx

    Reply

  4. Julia S-W
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 07:48:58

    So beautiful. I love that delicate background against the dramatic feather image. Anyone would be joyful to receive such a card.
    Sorry I’m not a good blogger. My new home and garden are mainly responsible – along with a daughter in her final year at Uni – dissertations, art exhibitions and all the trials and tribulations that involves. I hope you are well.
    Julia xx

    Reply

  5. Gigi Harlan
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 14:33:03

    I love your card. The watercolor paper and the feather look so beautiful together! I love that you didn’t put the feather in the middle and let them both speak equally. Gorgeous!

    Reply

  6. Dorthe
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 14:35:23

    Dear Lynne, YES, so very beautiful, that feather stamp is surely amazing, and your background where I can sence the different colours you have mentioned, so soft and beautiful. The bits of lace are such a lovely accent to the papers.
    I love the qoute you used !
    Smiles and hug, from Dorthe

    Reply

  7. 1cardcreator
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 15:45:59

    This is gorgeous, what a beautiful stamp, love the water-stained paper too. ~Diane

    Reply

  8. Anne R
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 15:47:45

    This is such a beautiful card Lynne and I love how the feather stands out, you are so right, it deserves all the attention. Beautiful! Anne xx

    Reply

  9. Marianne
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 16:31:08

    A lovely card, Lynne, and the feather is delightfully the focal point, yet one can really appreciate its surroundings. It’s so nice to receive cards that can also be displayed in the home.

    Blessings,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  10. jo
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 20:36:27

    you do wonderful things with those walnut crystals … i am feeling the need to pick some up!

    Reply

  11. Julie Lee
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 20:41:32

    I love the subtle colours and that feather stamp is sublime! This is such a beautiful card, I’m sure it will be really appreciated, especially as your friend is a nature lover and this perfectly captures natural beauty. Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  12. astrid51
    Jun 02, 2014 @ 20:52:10

    Beautiful Lynne, such a gorgeous piece, that feather is such a beautiful stamp, it looks wonderful!

    Reply

  13. MarieS.
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 06:08:01

    I’m always amazed what you do with your stamps, Lynne.
    Simply beautiful.
    Have a wonderful day.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  14. Avril
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 09:40:08

    A gorgeous delicate piece, and you’re so right in not detracting from the lovely image.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  15. craftytrog
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 13:33:19

    Simply stunning!!! xxx

    Reply

  16. hettiecraft
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 21:34:15

    This is stunning Lynne. That stamp is brilliant.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  17. michele s
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 04:57:14

    delicate, beautiful. lovely to behold. xo

    Reply

  18. Ira
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 13:39:52

    Such a tender looking feather, that stamp is so delicate, it even looks fluffy!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  19. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 17:39:55

    Delicate and oh so beautiful dear Lynne.
    That quote speaks volumes too…a fav of mine.
    oxo

    Reply

  20. Buttons (Jenny Marples)
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 17:57:27

    So that stamp set is now on the wishlist! You’ve brought it to life here Lynne and I love the aged feel. Jenny x

    Reply

  21. http://giogioscrap.blogspot.com/
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 19:11:58

    As usual the details and the design are outstanding, Lynne!

    Reply

  22. Marjie Kemper
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 23:14:43

    This is such a beautiful pairing of the tag against that wonderful creamy background. Surely your friend adores it!

    Reply

  23. Cynthia
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 08:40:50

    Well I just HAD to catch up on all your beautiful creations….whewwww,,,,gorgeous work as always. the “real” world has gotten in the way for the last two and one-half months and I have this week off but oh my,,,it is already THURSDAY…..help!!! and I thought I’d do a bit of blogging,,,,,,right, I got one post in so far. I think I should take a whole month off:) Hope you are doing fine……take care, CYNNIE

    Reply

  24. Julie
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 10:01:06

    Exquisite work.
    Julie x

    Reply

  25. mustavcoffee
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 20:50:22

    Totally gorgeous, I love the feather and delicate treatment of your piece 😀 x

    Reply

  26. coco
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 21:21:08

    I love this card Lynne, what a great birthday gift!! I’m totally in love (if I can say that in English?) with this wonderful feather… and you have showcased it so simply and wonderfully here once again!!! Would dream to receive such card from you one day, using the same feather… :)))) Maybe one day we could do a swap or something like that?? Hugs, Coco xx

    Reply

  27. barnie
    Jun 05, 2014 @ 22:05:33

    I’m catching up… a week without being in blogland.
    You’ve created a wonderful piece, love the feather.

    Reply

  28. butterfly
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 11:54:43

    How lovely – the feather is exquisite and looks so wonderful on its golden tag… this is a real delight, Lynne. So lovely to have some time to catch up with all your gorgeous creations.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  29. marci piraro
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 03:21:37

    Love the focus on the feather stamp. Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

