The Sweetest Song

Hello Everyone
Last month, my lovely friend, Dorthe, celebrated her birthday. Many of you might know that birds often pop up in Dorthe’s own beautiful creations so with that in mind I wanted her card and gift to have a bird theme and I happened to have a sweet bird stamp from Redlead Paperworks, Bird Defined.  He is such a chubby little fella that I was sure he would appeal to Dorthe.cardlynnemoncrieffOn the card for Dorthe I wanted that appealing combination, to me anyway, of pretty meets rustic.  I talk of this often, having utilitarian fabrics such as burlap side by side with the softest lace.  For Dorthe’s card I wanted textures such as Kraft and wood with laces and soft twine with the paper doily making a lovely background mat (I ever so lightly applied paint although in the photograph it looks white, it is actually blue).
Now I just realised that if you look at this, you would believe that the bird is the full stamp but in actual fact, Bird Defined comprises of what could be classed as three stamps in one:- the sweet bird, definition of bird and also the word bird.  When I share the journal I sent to Dorthe you will see more of the stamp on display, that is another post, another day.stampedpaintedbalsawoodAlongside the chubby little bird, I made use of a lovely stamp comprising of three separate sentiments, once again it is a Redlead Paperworks stamp, Give Me Wings And I Will Fly.  This is one of the sentiments you see on the little tag I hand-cut, with the sentiment stamped onto a piece of the leftover fabric I painted and stamped, again, from the journal.
You did spot the mistake …. of course you did!  It was only after the card had been mailed to Dorthe and I was organising photographs that I spotted the mistake, glaringly obvious – birds sing the sweetes songs!
balsawoodtagA frill of lace was essential.
detailThank You for your visit to my first Blog post of this brand new week.
Wishes
Lynne

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shari T.
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 04:58:53

    That is the cutest, chubbiest little bird image ever! Your textures are wonderful and what mistake, Lynne? 😉 I don’t see any mistake! 🙂 Embrace imperfection 😉 🙂 This is another beautiful piece, made with love and something that I’m sure Dorthe will cherish forever! Just Lovely!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  2. Brenda Brown
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 05:51:33

    A gorgeous blend of colours and textures and such a sweet design. I didn’t notice the ‘mistake’ until you pointed it out, it all fits together perfectly xx

    Reply

  3. may
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 06:28:20

    Hi Lynne, This is so Beautiful I adore all the wonderful layers & soft colours… the little chubby bird is perfect…I’m sure Dorthe will treasure this always…Hugs May x x

    Reply

  4. Annie G
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 07:43:08

    Such a beautiful creation Lynne…love the layout and that bird stamp is so sweet. I am sure Dorthe will treasure it.

    Best wishes
    Annie x

    Reply

  5. Ruth
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 08:00:21

    This is beautiful Lynne and I did not notice the “mistake”.
    It is an original artwork and therefore cannot have a mistake.
    I love your beautiful creations.
    Off to the Redlead website to see that gorgeous little bird and more!
    XxxRuth

    Reply

  6. Dorthe
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 08:46:38

    Oh Lynne, ,your so beautiful card is here ,just in fron of me on my computer table, for me to see, every day, it will one day be on my wall, but for now I want to see ,everytime sitting here, and not only when passing a wall!! It is the most beautiful card ever, dear friend. . AND ,I truly did not think about the missing -T- lol
    your card is a stunning piece of art , and I love it.
    Smiles, Dorthe-xxx

    Reply

  7. Julie Lee
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 09:38:39

    This is so very beautiful, Lynne. It is a perfect combination of rustic and pretty. It just evokes the natural world so beautifully and sings the sweetest song of friendship and creativity! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  8. craftytrog
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 10:47:46

    This is so lovely Lynne, I’m sure Dorthe adored it! xxx

    Reply

  9. Viola
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 11:24:29

    Your collage card looks so wonderful, dear Lynne! Love it!!

    Reply

  10. Sophie
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 12:40:01

    Das ist total süß geworden….
    So niedlich mit dem kleinen Vogel, und wunderschön mit der kostbaren Spitze.

    Umarmung und Grüße

    Reply

  11. 1cardcreator
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 15:16:31

    Beautiful card I am sure Dorthe will treasure it. ~Diane

    Reply

  12. Terry
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 16:00:05

    So lovely, Lynne! I love birds and so I know Dorthe will fall in love with this sweet gift! Enjoy the week, hugs.

    Reply

  13. Ira
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 18:52:04

    Such a sweet bird creation, reminds me of those adorable new born little wrens that are still so chubby and fluffy! Your card is totally fabulous!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  14. Meggymay
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 19:46:21

    Been having a little catch up on the posts I have missed. As always the inspiration is fantastic and this piece is no exception, its gorgeous.
    Yvonne xx.

    Reply

  15. Jesse Rowan
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 19:57:30

    Wow, you are so talented. I love it!

    Reply

  16. Anne R
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 20:12:21

    I have just read Dorthe’s comment and can see how much this beautiful card means to her, not at all surprising considering how very beautiful it is. I did not even notice the missing ‘t’ either! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  17. nefertiti
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 20:28:28

    A beautifuf creation Lynne with a lovely bird and great colours! bizz
    Sylvie

    Reply

  18. barnie
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 20:50:38

    A beautiful creation, love the use of the fabric.

    Reply

  19. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 20:58:12

    Your card is all around precious and perfect for dear Dorthe!
    Here in the US the Amish who make beautiful hand stitched quilts intentionally make at least one mistake in each piece…they believe that only God is perfect 😉
    That darling bird reminds me of our local house wrens that flit about and sing THE sweetest songs!
    I know that Dorthe treasures this as any of us would!
    oxo

    Reply

  20. hettiecraft
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 22:42:58

    This is beautiful Lynne. The images are gorgeous. Don’t fret about the missing letter…it shows it is handmade! My excuse for things like that.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  21. Suze
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 22:53:14

    What’s a “t” between friends! Lol! Absolutely gorgeous card Lynne, love that chubby cheeked bird! Xx

    Reply

  22. coco
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 09:05:29

    Despite the mistake – which sounds cute for me..:) – this is absolutely adorable, I love the stamps you have used (thanks for the link Lynne) and they are perfect on painted fabric, and with a beautiful addition of lace… I love this!!! You friend must have been thrilled with it! Bisous

    Reply

  23. paper profusion
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 10:40:18

    So besutiful Lynne. No wonder Dorthe loved it. Nicola x

    Reply

  24. Jenny Marples (Buttons)
    Jul 08, 2014 @ 20:09:04

    Beautiful as ever Lynne. Mind you, the blackbirds in our garden shout at us for being out there rather than sing to us! Jenny x

    Reply

  25. Kate
    Jul 09, 2014 @ 13:05:32

    So soft and beautiful. The tattered rose and lace are so lovely against that image.
    kate

    Reply

  26. trisha too
    Jul 10, 2014 @ 23:55:55

    That really is a great bird image–and I really like the Red Lead word stamps, something about the type font they use definitely appeals to me.

    Dorthe surely adored this precious card, Lynne! 🙂

    Reply

  27. Dianne
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 00:26:14

    Hello Miss Lynne, I can’t believe a week has past since I’ve visited, the time is fly too fast. Well you must know I would love this being a Magpie, birds are very special to me, it’s more rustic meets gorgeous, that bird is so sweet, I love the tea bag with the sentiment, what a grrrrreat stamp set, love all your special little bits, I’m sure Dorthy loved it, who wouldn’t…. Thanks for sharing…

    Reply

  28. Sharon
    Jul 14, 2014 @ 02:27:41

    Gorgeous!

    Reply

  29. marci piraro
    Jul 18, 2014 @ 00:10:59

    This is so sweet. What a lovely gift.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

