The Corset of Her Dreams

Hello Everyone
Not so long ago I shared with you two cards featuring Darkroom Door’s Corsetry set.  At that time I used grey, black and white with a touch of cream however I was keen to stamp up the set again, using some of the other stamps in the set and also working with my favoured brown tones.canvas
A corset was definitely going to be the feature stamp on the canvas but I wanted to use the wonderful advertisement stamp in the set.  Of course, working on quite a small canvas I knew that the majority of the background would eventually be covered up however I ploughed ahead, staining the canvas and stamping the advertisement repeatedly to give me this as a base.canvasbaseI tend not to forward plan too much but I had to this time because I wanted to ensure that the woman would be visible once I had completed the canvas with the stamped art, embellishments, etc.5 May 002The other piece of forward planning was with the corset. The corset, once stamped, actually faces to the right, however with the placement of the woman (above) I wanted my corset to face towards the left. Simply resolved by stamping onto tissue paper and flipping over before adhering to the stained cardstock.  This is it after I had taken those steps.tissuepaperI also combined stamps from the Dressmaker set.
A rather out of focus shot! To bring a touch of texture I wound some thread around the stamped thread card. 22 May 018The Dressmaker stamps work so well with the Corsetry set.
Here I folded the stamped measuring tape for some added dimension. 22 May 014Scraps of stained lace and seam binding were the only added extras, and a little button. photofiveThank you for your visit to this most recent scheduled post.
Hope you are all having a lovely week.
Wishes
Lynne

33 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. michele
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 15:00:41

    Beautiful work!!

    Reply

  2. Sue F
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 16:17:08

    Fabulous project Lynne and a wonderful selection of images.

    Reply

  3. Corrie
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 16:43:44

    Love this stamp set and you did it justice! Love your cards. I can see yu had fun making them !!
    Corrie x

    Reply

  4. jo
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 16:45:29

    i love the idea of stamping on tissue to flip an image … wonderful techniques on this lovely little canvas!

    Reply

  5. Avril
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 17:51:36

    Beautiful canvas Lynne, Love your idea of stamping onto tissue to flip the corset.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  6. Meggymay
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 18:07:01

    Beautiful project, thanks for the flip idea.
    Yvonne

    Reply

  7. craftytrog
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 18:51:03

    Wonderful canvas Lynne, I like how you folded the tape measure.
    I didn’t know corsets were ‘cool’! Lol! Sorry….couldn’t resist!
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  8. hettiecraft
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 19:42:59

    Gosh Lynne, this is absolutely beautiful. Love all the little details and your flippin’ brilliant!
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  9. tracy745
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 19:47:18

    Gorgeous, the corset is fabulous and I always love those warm neutral tones. Love the tape measure and lace . Hope you are well. Tracy x

    Reply

  10. coco
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 21:19:37

    That’s really gorgeous, also in your favorites shades too Lynne of course, you master the style and these colours so beautifully! Although I really loved the grey tones used on your previous cards haha! :)) xx

    Reply

  11. barnie
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 21:30:34

    A fabulous project, great vintage look. Love the folded measure tape and the spool.

    Reply

  12. Brenda Brown
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 21:31:21

    Beautiful sepia tones and a gorgeous collection of images xx

    Reply

  13. astrid51
    Jun 19, 2014 @ 21:36:57

    Fabulous Lynne, that corset looks amazing and yes stamping on tissue paper is such a good idea for flipping an image. Love all the gorgeous sepia tones!

    Reply

  14. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 05:17:12

    It’s gorgeous, dear Lynne. I love it!
    Julia

    Reply

  15. may
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 07:06:07

    Gorgeous creation Lynne, I adore the stamps & sepia tones…the images are perfect.. Hugs May x x

    Reply

  16. Hazel H
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 08:41:16

    A stunning canvas Lynne, I love the sepia tones and the images are lovely.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  17. Terry
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 13:17:16

    Wonderful canvas, Lynne! Love the sewing theme and that folded measuring tape! Don’t think I ever could have worn a corset! Enjoy the weekend!

    Reply

  18. Dorthe
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 15:45:43

    I love it, Lynne!
    It is beautiful, and sweet, -the seamstress behind the korset, tells a true story of the work and adverticement of those dayes, and the stamps from The Dressmaker set gives so much life to it because you are so clever in the way you use them, making it 3-dimentional. What a wonderful canvas you created dear friend.
    Hugs and a lovely weekend-
    Dorthe,xx

    Reply

  19. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 21:35:52

    Your creations are all about the little special touches which result in a fabulous finished piece each and every time…
    the folds in the stamped tape measure…
    stamping on tissue paper…
    wrapping the embroidery floss around your stamped card…
    I could go on…
    Thank you so much for sharing dear Lynne…
    I am still wondering what it is about corsets that always fascinates and draws me in *ggg*…I certainly would not want to wear a corset 😉
    oxo

    Reply

  20. Julie Lavalette
    Jun 20, 2014 @ 22:13:51

    Such beautiful intricate work. Gorgeous.
    Julie x

    Reply

  21. Dianne
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 02:46:16

    Wow Miss Lynne I love the B&W and grey one but this one is so special, I loooooove all the browns, love how you created the background, then all your attention to the details is absolutely AMAZING, this creation is out of this world, I have to FB this my Sister will love it, thanks for always inspiring me, hope you have a wonderful weekend ((( BIG HUGS )))..

    Reply

  22. Ira
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 12:35:08

    What is it with the sewing theme that makes it always so amazing to look at? Your corset card really is beautiful Lynne with those gorgeous stamps/colours/layering. Love every single detail, just awesome!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  23. michele s
    Jun 21, 2014 @ 17:24:57

    i’m going to say that i’ve never dreamed of having a corset and i question whether one truly can keep a woman cool BUT your creation is dreamy and gorgeous so that is good enough for me. xo

    Reply

  24. Julie Lee
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 10:35:04

    Wow! What to say??? Just love everything about this! Wonderful, inspiring and exquisitely vintage, Lynne. Perfection! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  25. MarieS.
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 15:13:52

    What can I say, dear Lynne? Simply gorgeous.
    Have a lovely Sunday.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  26. gio
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 22:15:45

    Just marvellous. I think it’s truly you!

    Reply

  27. paper profusion
    Jun 22, 2014 @ 23:49:57

    Absolutely beautiful Lynne. I love all your exquisite detailing. Nicola x

    Reply

  28. 1cardcreator
    Jun 23, 2014 @ 12:44:52

    Another gorgeous and inspiring piece Lynne! ~Diane

    Reply

  29. Samantha Read
    Jun 25, 2014 @ 19:07:32

    Gorgeous. Gorgeous. Gorgeous.
    Big hugs xxx

    Reply

  30. butterfly
    Jun 25, 2014 @ 20:34:46

    What a delight – brilliant layering of those delicious images, and the rich sepia tones are so perfect.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  31. Kate
    Jun 28, 2014 @ 00:25:12

    Gorgeously vintage! It reminds me of an old ad. Corsets are a fabulous fashion piece.
    Kate

    Reply

  32. Sharon
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 09:18:35

    Not sure how I missed this post Lynne but glad I “found” it!! Love it – all the images and elements go so well together!! Beautiful!

    Reply

  33. Dianne
    Dec 08, 2016 @ 14:13:46

    I love vintage and this is so lovely…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

