A Tale Of The Wise Owl and Mr Robin (Crafty Individuals Challenge)

Hello Everyone
The new challenge theme has been announced on the Crafty Individuals blog.
Gio is in charge of this Challenge and has chosen the theme Halloween make or a Christmas make.
To enter this month’s Crafty Individuals Challenge please put together your chosen project, which must include at least one Crafty Individuals product please.  At the end of the month Gio will choose  five lucky participants, each of whom will win a CI rubber stamp of their choice, and don’t forget that as per usual, once you have linked in your creation over at the Crafty Individuals blog, you can also claim a lovely 25% discount code to use on anything you purchase from the CI Website, which will be valid until the 10th of November.
The two samples I have made (so far) are for the Christmas Frenzy element of the challenge.
I decided to take a deep breath and create two Christmas cards using the Alice Palace designs.  I will hold my hands up and declare with complete honesty that I don’t think either cards look as though I made them but in a strange way it was fun to be bold! Although I am much more comfortable with winter white and lace for my Christmas cards!robincardlynneThe second card.wiseowllynnemoncrieffInitially I only planned on pattern only in the form of the fabrics but after I had applied paint and Gesso I realised that some other pattern was required so I randomly stamped the Crafty Individuals star with Distress Ink Fired Brick.
This might sound rather strange but I wanted an appearance as though looking through ice or a frost window.  After I stamped the stars I applied the owl and text (which I stamped onto tissue paper) with a generous application of Gel Medium instead of my usual more cautious approach.  detailoneThis photograph gives you an idea of the sparkle around the edges of the card and I also used a Sakura stardust pen to highlight some of the letters and also the wings.detailtwoSo there we have it, my two small samples for the challenge.
If you would like to join the fun then please visit the Crafty Individuals blog for full instructions on entering your artwork.
Wishes
Lynne

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 2amscrapper2
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 00:04:48

    both of these have such interesting texture and layering, but I’m partial to the bird image in the first one.

    Reply

  2. Dianne
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 00:15:26

    I adore these Christmas Bird cards, what could be more perfect for it, that might be the Magpie in my but I think they are PERFECT, I love the colors, and your bits of textiles, make lovely texture, thanks for sharing them, hope you have a wonderful week, ((( BIG HUGS )))..

    Reply

  3. Rosie
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 05:02:22

    Wonderful Christmas cards Lynne

    Reply

  4. Valerie-Jael
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 06:59:36

    Lovely work, your owl is gorgeous! Valerie

    Reply

  5. may
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 09:56:10

    Gorgeous Christmas card Lynne, I love this stamp…Beautiful texture & layers…

    Reply

  6. Julie Lee
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 11:56:53

    I love these cards, Lynne. I always put off making cards until the last minute because, for some reason, I’ve not enjoyed making Christmas cards for the last two years. Sometimes I find the obvious Christmas images a bit samey. These are so lovely and original, though. I love the use of fabrics. You have inspired me to at least think about making some Christmas cards. Thank you for the inspiration! Julie Ann xxx

    Reply

  7. Dorthe
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 17:50:46

    Hello dear Lynne,
    So sweet and funny new style christmas cards .
    The birds are wonderful stamps, for your winter cards, and the frosted feeling is great , also the beautiful shimmer adds to that feeling .I love the stars and falling snow, even on the one card, it only snows on the ribbons , lol.
    I send you loving greetings.
    Dorthe,xx

    Reply

  8. Corrie
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 18:19:26

    I love these non traditional Christmas cards ! They are gorgeous !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  9. Ira
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 19:19:34

    These are both beautiful dear Lynne, love those crowned owls and how you used them on your cards, great shabby chic feel!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  10. Anne R
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 20:43:39

    The bird stamps are wonderful and I love both your makes, they are beautiful. Anne xx

    Reply

  11. 1cardcreator
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 22:03:44

    What fun these are, not your usual fare, but a great step away, they look lovely. ~Diane

    Reply

  12. Meggymay
    Oct 02, 2014 @ 22:44:50

    two beautiful Christmas pieces, love the owls image.
    Yvonne

    Reply

  13. craftytrog
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 05:21:28

    They’re both wonderful Lynne, I love the backgrounds & added sparkle! xxx

    Reply

  14. Hazel
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 10:05:38

    Both cards are beautiful Lynne.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  15. Shari T.
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 16:22:05

    Lynne-Both of these cards are Wonderful! I love the blue backgrounds with the pinky stars randomly stamped–So happy and fun!! The bird and owl images are just too darn cute! I love their little crowns and Mr. Owl’s bow tie–Darling!! Fabulously happy Christmas cards and OH–can’t forget about the sparkly around the edges–Wonderful!! Two great cards for CI, Lynne!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  16. trisha too
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 17:54:51

    Fun frosty effect, and I love the alpha stamps paired with the whimsical birds. Wonderful cards, Lynne! 🙂

    Reply

  17. trisha too
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 17:57:06

    (Okay, you know, I totally agree with you, they really don’t look like you made them, but it’s always good to try a little something different, right?)

    Reply

  18. barnie
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 19:27:51

    Two great creations – especially love the first one.

    Reply

  19. Samantha Read
    Oct 03, 2014 @ 21:49:20

    Love! Love! Love!

    Reply

  20. Sharon
    Oct 05, 2014 @ 07:03:42

    LOL too cute!! Love these!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

