From The Pages Of A Book

Hello Everyone
When I received the beautiful Waiting for Mr Darcy stamp set from Oxford Impressions, once I stopped oohing and aahing over the stamps, I knew I would be using some of the stamps for a birthday card for my lovely friend Ira who has a love for Jane Austen.
The card was the first I made with the stamps so the card I shared with you HERE, was actually the second card made, as you can see, they both share the same colour palette and style.
onelynnemoncrieffI used a cold press watercolour paper and because of the texture not only from the actual paper but with the addition of the pattern paper, book text, Gesso and also the paint which was applied in such a random fashion as to create texture, I knew that if I stamped directly onto the panel I would most likely lose the beautiful detail of the stamp so I opted to stamp onto tissue paper.
twoPatches of stamping in the form of the damask stamp from French Script stamp set, a stamp which is rarely stored away because I use it so much.  I used the stamp merely to break up the background and also to bring cohesion to the card.threeThe feather and ink well are two individual stamps on the set but I decided to combine them.  The actual reason was because I didn’t allow for space!  I was sure I had made enough allowance and happily adhered the woman and text only to realise I had no room left!fourThank You for visiting this scheduled post. It is possible that at the time of this post going live that I have continued to be very quiet regarding my visits to your own Blogs but please know that as soon as I can, I will catch-up with you.
Wishes
Lynne

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hettiecraft
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 22:46:56

    What beautiful stamps Lynne and you have created a beautiful card for your friend too. Thank you for the Mr Darcy thought too!
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  2. Julie Lee
    Sep 09, 2014 @ 22:55:57

    What a lovely card to receive! I love the colour palette you have used and the various textures! I can just imagine the characters from Pride and Prejudice inhabiting an interior such as you suggest with your colour choices and delicate background. Julie Ann xx

    Reply

  3. Jesse Rowan
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 00:01:24

    That’s absolutely gorgeous!

    Reply

  4. Terry
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 04:24:06

    Oh so delicate and feminine, Lynne! Lovely as always! I think many of us have been a little blog quiet these days! Hope all is well! Hugs!

    Reply

  5. Rita
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 06:21:45

    Your card is so beautiful Lynne. Thank you for sharing how it was done. Hope your feeling better. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  6. Valerie-Jael
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 06:57:26

    Wonderful card Lynne! Valerie

    Reply

  7. Meggymay
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 08:59:58

    A gorgeous card.. I loved the reading Jane Austen books.
    Yvonne

    Reply

  8. Anne R
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 09:59:12

    This is so beautiful Lynne, it has such a romantic quality and I love the text just peeking through. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  9. Debbie Kaste
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 14:51:43

    Lovely card, Lynne. You always do such delicate and beautiful artwork. Have a great evening!
    Debbiek x

    Reply

  10. Ira
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 15:34:41

    You can’t believe the oohs and aahs I uttered upon opening your envelope dear Lynne, I am loving your beautiful card so much, as I do the utterly gorgeous pendant you made me as well. I feel totally spoilt, but I have to admit that I’m thoroughly enjoying what you made for me, you’re such a fine artist and and even dearer friend. Thanks again for everything, for making my birthday so special.
    Love, Ira x

    Reply

  11. Corrie
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 15:38:53

    Lovely feminine and delicate card, Lynne. I am sure your friend loved it ! Oh, I just saw her comment above mine, she did love it! Doesn’t surprise me !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  12. Dorthe
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 15:55:08

    How very lovely, and so totally Jane Austen is your beautiful card..
    The colours are wonderful in their softest tones, ,I love the flowers and ribbon in soft blue, dear Lynne, – the background is elegant and suits this periode very well…and the stamps are all so lovely.
    Warm thoughts your way, dear friend.
    Dorthe, xxxxx.

    Reply

  13. Rosie
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 18:43:02

    Soooo beautiful and elegant, Lynne

    Reply

  14. Jenny Marples (Buttons)
    Sep 10, 2014 @ 21:57:36

    One of my favourite books – you’ve captured the romance of it all wonderfully here Lynne. Jenny x

    Reply

  15. The Scrap Yard
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 02:07:03

    Gorgeous! I love these stamps…Jane Austin is a favorite of mine!
    Kate

    Reply

  16. Astrid
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 09:13:28

    Wonderful piece with those stunning stamps Lynne, just perfect for capturing the mood of the book!! Like you I have been so busy with other things, have not managed to be around much, sorry

    Reply

  17. Hazel
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 15:53:47

    This is so Lovely Lynne.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  18. coco
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 22:03:14

    I love your aahing and oohing expressions haha dear Lynne, I will keep them in mind, they are so realistic of what happens when we receive new fab stamps, aren’t they?.. 🙂 But more than that I love your card! Great stamping on tissue paper, perfect here indeed to not waste all the beautiful details. Did you see that Craft Stamper Magazine challenge is on ‘Tissue Paper’ this month?… Maybe you would be happy to enter it. (I think you should!). Coco xxx

    Reply

  19. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 22:06:57

    SO beautiful dear Lynne…the luscious soft colors and wonderfully detailed stamp…all just perfectly lovely ♥
    oxo

    Reply

  20. Samantha Read
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:47:12

    I love those beautiful, delicate colours together 🙂

    Reply

  21. Dianne
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:22:17

    You know Miss Lynne I think sometimes those stamps were made just for you, you showcase the so perfectly it truly amazing, it’s perfect what else can I say but I loooooove your creations, they inspire me soooooo much, I want to be like you when I grow up :O)… Thanks for sharing..

    Reply

  22. craftytrog
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 19:45:11

    Beautiful art Lynne, I love those images! xxx

    Reply

  23. 1cardcreator
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 20:12:01

    This is gorgeous, I can see why you were oohing and ahhing, I am too! ~Diane

    Reply

  24. Marianne
    Sep 15, 2014 @ 14:46:57

    So lovely! I like the way the overlaid tissue looks like peeling wallpaper…very effective. The card has a nice old-world-y look.

    blessings,
    Mairanne

    Reply

  25. Sharon
    Sep 20, 2014 @ 00:32:16

    Beautiful and perfect for the “era”!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

