Days of Sweet Wildflowers & Flirty Flutterbyes

Hello Everyone
A new challenge theme has been announced over at Crafty Individuals.  For the month of June we are asking you to create to the theme of Tag, You’re It.  There is lots of scope for this theme, remembering that your entry vaguely resembles a tag.

Here are the usual guidelines:

CHALLENGE GUIDELINES

To enter this month’s Crafty Individuals Challenge please put together your chosen project, which must include at least one Crafty Individuals product please, then post your Challenge project on your Blog, before the end of the month, and include a link back to the Crafty Individuals Blog.
At the end of the month five lucky participants will be chosen, each of whom will win a CI rubber stamp of their choice, and don’t forget that as per usual, once you have linked in your creation, you can also claim a lovely 25% discount code to use on anything you purchase from the CI Website, which will be valid until the 10th of July.

For my team sample I created this canvas with a total of 7 tags on it.

challengelynneInstead of working to a colour palette of neutrals which I really like to play with when working with a nature inspired theme, images of Summer popped into my head, in particular ice cream colours. Rather strange as I am not a big fan of ice cream!

I always like when opposites nestle side-by-side and although when I set out to make this I only knew I would be working on a canvas and including tags, that was the extent of my initial planning aside from wanting the result to have an air of the pretty with a mixture of textures.  Once I settled down and started to work on my sample I gathered the pieces which would eventually be included, many of them rustic in nature:- raffia, bark and wood.  I like that the fabric butterflies alight upon the wood and bark.
Initially I planned on only paint and texture on the canvas base but stamps I already had lying around caught my eye and they are amongst my most used Crafty Individuals stamps so I decided to add random stamping. This is only a portion of the canvas base.  It didn’t trouble me that the texture I had laid down on the canvas provided an uneven stamping surface. If I was wanting it to be perfect I would have stamped onto tissue paper but I was aware that nearly all of the stamping would be covered up.

With the paint application, as usual for me, I worked in a random fashion, aiming for the appearance of layers of paint with colours peeking beneath the various layers, almost like peeling paint without working to the peeling paint technique.base
Tag No. 1 – Chalk paints were used, an absolute favourite of mine. I used so many paints that I am unsure which paints I used and most times I blend the paints as I work. I like that the texture surface is visible yet smooth enough to provide a lovely stamping surface, I lost no details of any of the stamps.
For each of the main tags I attached teeny tiny stamped tags.tagoneTag No. 2 –  Those butterflies were so fiddly to cut out as they are very delicate.  Why do we make life difficult  for ourselves – I could have easily stamped them onto cardstock and saved myself so much hassle!tagtwoTag No. 3 – Fragments of this and that were scattered amongst the tags to break up the surface:- lace, painted corrugated cardboard and fragments of the various natural elements I used throughout the canvas.tag3The butterflies float around here and there.
This photograph highlights some of the textures I assembled for the canvas. detailA stamped postal mark is tucked behind one of the tags. detail2You would imagine that six tags were enough …. well I couldn’t resist one final tag.
Another handcut tag, this time cut from bark.  barktagSo if you are looking for a challenge then why not participate in Tag, You’re It!.
Thank you so much for your visit to this (rather long) post. This is another scheduled post so it is possible I have not caught up with your Blogs.  Apologies for my lack of visits and know that I am missing my time spent visiting and viewing your amazing Blogs.
Wishes
Lynne

38 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kate
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 01:21:48

    This is a stunning canvas! I absolutly love the pastels and texture.
    Kate

    Reply

  2. Terry
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 03:42:27

    Now this is really tagalicious times 7! Lynne, this is a beautiful canvas and such a clever way to add so many fabulous tags! Love this. Hugs!

    Reply

  3. Lynne
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 06:05:28

    Beautiful and so delicate.

    Reply

  4. Ruth
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 06:46:35

    This is absolutely beautiful Lynne-so soft and dreamy,
    XxxRuth

    Reply

  5. Anne R
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 07:22:54

    Gorgeous subtle colours, beautiful textures, delightful butterflies all make up a wonderful piece of art. This is gorgeous Lynne! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  6. astrid51
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 08:06:41

    Oh Lynne this is stunning!! Each of those tags is a little piece of art in itself, but all together it looks amazing and I have to say I love those subtle “ice cream” colours!!

    Reply

  7. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 08:21:55

    This turned out very beautiful, dear Lynne. I love each tag as well as the wonderful background you have created.
    Have a great week!
    Julia

    Reply

  8. butterfly
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 08:37:32

    So, so pretty, Lynne – the blended paint colours are so delicate, and all the stamping is gorgeous – those meadow flowers are just lovely!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  9. coco
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 09:01:09

    An exquisite canvas of tags!!! It’s so delicate, so gorgeous and so cleverly done!!! A wonderful piece of art and great sample for Jean’s tag challenge dear Lynne. Wishing you a lovely day, I had a very lovely walk this morning on your blog, thank you. Time for me now to return to work boohoo 😦 x

    Reply

  10. Dorthe
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 09:14:07

    Dear Lynne, your collection of tags are beautiful , I am in love with your used colours, and the sweet stamps, and love the bark one!! Wonderful to collect them on canvas- and you did not stamp the butterflyes on cardstock, because you goes after your artistic feelings and not after what is easy 🙂 and it gives such a lovely effect with that material for them!!
    Hugs,Dorthe (p.s. I just send you a p.m. and hope you recieved it ?)

    Reply

  11. maryanne gross
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 12:12:22

    These are beautiful tags! I love the soft colors which are so soothing on hot summer days!

    Reply

  12. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 12:20:11

    ooo gorgeous Lynne
    the bits of color you’ve added really are spectacular and your butterflies are so original too ♥
    oxo

    Reply

  13. Corrie
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 15:09:18

    Very pretty Lynne, love those ice-cream colours !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  14. Marianne
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 15:21:13

    Lynne, I love the soft colors…Lovely!!!

    Reply

  15. Robin
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 15:25:17

    These are absolutely stunning tags!

    Hugs,
    Robin

    Reply

  16. Gigi Harlan
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 17:22:56

    Absolutely gorgeous! I love the layers of paint that truly resemble patina and the butterflies are precious!

    Gigi @ Old World Patina

    Reply

  17. Ira
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 17:28:02

    Stunning idea to put so many gorgeous tags on one single canvas dear Lynne! And the colours are tremendously delicate and beautiful… such delicate work, can’t stop looking at it, keep strolling up and down again 😉
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  18. hettiecraft
    Jun 16, 2014 @ 21:42:42

    This is so pretty Lynne. Love all the layering and the colours are so dainty. Love it.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  19. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 08:42:10

    So pretty and delicate. I’m not a big fan of ice cream either (I’m a vanilla girl – saw some blue bubblegum cornets yesterday!) but I love the ice cream colours you worked with.

    Reply

  20. Dianne
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 10:51:09

    Hello Miss Lynne, your nature creations are always my favorites, this one is SPECTACULAR, the background and colors are gorgeous, with my favorite wild flowers I looooooooove it so much, thanks for sharing, hope you have a wonderful week, ((( BIG HUGS )))…

    Reply

  21. jo
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 19:32:42

    Lynn, this is simply stunning! wow! just wow!

    Reply

  22. barnie
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 20:14:56

    A wonderful project, fantastic soft colors.

    Reply

  23. Julie Lee
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 22:00:57

    I love the colours and textures on this beautiful canvas, Lynn! As is so often the case with your lovely work, it has an ethereal quality – as subtle and as soft as thistle-down! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  24. Gerrie
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 23:01:37

    All that beautiful art! Love your Fathers Day tribute as well.

    Reply

  25. Scrapmate
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 07:21:49

    Baeutiful, you have certainly succeeded in your aim of making something pretty. I’m a great one for odd numbers so 7 tags sounds much better than 6 . I love the muted colour scheme.

    Reply

  26. may
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 08:21:32

    Gorgeous canvas Lynne, love the tags Beautiful texture & sweet colours… love the images too…Simply perfect… Hugs May x x

    Reply

  27. CarolS
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 16:08:30

    Absolutely love this! The colors are wonderful, texture is great as well as the stamping and I love those tags and how you have them displayed!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  28. michele s
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 16:59:09

    lovely delicate and sweet. reminiscent of botanical field drawings. xo

    Reply

  29. Daniele
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 17:24:30

    these are so pretty love the backgrounds and the colour palette is delish
    hugs

    Reply

  30. marci piraro
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 03:43:33

    Maybe gelato colors? So lovely, I like them with the lace curtain? in the background. Just beautiful!

    Reply

  31. Chris
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 15:15:44

    This is gorgeous, Lynne. Lovely colours, lots of texture and beautiful images.

    It would look so nice hanging in my new room – I’ll save some wall space for it 🙂

    Chris xx

    Reply

  32. craftytrog
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 19:17:30

    I’m in awe, this is exquisite Lynne! xxx

    Reply

  33. Julie Lavalette
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 22:18:54

    Such a delicate and elegant design. Beautiful work as always.
    Julie x

    Reply

  34. marjiekemper
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 12:04:02

    How beautiful this is, Lynne… so delicate and textural!

    Reply

  35. 1cardcreator
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 12:49:04

    These are gorgeous, especially all the beautiful color tones you have here! ~Diane

    Reply

  36. Samantha Read
    Jun 25, 2014 @ 19:05:31

    Oh my Lynne, this is so beautiful. Your art takes my breath away every time 🙂
    Big hugs to you from Poppy and me xxx

    Reply

  37. Sharon
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 09:19:38

    wow stunning Lynne – such beautiful images and lovely pastel colours!

    Reply

  38. Dianne
    Dec 08, 2016 @ 14:10:11

    Beautiful soft colors…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

