Corset From Paris

Hello Everyone
In this post I have two cards to share with you, both cards featuring stamps from Darkroom Door’s Corsetry set.
The cards I made were not anything like what I actually had in my mind.  For a start, I had no intention of using black, white and grey, have no idea why I did so as my go to colours for this style of stamp, 99.9% of the time, will be sepia.  Anyway, I obviously was in the mood for something clean.  Alongside Corsetry I also used another of the new stamps, Floral Texture.
This is the larger card at 7″x5″
I very rarely use mats and again, I cannot tell you why I decided to create mats for this card. elegantandstylishThis is a little detail I would like to share which you probably wouldn’t have picked up on in the main photograph.  I re-inked the corset to create this pretty lacy edging by stamping onto mulberry paper.  I did consider sewing ribbon as the effect would be amazing but, this time around, opted not to do so.phototwoThe Floral Texture stamp is scattered throughout the card, on the tags it was second generation stamping to create subtle pattern and texture.photothreeA gathering of torn pieces of lace, etc and also the Floral Texture stamp makes another appearance, stamped onto muslin.photofour
Card No. 2
This was only made because I had my stamps still out of their packaging so I decided to quickly make this second card with another corset from the same stamp set.  The Floral Texture appears once again, stamped onto the background and also onto muslin to create a fabric mat behind the corset image.corsetfromparisThe lace stamps are brilliant for creating edges.  You can barely see the Floral Texture stamp used as a background.  If I remember I am sure this was third generation stamping.photothreeMy time on-line has been very erratic lately and it has the knock-on effect of me being behind with Blog visits to my favourite blogs (and also catching-up with e-mail). I am sorry if I haven’t visited you for some time and hope I can return to normal service soon! In the meantime, thank you, as always for when you take the trouble to visit my Blog and comment.
Wishes
Lynne

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valerie-Jael
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 20:36:26

    Beautiful card, very elegant, but I am glad I don’t have to wear one of those corsets every day! Valerie

    Reply

  2. Fliss
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 20:38:35

    These are both beautiful Lynne and the texture from the floral stamp looks gorgeous.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  3. Corrie
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 20:50:31

    Love them both, Lynne. Even though you did something different for you they still came out beautiful. Love the second generation background stamping !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  4. Meggymay
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 21:08:33

    Beautiful cards Lynne, both so very feminine.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  5. rachel fisher
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 21:15:08

    these are so beautiful – I love the corset images – and the layers look fabulous – beautiful work Lynne – as always xx

    Reply

  6. Anne R
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 21:21:09

    The corsets are stunning, I love how you stamped the lace of the first one onto mulberry paper, it looks fabulous. The words ‘stylish and elegant’ suit both your beautiful cards Lynne. Anne xx

    Reply

  7. Rita
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 21:40:45

    Stunning card Lynne. Beautiful corsets on both cards. Glad these days are gone now. X Hugs Rita xxxxx

    Reply

  8. tracy745
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 22:13:38

    Lovely cards Lynne, I love the black and white and the corset image is fabulous. Love the tiny tags too. Tracy x

    Reply

  9. Gigi Harlan
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 23:22:05

    I love this! Just beautiful!

    Gigi @ Old World Patina

    Reply

  10. trisha too
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 23:37:36

    They are both very stylish and elegant, and just a tad bit racy as well as lacy! (You know I’ve been a terrible blogger lately–maybe we’ll both return to “normal service” soon!)

    Reply

  11. 3renee
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 23:49:03

    Really elegant and beautiful, thank God we don’t have to wear things like that! Beautiful to look at on cards though. Love the monochromatic colors.

    Reply

  12. Sandy Dehon
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 00:57:47

    Very elegant – ou-la-la! Whoever had to wear this surely went to an early grave!
    sandy xx

    Reply

  13. CarolS
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 02:19:44

    These are both lovely Lynne! It’s always nice to step outside of the norm once in a while and you did that beautifully!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  14. craftytrog
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 06:39:07

    You have used these lovely stamps beautifully Lynne, you do collage style so well!
    Hope all is well,
    Alison xx

    Reply

  15. Hazel
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 08:57:43

    I love your cards Lynne, they’re stunning.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  16. Julie Lee
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 09:49:14

    Wow! More stunning work! This is such exquisite stamping, Lynne! I love the black and white and that Mulberry Paper edging is breathtakingly lovely. That floral background is gorgeous too! I always say this, but I mean it – you are so inspirational! You inspire us to the heights of creativity! Julie Ann

    Reply

  17. Maryanne Gross
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 12:25:25

    Very beautiful cards, Lynne. I love the corset stamps! The Mulberry paper stamping is a great technique and so effective!

    Reply

  18. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 13:05:14

    Beautiful creations Lynne…
    I am drawn to corset and dress form images…
    can’t imagine actually wearing a corset…it is no wonder everyone carried smelling salts 😉
    Good to let your muse take you to a new color palette as it works really splendidly here
    ♥ ♥ ♥
    oxo

    Reply

  19. Dorthe
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 14:15:33

    My dear friend,
    your choice of black and grey looks so elegant and very beautiful.with these gorgeous corset stamps, and I love the lace you extra stamped on the mulberry paper ,
    The mats with their soft stamped pattern is a wonderful way of giving ectra texture to the cards, and as alwayes I love you uses a bit of lace and ribbons, Lynne.
    I wish you good and relaxed dayes ,and hope you will soon be able to be more on the computer .
    Hug and smiles, Dorthe,x

    Reply

  20. Shari T.
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 15:44:38

    These two cards are just Lovely, Lynne!! They look like old-timey advertisements for those old-timey ‘foundation’ garments! Or were they actually garments of torture back then? 😉 Regardless–your use of black, white & gray exudes a classic, antique feel to these designs and I love the black lace trimmings you’ve included! So beautiful and feminine! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  21. barnie
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 21:07:37

    Both cards are wonderful, fabulous color scheme.

    Reply

  22. coco
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 21:15:43

    Oh, I really love these two cards using this unusual combo of black and grey colours instead of sepia haha… (although yours makes in Sepia are totally gorgeous too!). The stamps are fabulous, especially in your hands!!! Wonderful work Lynne, they are SO beautiful. And I agree with you about what you told me in your last message, I would love swapping something with you; need just a bit of time more too! As soon as both of us will be ready (or at least one of us at first) we should consider this. 🙂 Hugs, Coco xx

    Reply

  23. Dianne
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 01:06:18

    Well Miss Lynne let me tell you right now, you inspire thousands of us REALLY YOU DO, these 2 cards needed to be created by you alone they are Exquisite all those backgrounds are just PERFECTION, I MUST get those lace, the double stamping really looks like laces, amazing, l well Miss Designer EXTRAORDINAIRE you have done it again, I loooooooooooove them booth..Thanks my dear for all this inspiration, my claws are itching to get to my desk, sadly maybe not till Mon, I’m going through withdraws.. Hope you have a lovely week, ((( BIG HUGS )))…

    Reply

  24. Brenda Brown
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 06:01:19

    Love these designs Lynne including the colours. Wishing you well, take care and sending you big hugs xx

    Reply

  25. butterfly
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 08:59:06

    Oh, they are wonderful! Those stamps are a perfect fit for your delicate vintage style. Even though there are departures here – the black stamping and the layered matting – they work so well with these wonderful corsets… you were just listening to the stamps, and they told you what they needed! Brilliant showcase for lovely images.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  26. Scrapmate
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 09:09:42

    2 beautiful cards, the attention to detail is wonderful and you have created a very nostalgic feeling with both of them. I’m glad I can just admire and not have to wear them though!

    Reply

  27. 1cardcreator
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 12:36:26

    This is marvelous Lynne, I love the mulberry paper lace! I also love the matting that you did, I think it really brings the image into the foreground too. ~Diane

    Reply

  28. MarieS.
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 14:59:19

    Ooh la la, tres chic and elegant.
    Have a lovely day.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  29. mustavcoffee
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 16:17:56

    Fabulous vintage cards, I love all the pretty details, such pretty cards 😀 x

    Reply

  30. Ira
    Jun 12, 2014 @ 19:24:28

    Gorgeous gorgeous dear Lynne, I absolutely love corsets, dress forms and anything lacey. I was actually only mentioning it to my husband today that I wouldn’t mind wearing muslin dresses this summer (Victorian style, of course 😉
    The stamps are so refined and beautifully detailed and your art work really show their beauty!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  31. michele s
    Jun 13, 2014 @ 03:51:36

    so gorgeous. i love the simplicity in terms of color and design. xo

    Reply

  32. Sharon
    Jun 13, 2014 @ 05:46:41

    So beautiful – love the corset image!

    Reply

  33. Samantha Read
    Jun 13, 2014 @ 08:38:02

    Gorgeous cards 🙂
    xxx

    Reply

  34. Shirley
    Jun 14, 2014 @ 11:48:09

    Beautiful vintage designs, love the cream & black together. Have a wonderful weekend, Shirleyx

    Reply

  35. marjiekemper
    Jun 14, 2014 @ 19:49:56

    Elegant is right! This is a beautiful project, Lynne.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

