Let’s Sit Quietly And Read

Hello Everyone
New Darkroom Door releases is always fun especially knowing that one set featured books, the Bookworm stamp set.
It is no secret that I love books.  My Mum and I are the readers in the family with my sister and Dad being the sporty ones.  When I was a child, at that time, the local Library was housed in an imposing building with countless steps to climb before entering the inner sanctum of the Library itself.  It was my Mum who would take me to the Library where she would select her books for borrowing and then we would head to the Children’s Library which had its own room.  This was a time when there were signs stating “No Talking” and you know that those words were not to be fooled with!  When I think of books it brings a flood of warm feelings to me.
When a book touches me I am happy to re-read it and I have, some would say, far too many books stored in the loft.  In recent years the book which touched me the most and actually saw me sobbing (very much in contrast to my character) is “The Book Thief”.  However I am not here to chat about books, I am here to share with you my DT sample for Darkroom Door which is an altered papier mache book.
(This will also appear over on the Darkroom Door Blog so I will only share the stamps used and a brief outline of the instructions. )
one.1An aged appearance to the book was called for with me wanting to bring a feeling of worn gilding on a book’s cover. To achieve this I used the wonderful Damask Texture Stamp.
Opening the cover reveals a sentiment and a stack of books.
two.1It is barely visible but around the edges of the left panel is another of the new stamps, the Torn Text Background stamp.three.1To the right the recess is deeper so I formed a stack of vintage book pages, tearing to fit into the recess,  with the Darkroom Door books stamped onto the top page.
You can see in this photograph that I really did man handle the papier mache book to give an aged, distressed appearance, including cracking the spine.four.1The Darkroom Door blog is continually being up-dated with many samples featuring the new stamps on display. This DT sample is my first featuring one of the new stamps but soon I will be sharing some more samples featuring other recently released stamps.
Thank You for your visit to this blog post, always much appreciated.
Wishes
Lynne

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 2amscrapper2
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 14:29:07

    Not sure how this is even possible, but you have outdone yourself! What an amazingly gorgeous project!

    Reply

  2. Meggymay
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 14:48:45

    Gorgeous piece Lynne, the new stamps look fantastic. I have to admit to hoarding books as well and read whenever I can.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  3. craftytrog
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 14:52:25

    Looks wonderfully aged Lynne! I’m an avid reader myself, currently working my way through the 7 Game of Thrones books 🙂

    Reply

  4. Emma (The Sparkly Fairy)
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 15:03:09

    Ooh what a fabulous piece. You can’t beat a good book 🙂

    Reply

  5. Marianne
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 15:28:25

    Wonderful, and I especially like the quote inside!

    Best wishes,
    Marianne xo

    Reply

  6. Dianne
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 16:27:39

    Hello Miss Lynne I see you have been in the attic working your magic again :), I too love to read,in my childhood books to me to another world, being my real world wasn’t great, they made my growing up wonderful living in imagination. I still make a trip to the library every 3 weeks to get new books, I’m going to get the The Book Thief on hold, I digress. Back to your old gorgeous book, this creation I would really love to hold it in my hands and feel it. The cover with a glorious golden gilding all worn shesh I looove it, the inside is perfect, I have actually said that to myself a few times, the worn pages on the other side it’s just perfect. Okay Miss Lynne I’m all inspired up, ready to fly over to my nest thanks my dear, can’t wait for your next creation. Hope you have a lovely weekend, (((( HUGE HUGS ))))

    Reply

  7. Dianne
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 16:28:39

    Sorry for the book long comment :)…

    Reply

  8. Dorthe
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 16:43:44

    Dearest Lynne, what a most beautiful old and worn out book you have created. The covers in gilded beauty are stunning and the inside so wonderfully altered to look perfectly ,as if it has been in someones loving hands for ages !! I love the look from cracking the spine, and those torn pages , you have so inspired me again, dear friend.
    Thank you also for sharing a little lovely private memory ,I can relate to that much reading child you was ,- as I did that too.
    I hope you are cozy inside, believing your weather is now also colder, but hopefully not as cold as here !!
    Warm hug from Dorthe-xx

    Reply

  9. lucy Edmondson
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 18:16:43

    What a wonderful effect you have achieved dear Lynne,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  10. Valerie-Jael
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 18:33:32

    Love what you have made lynne. The book thief is really a very moving book, and one of my faves. Valerie

    Reply

  11. Gigi Harlan
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 18:43:48

    I love the book you made, really cool! The quote you used is so true, lol!

    Reply

  12. Julie Lee
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 18:54:30

    What a great quote! There’s another stamp you’ve tempted me with, Lynne! I love books in so many ways and our home is bursting with them. I really love altered book projects and this one is right up my street! I would love to be able to see your work and to touch the lovely textures too. Once again, you have created so much beauty. Thank you. xxx

    Reply

  13. Anne R
    Oct 25, 2014 @ 22:07:48

    Worn gilding is exactly the look you have achieved! Wow Lynne, the cover is stunning. That sentiment is pretty amazing and how true too! It really did make me smile and so did your lovely memory. I love the image of the books too. This looks like a wonderful set of stamps and I love what you have done with them. Anne xx

    Reply

  14. Ira
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 15:37:16

    Gorgeous gorgeous!!!!!! I am an ardent reader myself and so it goes without saying that I absolutely LOVE how you altered your book, it’s stunning!!!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  15. nefertiti
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 17:12:29

    Fantastic work Lynne!!!!!! bizz

    Reply

  16. coco
    Oct 26, 2014 @ 21:49:08

    I can read and see all at last, and that’s very good as I love your story about the books you love and all your feelings during your childhood.. Thanks for sharing your personal feelings Lynne.
    And about this book… WOW, what else could I say?? You have made a “true” old book that really looks like a treasure, I love it!! The finishing is perfect, as well as all the old book pages inside… That’s just an awesome project!!!
    However it’s not yet on Darkmoor’s blog.. I will try to check from time to time, to even better admire all the details and learn how you did it. 🙂 Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  17. Sharon
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 04:03:23

    This is amazing – love the gold and all the texture!

    Reply

  18. Corrie
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 13:41:47

    This is wonderful, Lynne ! I love the gilding on the cover and that quote is so very true ! Corrie x

    Reply

  19. marjiekemper
    Oct 27, 2014 @ 18:22:09

    Love it! The rough innards are so appealing, and the covers look divine. All the more special as it brings up such warm memories for you of your mum.

    Reply

  20. 1cardcreator
    Oct 28, 2014 @ 13:06:49

    Wow Lynne, you have truly created a masterpiece here. I love the book it looks so realistic, what a great job of making it look so authentic! Big hugs, ~Diane

    Reply

  21. Jenny Marples (Buttons)
    Nov 01, 2014 @ 12:34:10

    I’m instantly transported to an Edwardian library and love it! Superb work. Jenny x

    Reply

  22. Samantha Read
    Nov 05, 2014 @ 20:16:35

    Magical Lynne 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

