Mr Turtle & His Underwater Adventures

Hello Everyone
I know the previous post shared news on the latest releases from Crafty Individuals but, for now, I have a card to share using a previous release, an Alice Palace design, CI-413.
As I like vintage and pale, muted tones, it is so easy for me to always reach for vintage book text, Gesso and the palest of paint colours but at the beginning of this year, I wanted to spread my wings a wee bit and ink up stamps that otherwise have been avoided.
It is no great secret to say that Alice Palace designs are not nestled within my comfort zone and for that reason, it is fair to say that this stamp was not inked up until very recently. Knowing I had received a stamp to play with which hadn’t been inked up, it pushed me to release Mr Turtle from his packaging and simply to see where this stamp was going to take me and not worry about how to fit it into a shabby chic style but simply, arrange a bundle of paints in front of me and have some fun and that is exactly what I did do and you can see, a result that is different to my favoured “style”.
I introduce you to Mr Turtle.CI-413
This is the stamp. ย I decided not to use the text.
15 May 121All the texture was laid down prior to applying Gesso and paint and amazingly, there are no embellishments on this card, unusual for me. ย What struck me as a positive about cards created this way, it would certainly make it a lot less expensive to mail, without any bulky embellishments.detailoneYou can see some of the texture I laid down in this photograph, along with a sentiment from one of Crafty Individuals Elements set.detailtwoThat is my little squeezed in post prior to returning on Sunday with my regular post for Sunday, the That’s Crafty DT post.
I hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend, possibly even finding some creative time to yourselves.
Wishes
Lynne

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. COrrie
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 19:43:48

    You should get out of your comfort zone more often because this is beautiful !!
    I love it….
    Corrie x

    Reply

  2. Annie G
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 20:25:52

    I agree with Corrie Lynne……………love the little layers of paper that you can just see under the paint and the dots look great too. Stunning mix of paints and a really nice turtle stamp. Love the cute face which reminded me of the tortoise that my nana had as a pet in her tenement flat. His shell was a different shape as he was a land dweller, but so cute and very shy ๐Ÿ™‚
    TFS
    Annie x

    Reply

  3. Valerie-Jael
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 20:36:12

    Love your turtle and the wonderful colours! Valerie

    Reply

  4. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 20:53:25

    I love that turtle stamp and you’ve given him a wonderful ‘sea’ to swim in. Fab!

    Reply

  5. tracy745
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 21:29:10

    Love the turtle and the background showcases him beautifully. Love the text too. Tracy x

    Reply

  6. Samantha Read
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 21:47:41

    O Lynne, when this popped up in my email and I glanced at it I could have sworn it said ‘Mr Turtle and his underwear adventures’ I had to have a second look ๐Ÿ™‚
    A beautiful postcard.
    (Poppy is slowly melting with the rest of us)
    Big hugs to you ๐Ÿ™‚ xxx

    Reply

    • thecobweboriumemporium
      Jul 27, 2014 @ 17:33:58

      I too, (like Samantha) on first sight, thought it read: “Mr. Turtle in his underwear” …. the funny thing is that I didn’t re-read it but instead tried to figure out what it meant because one look at the turtle told me he didn’t have on any underwear, so what could it mean? I was looking for some deep meaning which I was obviously too shallow to realise because the meaning was lost on me!

      When I did re-read it I couldn’t help but laugh at myself and said out loud: “Sigmund Freud would have a field day with that one!”

      It’s a truly beautiful card and coming out of your comfort zone worked a treat. (But I know how scary it can be). ~ Cobs. x

      Reply

  7. Anne R
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 22:42:24

    I am so pleased you introduced us to Mr Turtle, he looks wonderful swimming in that beautiful blue green coloured ocean and the sentiment is just perfect for him. Love the stamped embellishments at the bottom too! Anne xx

    Reply

  8. Jenny Marples (Buttons)
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 23:13:42

    Mr Turtle looks particularly happy swimming in his painted home and I love this side of your creativity. Thanks for your message about the Open Day – from the reaction it looks like I’m going to have to come to Scotland at some point to see everyone up there! Jenny x

    Reply

  9. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 23:14:13

    Flat cards certainly do have their place with no need for an extra trip to the post office even.
    Your Mr Turtle looks wonderful…
    I glanced above me in the comments and see that Samantha and I were on the same page LOL…I too first read “and his underwear” … just for an instant … how funny someone else went there too Hah!
    No one would ever guess you were out of your comfort zone…
    everything about this piece is special.
    oxo

    Reply

  10. hettiecraft
    Jul 26, 2014 @ 23:56:17

    I never realised turtles wore underwear!!! LOL!
    Great card Lynne. I just love the colours and the text is perfect.
    Have a great weekend.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  11. Shari T
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 01:22:29

    I LOVE Mr. Turtle, Lynne!! He’s wonderful and looks very happy in his underwater adventure! Your colors are so soothing, just as it would be to see Mr. Turtle swimming past you in a clear (shark-free) ocean ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been fortunate to see sea turtles in Hawaii and they are majestic and beautiful animals. This card brought those memories back! Fabulous, Lynne!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  12. Sharon
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 02:06:41

    I love what you have done with this image Lynne – perfect background – love the soft colours of the paint and the design!

    Reply

  13. Suze
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 09:11:04

    Ha, ha, when I first glanced at the title, I thought you’d written underwear too! Your Mr Turtle is fab, a super masculine card. Xx

    Reply

  14. Rita
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 10:31:39

    What a wonderful card Lynne. Love Mr Turtle and the gorgeous background you have created. Have a Good Day. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  15. Hazel
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 12:34:08

    This is wonderful Lynne, the background and colours are beautiful.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  16. marci piraro
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 14:59:55

    Thank you for the introduction. He looks right at home in a beautiful environment you have created!

    Reply

  17. michele s
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 17:56:01

    nevertheless you’ve done a stunning job with it — you definitely created an underwater feel. glad you got outside your comfort zone. xo

    Reply

  18. Yvonne G
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 18:59:30

    I love this! Bravo, Lynne!

    Reply

  19. Diane
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 19:52:53

    Beautiful turtle Lynne and I prefer your sentiment with him too. I like the colors and the use of the white on this. ~Diane

    Reply

  20. Ira
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 20:16:06

    Beautiful colours Lynne! You couldn’t have picked more appropriate ones, splendid looking underwater background!
    Iraโ€™s Crea Corner

    Reply

  21. butterfly
    Jul 27, 2014 @ 23:28:24

    Oh, lovely – you’ll know I love blues and greens, and this is such a serene, gentle pastel version of the palette – really delicious underwater piece (and peace)!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  22. coco
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 12:23:57

    I really love your Mr turtle like that on this simple card without embellishments… Not so simple by the way, and really beautiful with its delicate shades and texture that I find absolutely gorgeous! Moreover, knowing me, you will not be surprised that I’m really in love with Alice Palace’s stamps, they are in my comfort zone unlike you maybe, and so I love your card even more!! ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

    Reply

  23. craftytrog
    Jul 28, 2014 @ 19:35:33

    You’ve achieved a wonderful background for Mr Turtle Lynne…a fabulous piece!
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  24. Shelly Schmidt
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 05:12:28

    Oh I love this card- beautiful colors and even with no lace or fancy embellishments : ) Love that you always tell HOW you achieved your beautiful results too! Just back from out of town- have my daughter home from China for a vacation- three more weeks until she leaves- so please bear with me if I do not stop by as much as usual!

    Reply

  25. Dorthe
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 14:50:56

    A new wonderful piece made out of your comport zone, dearest Lynne, the background is so beautiful with the air bubbles and the colours of the sea- and you alwayes makes such lovely accents and texture with the paperpieces used under the painting !!
    Hugs and smiles from Dorthe-xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

