Butterfly Mornings When Secrets Are Shared

Hello Everyone
In this post I would like to share a Crafty Individuals team sample where I have used one of their new stamp releases
CI-419 Lovely Day designed by Gio and dipped into an Elements set from the previous release of stamps, CI-410.
I set about working on this sample immediately after this journal page HERE.
For this journal page two words were in my thoughts, dreamy and texture with the sentiment, butterfly mornings (from CI-410), creating a springboard of an idea in my head
 as though the girl has woken in the early hours of the morning, taking a stroll through a nearby glade where the morning mist swirls around her as butterflies alight in her hair and whisper their secrets to her
journalpagelynneAlthough this page was most definitely random, I did take the time to plan where the stamped elements would be, purely for the reason that I wanted to ensure those areas where relatively free of texture.  Beyond that initial planning it was all about laying down texture and various paints. This was fun because I looked around at the paints I have and dipped into this and that whether they were chalk or satin paints, whether they were caran d’ache or Gelatos (black) and also Twinkling H20s.detailoneSo let me share with you details of the page.
That piece of embossed floral is a fragment of wallpaper sent from Darlene.  I only use a smidgen of it as it is amongst my treasured stash.  When paint is added to it the flowers are beautifully enhanced.fourThis is another piece.  Initially both were painted to blend with the background until I decided to apply a beautiful Caran d’ache NeoColor II crayon, Phthalocyanine Green before adding highlights from a black Gelato.
This page really did transform as I worked on it.  Initially the colours were quite bold, now remember that my use of the words “quite bold” regarding colour isn’t necessarily the same as your interpretation, remember I come from a world of timeworn pink, sepia, cream and winter white!  Patches of yellow and lilac are some of the colours which remained peeking through the layers, they were actually amongst the colours first laid down, that was until I continued building up layers of paint, Gesso and allowing the paints to blend together, running down the page.six
Lace, muslin and gauze were some of the other textures applied to the page.eightLet’s now shift the focus onto the stamped elements, with Gio’s woman taking centre stage.
It was a great leap recently when I did just that for the Darkroom Door Line Art stamps but for me, although it is something I greatly admire when I view artwork by others, I prefer to not to.  It would have been tempting to paint the butterflies in her hair and the butterflies around her but I liked the effect of seeing the background colours shine through.  After stamping I applied a wash of Gesso, to enhance the dreamy effect.twoThe sentiment above is also from Gio’s set.  In the past I tended to simply stamp a sentiment as it came but at the moment I am trying to not always go with my norm,  so I arranged it differently and with a Stabilo pencil I quickly drew a box around each word.sevenThank You so much for your visit to this scheduled post and many, many thanks for not only your visits and comments for previous posts but also the encouragement I am taking from your comments regarding my use of colour.  For me, dipping my big toe into colour is rather alien but I wanted this to be a year where I would dabble a bit more, working in an art journal, using colour, etc.  In part it was sparked by DT stamps.  Being part of Crafty Individuals team is a dream and I class myself as so lucky but in all honesty and I am sure it doesn’t come as a surprise to learn that I was struggling with the Alice Palace designs.  I would see other stampers create (such as Coco) and they made it look so effortless to ink up the designs but for me, no matter how I tried, they were not fitting into my shabby chic/vintage style.  Since shifting my attitude towards those stamps I realise that all I needed to do was sit back and have FUN and that it is okay to dabble outwith the shabby/vintage style.  I was setting too many constraints upon myself.  There is no doubt my heart will always be a shabby one but I feel as though I missed out on inking up other stamps just because they did not fit into that particular box.
This all might be short-lived, who knows but your feedback, whether positive or negative, does help me because there are many samples at the moment which I look at and I don’t see anything of me in it, that is a little bit disconcerting.  As I said to the lovely Renee, I need to stop over-thinking! LOL. As much as stamping is a passion for me and I know you all relate to those words, I do wonder if I lost the fun of it along the way.  I do have a fun project which I will be sharing very soon, not for Crafty Individuals but for Redlead.
A short word before I leave to remind you that the Crafty Individuals Autumn Fashion challenge is underway.  All details can be found HERE.
Wishes
Lynne
P.S. I will soon be sharing a Giveaway soon.  It would be lovely if you wanted to be part of it.

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valerie-Jael
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 17:13:24

    Gorgeous work, love the texture and the soft colours. Thanks for the mail, will reply soon! Valerie

    Reply

  2. Ira
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 17:44:58

    The details of your fabulous creation are amazing dear Lynne! As are the fine, dreamy colours. Your pieces always have a story to tell, love it!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  3. Julie Lee
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 19:01:38

    This is such a sincere and lovely post. I love the way you’ve used both texture and colour and the stamping is beautiful. I like to re-construct sentiments whenever I can. Something I want to do more is to create ‘found poetry’ by mixing up different words from different sentiment sets too! I really like the way you’ve used gauze and lace – another experiment I’ve been meaning to try. I think you’ve been really brave and open about the whole journey you’re taking with colour and your results have been fantastic – really exciting! Thank you so much for sharing your gorgeous, imaginative work with us! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  4. Paper Profusion
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 19:06:49

    These recent stamps would be very outwit my comfort zone too Lynne – very well done for taking the plunge and making lovely creations with them. Your use of an interpretation of colour is fantastic. Nicola x

    Reply

  5. Jani Howe
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 19:28:48

    Thank you so much for sharing little tips with us. It is very often the ‘little tips’ that help us artists so very much!

    Reply

  6. barnie
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 20:23:29

    That’s a gorgeous background, fabulous texture.

    Reply

  7. Meggymay
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 21:09:03

    A real beautiful texture background Lynne, love how you used the stamps and colours.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  8. Fliss
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 21:14:37

    Absolutely gorgeous Lynne. Love the stamp and beautiful colours.
    Hugs, Fliss xx

    Reply

  9. Anne R
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 21:39:19

    Lynne, your work is always gorgeous, be it shabby vintage or subtle colours and it is always totally recognisable as your style. You have been on an amazing journey with this new style and I think you are so right to just enjoy what you are doing,, whatever style you happen to be working with. I love this piece today, it is beautiful and a little whimsical too – wonderful work! Anne xx

    Reply

  10. hettiecraft
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 22:12:07

    This is gorgeous Lynne. I love the story behind it.
    xx

    Reply

  11. astrid51
    Aug 12, 2014 @ 23:18:07

    Amazing textures on this page Lynne, I love this exploration into a new style, interesting stamp too and lovely colour combinations!

    Reply

  12. Sharon
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 01:40:34

    Beautiful colours – great texture & love the images!

    Reply

  13. Dorthe
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 10:03:19

    Dear Lynne, ,your telling about feeling like a kind of a stranger , when using some special colours and stamps, touched me so much, as I also tend to work only with what comes easy to me, and what I have “desited” to love.. It is wonderful you now ,,after trying and doing feel joy and fun in your new way of creating, and this piece today, prooves you`r ability to also work with stronger colours and get a stunning result. How beautiful is that beckground you created here, with all the colours ,the laces and lovely papers.And I love that you did not paint the stamps, but let the background shine through and make both butterflies and the face come to life like that! So beautiful, dear friend.
    Hug and smile from Dorthe

    Reply

  14. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 13:12:05

    Spreading your butterfly wings into new territory dear Lynne is a real delight.
    Your soft colors and lovely textures are beautiful.
    oxo

    Reply

  15. Diane
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 15:29:09

    This is beautiful Lynne, love the ever so delicate embossing paste in the background too. ~Diane

    Reply

  16. Terry
    Aug 13, 2014 @ 16:39:46

    So pretty is this canvas Lynne. I love the embossing and that lovely focal image with those soft colors. Hugs!

    Reply

  17. Dianne
    Aug 14, 2014 @ 12:30:13

    NAMASTE to you Miss Lynne, it is a PLEASURE to witness this fantastic journey with you, I can see and feel you in all of this, what a pairing you and Miss Gio, her wonderful stamps and your amazing designing skills go together, like toffee and pudding, Yummy and Dreamy, just having fun is what it all about, thanks for sharing your journey with us it is an honor, and a pleasure, your inspirations makes my wings soar…. Hope you have a lovely weekend, ((( HUGE HUGS )))..

    Reply

  18. Samantha Read
    Aug 14, 2014 @ 22:01:49

    This is so very beautiful Lynne, gorgeous layering and details and more pink 🙂
    xx

    Reply

  19. Shelly Schmidt
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 02:11:23

    Wonderfully done- love to see you venture out! Your style- regardless of project- is awesome in my opinion : ) Loving the texture in the background- and the image is delightful!

    Reply

  20. michele s
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 03:15:56

    i love your artistic explorations. you must continue. at your root you are a gifted artist. finding your voice and way in the different methods and techniques is just a matter of time and play. keep it coming dear, you are the best. xo

    Reply

  21. Martina
    Aug 15, 2014 @ 12:15:59

    Hello my dear Lynne, finally today I found time to visit my favorite blogs again.
    I hope you are well?

    Your new creations are excellent. I’m totally in love with your new Crafty and Darkroom stamps. Just beautiful!
    Sending hugs and kisses to you
    MARTINA 🙂

    Reply

  22. gio
    Aug 16, 2014 @ 08:13:36

    Thank you again for another wonderful sample, Lynne. You are a Master at Vintage/Sahbby style but you never failed to amaze me on other styles or with ‘bold’ colours ( not bold as in my world but I got your point :-)). Maybe you know I refused some Alice stamps ( regetting now) but I just felt, at that moment, that are not my style, and I have stamps at home never inked. Sometimes I just decide not to do ‘outofmycomfortzone’, that’s it . Sometimes I like to be challenged. So, don’t force you into labels, just have fun and carry on with your experiments!

    Reply

  23. craftytrog
    Aug 16, 2014 @ 19:46:22

    Wonderful textures & splatters of colour, this is a glorious page Lynne! I love the idea of using textured wallpaper too, I must try that!
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  24. butterfly
    Aug 17, 2014 @ 16:44:46

    Such delicate spring time colours – like Alison, I love the idea of the textured wallpaper as a substrate.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  25. marjiekemper
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 16:25:42

    Lynne, it’s wonderful to see you exploring and playing with color. I know what you mean about a certain look and it’s hard sometimes to push outside that comfort zone, but it’s so freeing once you get your mind to that ‘play’ stage – have at it!

    Reply

  26. coco
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 21:57:17

    Hi Lynne, it seems that I have already a lot of catch-up to do on your blog ooh, sorry!… I’m coming late on this blog post, but It is never too late I think to tell you that I love the texture and all the treasured pieces you have introduced and combined so beautifully on this canvas. It’s gorgeous! Gio and Jean can be proud of you!!! Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

