Venetian Glory

Hello Everyone
When I received Darkroom Door’s Baroque Frame it immediately conjured up images of Venice, of grandeur and opulence and I knew I had to use the frame in conjunction with one of my all time favourite Darkroom Door stamp sets, Venetian Vol 1baroqueframelynnemoncrieff
I was unable to take step photographs of the canvas panel as I laid down colour and texture but I can tell you that I used amongst other things:- Golden Glass Bead Gel and Cosmic Shimmer vintage mica flakes and colour in the form of a plum walnut stain and Martha Stewart metallic paints which are lovely.
The frame is so generously sized that it had to be the focal on the panel yet at the same time I really wanted to use the stamp of Venice so I stamped the Venice image onto tissue paper to allow it to blend into the background of the canvas panel and to allow the frame to be even more of a focal I, unusually for me used embossing powder, something I rarely dip into and to create a sense of dimension I curved the stamped frame allowing it to pop from the panel.ย frameThat lion’s head metal embellishment I have been saving for the longest time, finally I used it.frametwoThis little stamp is from the Venetian set and it helped to push back the stamped image of Venice.
I adore Glass Bead Gel as it always takes colour so beautifully, the metallic paints are instantly elevated when applied over the Bead Gel, it adds a sumptuous quality.detailoneA dash of paint, a little bit of stamping and the mini mosaic tiles were the perfect embellishment to edge the panel along with a metal button.ย detailsixThank You so much for your visit to this post, apologies for neglecting my Blog and neglecting my visits to your Blogs.
Wishes
Lynne

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzi B
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 20:11:29

    Wonderfully decedent….. fabulously rich olours.
    Suzi B xx

    Reply

  2. Ella
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 20:17:59

    I too thought rich! I love the pink with the gold-brilliant!

    Reply

  3. tonitat
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 20:26:53

    Lovely rich colours and gorgeous texture! X

    Reply

  4. Valerie-Jael
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 20:56:06

    Beautifully rich and opulent! Valerie

    Reply

  5. paper profusion
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 20:56:11

    How fantastically decadent Lynne! The frame instantly brought to my mind a mask as at Venice Carnevale, so snap! Absolutely love all the rich gilding, inking and embellishing. Its stunning. Nicola x

    Reply

  6. Anne R
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 20:58:01

    This is so beautiful Lynne, gorgeous, rich, elegant and very striking and I really love the Venetian theme. Anne xx

    Reply

  7. Fliss
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 21:09:24

    Such a beautifully golden glow to your creation Lynne and it transported me back to one of the loveliest places I’ve ever visited.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  8. 1cardcreator
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 21:11:41

    Wow, this is gorgeous, I will have to look for that glass bead gel as I have never heard of it but it looks stunning! Love how you used the embossing powder on this too. ~Diane

    Reply

  9. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 21:29:10

    That is stunning, Lynne, so opulent.

    Reply

  10. Julie lavalette
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 21:42:57

    Such a beautiful choice of warm shades and texture. Beautiful piece.
    Julie x

    Reply

  11. Meggymay
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 22:12:31

    Gorgeous textures, its a wonderful romantic canvas .
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  12. Julie Lee
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 22:48:39

    I love Venice and I think this evokes Serenissima perfectly.- it’s just glorious! What a great use of these stamps and the texture is fabulous.. Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  13. rachel fisher
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 22:51:23

    this is stunning – i love it! I had the pleasure of living in Padua which is about 30 mins from Venice by train – I went often and this really has a venetian feel about it – beautiful xx

    Reply

  14. hettiecraft
    Jul 03, 2014 @ 23:02:10

    Oh Lynne this is wonderful. I just love the images and what you have created using them.
    Fabulous.
    xx

    Reply

  15. Sharon
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 07:34:56

    Stunning – love the gold, the texture & the dimension of this piece – beautiful Lynne!

    Reply

  16. Avril
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 07:36:03

    Beautiful canvas Lyne. Love the look of the bead gel – haven’t seen that before. Always love these images and you have used them to perfection.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  17. Annie G
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 08:17:16

    Adore that baroque frame stamp Lynne and it looks wonderful against your amazing background. Love the textures and stamping. Perfect adornments for this stunning project.

    TFS and have a great weekend

    Annie x

    Reply

  18. craftytrog
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 08:18:52

    Fabulously rich & opulent Lynne! xxx

    Reply

  19. Samantha Read
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 09:06:41

    Wonderfully lush ๐Ÿ™‚ Loving the pink again ๐Ÿ˜‰ xx

    Reply

  20. Rosie
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 12:49:28

    Wow, this is gorgeous and soooo romantic, Lynne.

    Have a wonderful Summer weekend.

    Reply

  21. Dorthe
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 15:05:14

    Lynne, dear, it is so stunning, oh!! your texture, of the frame, the gold with pink looks beautifully rich, and the Venice stamps are gorgeous and grand .
    But what makes this a masterpiece is your way of working with all the wonderful stuff, you have mentioned here ( I also don`t know the bead gel) ,mixing and blending, to form this fantastic feeling of being in old Venice . I love the lionโ€™s head and mini tiles, and love your cnavas, dear.
    Huhs, Dorthe-x

    Reply

  22. Shari T.
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 16:23:42

    Pure Gilded Opulence, Lynne!! I almost feel like I’m looking onto a set for an opera…I expect the singers to come out any moment!! O solo mio….or how about Finiculi, Finicula, Finiculi, Finiculaaaaaaa…You’ve got me singing, Lynne!! See what your creations do to me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  23. Gigi Harlan
    Jul 04, 2014 @ 16:31:59

    This card is absolutely gorgeous and has to be one of my favorites that you have ever done! You do so many beautiful cards so that is saying a lot. I love the baroque frame and the Venice stamps and the lovely way you laid down the colors and textures…superb!

    Gigi @ Old World Patina

    Reply

  24. Rob
    Jul 05, 2014 @ 00:41:52

    Absolutely gorgeous Lynne, you have done such justice to these stamps.

    Reply

  25. Jenny Marples (Buttons)
    Jul 05, 2014 @ 07:55:20

    Oh Lynne I’m in heaven here. You’ve captured the sense of carnival in this super piece. Love the deep rose pink colouring with all that gilding gold and touches of texture throughout. Jenny x

    Reply

  26. coco
    Jul 05, 2014 @ 08:38:17

    Oh it’s really fab Lynne, what a great make, I love Italy and your canvas really well deserves it, the background and everything is fabulous!!! You have found the perfect elements to use in conjunction, I love the flakes and the lion on top of it, beautiful addition! ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know the Glass bead Gel, I guess it’s not too much different from the Studio gloss multi-medium I have… But please give me your advise if it’s not the case according you? Enjoy your week-end Lynne, Hugs Coco xx

    Reply

  27. Dianne
    Jul 05, 2014 @ 13:21:31

    Miss Lynne, bowing, bowing bowing to you this is superb perfection in creativity and art and beauty, this is just Glorious, you have done it again Miss Designer Extraordinaire, thanks for making our world a much better place, have a wonderful weekend, ((( BIG HUG )))..

    Reply

  28. Ira
    Jul 05, 2014 @ 17:36:54

    Gorgeous gorgeous Lynne! I think this is one of your finest creations EVER! Love love the mask and Venetian theme!! Ira x
    Iraโ€™s Crea Corner

    Reply

  29. Lynn Stevens
    Jul 05, 2014 @ 17:59:59

    Love those Rich colors Lynne and the way you used the lion as the doorknocker
    over the baroque frame genius!!!
    Hugs Lynn

    Reply

  30. Chris
    Jul 05, 2014 @ 23:44:23

    This reminds me so much of the beautiful shops in Venice! Not that I had long there but as our tour guide showed us around I kept passing such wonderful displays! This would have sat happily in any of them! Chrisx
    ps Thank you for following!

    Reply

  31. Martina
    Jul 06, 2014 @ 11:13:09

    Dear Lynne, this looks completely fantastic! Beautifully processed and so classy! Well done!
    Thank you for your loving mail. I will reply as soon as possible my friend.
    Have a wonderful Sunday with lots of sunshine ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  32. barnie
    Jul 06, 2014 @ 11:23:20

    Wow, that’s a breathtaking project. Fantastic texture and colors.

    Reply

  33. michele s
    Jul 06, 2014 @ 21:42:19

    wow, intensely gorgeous. has that ancient Italian feel. xo

    Reply

  34. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 21:00:32

    Oh My Dear Lynne ~ this rich and gorgeous piece you have created really draws me in making me long more than ever to visit Venice some day!
    Very strong and luscious design!
    oxo

    Reply

  35. Kate
    Jul 09, 2014 @ 13:07:12

    Wow! This is truly grand! You have captured that old world texture beautifully.
    Kate

    Reply

  36. marci piraro
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 02:15:39

    Stunning! I love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

