1 of your 5 a day

Hello Everyone
It wasn’t so long ago I shared with you a Darkroom Door DT sample using one of the new Line Art stamps, Leafy Lady. At the same time as receiving the Leafy Lady stamp I also received Cherry Apple and Strawberry lady and some new Texture Stamps to play with.
It would have been so easy for me to stay with the neutral palette I used for the Leafy Lady card but realised that I had the perfect opportunity to set myself the challenge of immersing myself with colour for the Cherry Apply and Strawberry ladies. Now, this doesn’t come easily for me and hand up in the air, I struggled with the notion of using colour until I told myself to sit back and have some fun.bloglynnemoncrieffBoth cards will be featured at the Darkroom Door Blog at some point along with instructions and supply list so you can understand that I don’t want to repeat myself here with step by step so I will share some photographs along with an outline of stamps featured, etc.
After stamping Strawberry Lady I painted with Twinking H20s before creating a background of washes, picking up colours used for the woman however at this point I wasn’t satisfied.  blogtwolynneI knew that I didn’t want to embellish the card however the overall appearance was too flat.  It was swiftly remedied with Gesso and fabric.  Also for the background I used the fabulous Splatter Texture stamp, both stamping with paint and also with ink and I also made use of the Scratches background stamp.blogthreelynne
Cherry Apple Lady
Now, moving onto the Cherry Apple Lady stamp which is a variation on a theme to the Strawberry Lady card.myblogLet me show you the woman as I was painting her. blogtwoI wish the shimmer from the Twinkling H20s had translated in the photographs.  You will just need to take my word for the shimmer that exists on both cards.blogphotoThe Texture stamps do exactly that … create wonderful touches of texture.  My favourite way to use the Texture stamps is to partially ink it up, then stamp in a random fashion.blogdetail
To view the other Line Art and Texture stamps available please visit Darkroom DoorAs for my two samples, I really do not know what reaction to expect. I have my own judgements on them in that I don’t believe they look as though either were made by me but once I set aside any constrictions that the stamps would have to fit into my vintage/shabby chic box, yes, I will admit, I actually enjoyed the process of creating them but that is entirely different than me stating I like the results!
Many thanks for your visit to this scheduled post and also a huge thank you to those of you who commented on my Redlead Pixie girl canvas.
Wishes
Lynne

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie G
    Aug 06, 2014 @ 23:16:58

    Wow! Such beautiful colours Lynne, with the most amazing painting and shading. I adore the backgrounds on both your samples with amazing scrapes and splatters.
    I have to say that I was not taken with these stamps when I first saw them…but they are growing on me.

    Crafty hugs
    Annie x

    Reply

  2. trisha too
    Aug 06, 2014 @ 23:42:29

    Wait a minute wait a minute wait a minute—never have I seen the lovely Lynne use so much color! Very fine, a perfect accompaniment to the whimsical images. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 00:05:26

    Oh wow these stamps are amazing Lynne and you are really doing them justice !!! Love the colours you have used – fantastic.

    Reply

  4. Rita
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 02:51:51

    Fabulous creations Lynne. Love the stamps. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  5. Valerie-Jael
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 06:12:47

    Great to see you diving into colours – wonderful! Valerie

    Reply

  6. Godelieve
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 09:19:36

    I love what you did here Lynne!

    Reply

  7. Meggymay
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 09:20:03

    These new images all look great and colours as well, Fabulous pieces.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  8. Hazel
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 09:57:48

    Wow Lynne, these are scrumptious, the colours are gorgeous – as I’m very partial to strawberries that one has to be my favorite.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  9. craftytrog
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 11:38:58

    Scrumptious backgrounds Lynne, & those ladies are coloured beautifully! xxx

    Reply

  10. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 13:16:10

    I love your fruity ladies, Lynne. No sign of your colour struggle in the finished pieces. I struggle with using neutrals – and don’t even attempt to conquer my handicap – so you’re one up on me! 🙂

    Reply

  11. 1cardcreator
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 14:50:49

    Both of these are beautiful and I love when you cross over to the colorful side, lol. ~Diane

    Reply

  12. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 16:00:13

    Your ladies look yummy and colorful dear Lynne!
    oxo

    Reply

  13. Anne R
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 16:44:48

    I have to contradict you Lynne, they do look like they were made by you because you always create exquisite backgrounds, the only difference here is that you have used some wonderful colours rather than your lovely neutrals. Both ladies are beautiful, your colouring of them is superb. I love it when you create out of your comfort zone! Anne xx

    Reply

  14. Ira
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 18:54:58

    Love love your fruity ladies dear Lynne, you did a fabulous job colouring them, they look so vivid and alive and it’s wonderful to seeing you using so much colour in your creations! Just fabulous!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  15. Terry
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 21:00:25

    Flowers in your hair or fruit is all good! Love your fruitful ladies, Lynne! Love the backgrounds your created, so much yummy goodness. Hugs!

    Reply

  16. barnie
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 22:51:59

    Two fantastic pieces, but very unsual for you. I especially adore the strawberry lady.

    Reply

  17. michellezerull
    Aug 08, 2014 @ 01:28:46

    Beautiful work, Lynne! Wonderful colors.

    Reply

  18. Sue F
    Aug 08, 2014 @ 13:47:56

    Lovely cards. The images are quirky and different to your usual choice. The backgrounds you have created match the theme perfectly.

    Reply

  19. Dorthe
    Aug 08, 2014 @ 16:40:01

    Dear Lynne, I love how you made your backgrounds so wonderfully matching the single lady,- especially love how you made the strawberry lady`s background look like the sweetest strawberry compot with cream,- it is beautiful,- and wonderful also with the fabric incluted in both cards.. You truly experienced capacity (can I say that ?) with lots of colours, and painted them so wonderfully !!
    Hug from Dorthe, to my lovely friend.

    Reply

  20. Gerrie
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 00:04:17

    I just love your use of color! Talk about fun. Great background techs too. Xx

    Reply

  21. michele s
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 06:03:35

    these stamps are amazing! you’ve worked with them to create such beauties love it. xo

    Reply

  22. Samantha Read
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 10:02:28

    Great fun 🙂
    Wishing you a lovely weekend.

    Reply

  23. may
    Aug 09, 2014 @ 20:45:02

    Fabulous work Lynn, Love the colours… WOW…Hugs May x x

    Reply

  24. gio
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 11:02:40

    These are both brilliant! Love the little texture you added and of course the bright colours!

    Happy Sunday!

    Reply

  25. froebelsternchen
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 19:33:10

    So lovely are those all!

    Reply

  26. coco
    Aug 10, 2014 @ 21:32:41

    Oh Lynne… I adore this, your first play with bright colours on these stunning stamps is just totally AWESOME! I haven’t read and left a comment yet on Darkroom Door blog, but I’m already sure of the great feedback and lovely comments both cards have certainly received. For me it’s a huge YES, that’s very beautiful!!! And what a gorgeous texture you have also added on these flat cards, wonderful work. Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  27. Dianne
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 00:13:13

    I too think this is you, when you do color you do it with such elegance and beauty, those stamps aren’t my style but I love what you have done with them, you my dear can make anything into a beautiful creation, thanks for sharing…

    Reply

  28. Danie May
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 02:12:08

    Lynn your immersion with color for these cards is just gorgeous!

    Reply

  29. MarieS.
    Aug 11, 2014 @ 11:56:35

    Just fabulous, dear Lynne. Have a wonderful start of the week.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  30. butterfly
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 17:07:42

    Another delicious (sorry, with all that fruity goodness, I had to!) excursion into colour. Love those shabby distressed backgrounds.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  31. Rachel Greig
    Aug 26, 2014 @ 04:16:52

    Stunning!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

