The One That Got Away

Hello Everyone
Recently I shared with you the new releases from Crafty Individuals. Amongst them is  CI-412, a collage stamp depicting a fisherman (or I suppose it could be a woman who is fishing). If I were to be perfectly honest, I was not sure what to do with this stamp as I had no other Crafty Individuals stamps which would support the fishing theme. As I sat studying the stamp I realised that it would be fun to simply use the one stamp, obviously for the focal on what was to be a card but also to create the background and for the supporting stamped elements.
This is the resultfishermancardlynneBy a stroke of luck, I had amongst my stash two sheets of cardstock which I had prepared earlier in the year to use for another project, they never did get used. They were what I had in mind to prepare anyway so I was pleased to save myself the first stage of work. Below is one of the sheets.16 May 001The background is the stamp randomly inked up and stamped onto the stained cardstock and  to add contrast and interest I simply used sequin waste and ink, randomly on the edges.  It would have made sense for me to have stopped and photographed the background at this stage but I was unable to do so, all I can share with you is a close-up.backgroundstampingI couldn’t resist inking up the border to create a little stamped element peeking at the top and the text peeks out from the far edge.focalstampI had gathered a mixture of elements of different textures in the form of bark, burlap, rusted fabric and I liked the touch of humour the measuring tape twill provides.  Isn’t it said that fishermen always exaggerate the size of the One That Got Away!  However something was still missing….. more fish.  Three little fishies!detailoneIf you have a fishing enthusiast in your life, or you might be one yourself, this would be such a great stamp to have in your collection. My Dad has never fished in his life but every now and then my BIL goes fishing so I will probably keep this card aside, waiting for his birthday which is some months away but at least I will be prepared.
Thank You for your visit to my Blog, it is always appreciated.
Wishes
Lynne

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 3renee
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 00:32:16

    I am not too keen on fish but this piece is exceptional! I love the muted colors but especially love the dangling fish. Outstanding.

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 03:36:33

    Wow what a perfect male themed creation Lynne! Love all the detail!!

    Reply

  3. Brenda Brown
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 05:56:51

    Lynne the way you have multi-used this stamp is so clever and very inspirational. I love that not only is it the focal image it has become part of the background and embellishments as well. Those dangling fish are a gorgeous touch xxx

    Reply

  4. Valerie-Jael
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 06:22:17

    Love your fishy tag and the colour is just right! Valerie

    Reply

  5. Sophie
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 06:44:07

    Guten Morgen, Lynne…
    Die Karte ist bezaubernd und zeigt wieder 100% deinen schönen feinen Stil an.
    Das Thema ist dir wunderbar gelungen.
    Ich liebe diese drei kleinen hängenden Fische, es wirkt so real 🙂

    Ich wünsche dir schöne Pfingsttage
    Umarmung und Grüße
    Sophie xx

    Reply

  6. rachel fisher
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 06:54:20

    such a cool stamp Lynne – I love the extra fish you added too – brilliant idea. Hugs Rachel x

    Reply

  7. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 07:05:01

    Just goes to show what you can do with just one stamp. Looks brilliant too!

    Reply

  8. Alie Hoogenboezem-de Vries
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 07:21:58

    A stunning creation! Great colours and what an idea to cut out the fishes and use them the way you did!
    Greetings, Alie 🙂

    Reply

  9. Annie G
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 11:32:46

    What a fabulous make Lynne x wonderful details that really showcase these gorgeous stamps x
    Annie x

    Reply

  10. nefertiti
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 12:05:50

    A gorgeous card! great idea Lynne! bizz

    Reply

  11. Gigi Harlan
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 14:58:38

    What a great card for a man. Can’t go wrong with a fishing theme, love it!

    Gigi @ Old World Patina

    Reply

  12. Samantha Read
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 15:53:47

    My late husband was a fisherman and he would have been overjoyed to receive this Lynne, it’s simply beautiful 🙂
    Wishing you a very lovely weekend, hugs from Poppy and I xxx

    Reply

  13. Ira
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 16:32:41

    You have captured the theme of fish/fishermen extremely well dear Lynne, your background looks like one of those unfathomable pools where frogs dwell. Love the loosely added fish as well, they make wonderful adornments!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  14. 2amscrapper2
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 17:58:47

    I really like the background and those fisih

    Reply

  15. Meggymay
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 19:39:00

    Fantastic and the super new images.
    Yvonneproject, love how you did the background

    Reply

  16. Anne R
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 20:37:49

    I absolutely love this wonderful creation Lynne! The background is fabulous and I love how you used the stamps. My dad was a great fisherman and my brother is now too. I spent many a happy hour with both of them and this brought back some wonderful memories – thank you! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  17. Corrie
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 21:06:04

    I think it is amazing how you created this lovely card with just one stamp, great background too. I love the dangling fish especially !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  18. 1cardcreator
    Jun 06, 2014 @ 21:53:15

    Gorgeous card, I had to study it to see, I am amazed that you were able to do all this with just 1 stamp! Marvelous in its composition and details. Take care. ~Diane

    Reply

  19. may
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 05:37:49

    Fabulous card Lynne, I love the stamp & the way you have used it, Great colours & design… Hugs May x x

    Reply

  20. butterfly
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 11:51:14

    Brilliant use of the stamp to create all those layers of detail and interest. Fantastic to see the images echoing across the whole piece. I love the trio hanging up from the driftwood – really clever!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  21. Crafting Vicky
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 15:09:01

    woooow so fabulous!!! after seeing the article on you in the stamper’s sampler I just had to come over and visit your blog!!! I’m going to be a follower for sure your artwork is gorgeous!!!

    Reply

  22. lilfly
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 19:36:37

    Hi Lynne.
    I really love this one. The colours are perfect. It would be perfect for my brother who loves to go fishing.

    Reply

  23. Julie Lee
    Jun 07, 2014 @ 22:49:52

    I have never been interested in fishing, but this card is superb! You have created something perfectly lovely from a stamp it would never have occurred to me to use! This is so imaginative and the colouring is magical! I find myself loving a fishing themed card – that’s amazing! Clever you! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  24. coco
    Jun 08, 2014 @ 21:22:26

    You already know what I think of this Lynne, I just totally love this card and project, all is great!!!! Hugs, Coco xx

    Reply

  25. marjiekemper
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 20:39:12

    I admit, I don’t think I’d ever expect to see a fresh catch over here, but you make even fish look elegant! Love this masculine creation.

    Reply

  26. http://giogioscrap.blogspot.com/
    Jun 09, 2014 @ 20:59:28

    It’s really gorgeous, Lynne. The background matches perfectly the theme, and the countless details are outstanding.

    Reply

  27. marci piraro
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 03:18:18

    Fantastic stamping and use of one stamp!

    Reply

  28. Hazel
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 13:30:31

    A wonderful piece Lynne, my husband and son fish and they would love to receive a card like this.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  29. craftytrog
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 15:14:00

    Wonderful art Lynne! I love those cut out fish! xxx

    Reply

  30. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 17:12:06

    Another brilliant creation from you dear Lynne….
    as I have said in the past you are not only very talented but oh SO versatile too!
    Your background papers were indeed a perfect start and the fish hanging on the line are so fanciful and fun!
    oxo

    Reply

  31. Dorthe
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 14:43:23

    Oh this is so wonderful, my dear Lynne, so love that fish stamp, and the way you used it!! The background in those yellow/green colours are perfect and the bark and rusted fabric, beautiful elements for this story of a day out fishing.
    I love it, it is playfull and fun, and so sweet,too,….my ex-SIL sais to me that sweet is not to be used for men, but in this case I think it is ok 🙂
    Hugs from Dorthe

    Reply

Leave a Reply

