Morning Dew With Promises Of Blue Skies

Hello Everyone
I have another Guest Designer sample to share with you for Redlead Paperworks.
Not sure what I would label this as because it isn’t a card, it isn’t on canvas and it isn’t in my art journal.  It is a panel of watercolour paper, so I will say an art journal page.
The lovely stencil I was lucky enough to receive to play with is Summer Floral Stems.  The good news, this stencil is the Redlead  Stencil of the Week, on offer for a special price and can be found HERE)
flowerstemslynnemoncrieffThe notion of those early summer mornings, or even in Springtime, when there is a beautiful mist, touches of morning dew on the grass and on the petals of flowers and you know there is the promise of blue skies later in the day.
Morning Dew.  You might have thought I had an accident but no, rightly or wrongly (!) this was intentional.  I wanted the stencilled flower stems on this side to have a slightly diffused appearance so I simply held my breath and applied water, allowing the paint and pen ink to smudge.  I did have paper towel to hand to stop it from bleeding too much.
fourJournalling is not something I am comfortable with as I am uncomfortable at the thought of anyone reading personal thoughts and musings. During a chat with the incredibly talented Renee she suggested I try loopy handwriting and how it is okay to obscure the writing.   Her words were in my mind as I worked on this page as I had not planned on including any journalling but the more I looked at the flower stems, they looked the perfect place to journal.  Before when I have included journalling (on the few AJ pages I have worked on) the writing was almost the first layer so it was then obscured with paints, etc.
I naturally have never small handwriting, although it has increased in size over the years – deliberately.  I actually had a lecturer who took me aside to say I had the neatest of handwriting however, if I did not try to write larger then there was the likelihood that when it came to exam marking, the marker would penalise me for my handwriting!
I am not completely satisfied as I imagine the writing should be larger and I wanted it to be loopier (strange in a way as my regular handwriting is quite loopy) but I intend to work at this until I can adopt a handwriting style which I would be happy with for journalling purposes, I want it to be more of a scrawl.
twoPatches of colour peek through from lilac to blue and from soft pink to a more candy pink.
Scattered on the page is stamping in the form of labels.  All those labels and there are even more, are from the Little Labels Morning Dew set.threeThe fabric patterns still peek through although the colours were muted with the applications of paint which I was happy with. 7Thank You so much for visiting this scheduled post.
Have a lovely weekend whatever your plans may be.
Wishes
Lynne

26 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hettiecraft
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 23:03:36

    This is so pretty Lynne. I know what you mean about journalling. I like the idea of doing it but not so much in sharing my thoughts online! Then there is finding time to do it.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  2. Tracy Evans
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 23:06:37

    Lovely Lynne, lovely background and I love the flower stems. Tracy x

    Reply

  3. 3renee
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 23:14:17

    I love the background, those colors are stunning. Your handwriting is wonderful, thanks for sharing it with us! Hugs ~ Renee xx

    Reply

  4. Suzy
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 00:02:26

    Hello dear Lynne,
    How are you dear friend? So long it seems since I was here but still in my thoughts
    you stay! Love here the poppy seed heads and flower stamped over the delicate feel of the textured page. Your artwork always inspires me.
    With love and hugs,
    Suzy

    Reply

  5. Shari T.
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 00:48:19

    This is gorgeous, Lynne!! The colors you’ve used for your background are so pretty–fit for a sunrise or sunset 🙂 We are enjoying the morning dew of Autumn and relishing the last remaining blue skies and sunny days of Summer–you could have made this art journal page for my part of the world 🙂 Love your journaling on the stems, Lynne! It’s so subtle and mysterious, almost like a wisp of morning mist that wrapped itself in words around the stems! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  6. Rita
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 01:06:16

    What a beautiful panel Lynne. It looks quite vintage in its own sweet way. I love your beautiful writing on the stems too. I have two journals with nothing in them, mainly because I have no idea where to begin. Thank you so much for the lovely comments left regarding my fabric book. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  7. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 08:23:12

    I love how your handwriting hugs the flower stems – and it is so neat it could be a stamp. Fabulous!

    Reply

  8. Anne R
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 08:28:32

    I love the journaling on the stems and I love the fact that it cannot be read, it makes it very mysterious. The flower stems are beautiful too, surrounded by a subtle and wonderful background. I love this piece Lynne. Anne xx

    Reply

  9. Annie G
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 08:44:57

    Gorgeous journal page Lynne. Love the background and those beautiful flowers. Your writing is perfect on the stems. TFS and hugs
    Annie x

    Reply

  10. Julie Lee
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 09:39:01

    I know just what you mean about the journalling, Lynne. For similar reasons to you I tend to put off making entries in journals. I am still trying to get the hand-writing as I would like it too – it’s quite an art, it seems to me! This page, though, is gorgeous. I love the stamps, the colours and that writing! I am so longing to purchase some Red Lead stamps: they’re great and you use them so effectively. Julie Ann xx

    Reply

  11. Godelieve
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 10:56:16

    It is always great to see how you work with textures. A wonderful page!

    Reply

  12. Meggymay
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:32:14

    Beautiful piece Lynne, the textures look lovely.
    Yvonne

    Reply

  13. Samantha Read
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 12:52:27

    Beautiful and pretty Lynne, a great combination 🙂
    Big hugs from Poppy and me xx

    Reply

  14. Dorthe
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 16:45:48

    Dear Lynne , your handwriting is very beautiful, I know! and also here, with the loopy way of writing, it looks wonderful. The watered effect is just adding to the exitement about what was written and is a great idea, to use for washing out a bit .
    The colours in the background also reflects the mornings with the sun just risen, and giving everything such lovely tones, such a beautiful piece my friend.Love the little splasches, too.
    Sending you wishes for a good weekend, dear friend.
    Hug and smiles.
    Dorthe xxxx

    Reply

  15. Suze Bain
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 19:02:27

    This is lovely Lynne and I didn’t even notice the handwriting until the zoomed in picture and I can’t read it anyway – so you’re secrets are safe with me! xx

    Reply

  16. Brenda Brown
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 07:53:08

    Such a beautiful design Lynne, I love the striking images on such a gorgeous muted mix of colours.
    Have a great weekend.
    hugs Brenda xxx

    Reply

  17. Dianne
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:14:07

    Hello Miss Lynne this is just simply elegant, and sooooooo beautiful, love the slightly diffused look, and the handwriting along the stems, just brilliant, I do love your nature scenes, thanks for sharing this wonderful effect..

    Reply

  18. Dianne
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:24:53

    All caught up Miss Designer Extraordinaire, inspiration over load, I love it, thanks hope you have a wonderful weekend, ((( BIG HUGS)))

    Reply

  19. Ira
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 16:27:38

    The combination of fabric, textures, colours and stamps is amazing Lynne, your lovely handwriting along the stems make your creation look even more special!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  20. craftytrog
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 16:55:10

    Wonderful textures & colours Lynne!
    If I journal on my pages, I tend to scrawl. I think the more you do it, the more comfortable you get with adding handwriting to your art.
    Happy journalling!
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  21. trisha too
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 17:42:33

    Very delicate and pretty, it showcases the flowers perfectly! Have a wonderful weekend, my bloggy friend! 🙂

    Reply

  22. 1cardcreator
    Sep 13, 2014 @ 19:28:54

    This is beautiful and so is your penmanship. Now kids don’t learn how to write in cursive like they did back in the day, it is becoming a lost art in its own, lol. ~Diane

    Reply

  23. Marjie Kemper
    Sep 16, 2014 @ 19:34:50

    Beautiful! I took classes over the weekend with Dina Wakley and she has us journal up the lines like this as well. Very freeing!

    Reply

  24. michele s
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 04:17:52

    a gorgeous art journal page! xo

    Reply

  25. coco
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 21:30:29

    Neither a card, a canvas, nor an Art journal page though it could be.. 🙂 but jut a wonderful new panel Lynne, full of poesy and delicatessen. and your hand writing is great!!! Good night, hugs Coco xxx

    Reply

  26. Sharon
    Sep 20, 2014 @ 00:32:56

    This is sweet – love the silhouette flowers! gorgeous colour too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

