Paint Your Dreams For You Are An Artist

Hello Everyone
This is to all of you, or that should be, any of you who do not believe you are an artist.
Let me share something with you. During a little  e-mail chat with the lovely Shari, she called me an artist to which I responded that no, I am a stamper, a crafter but I am not an artist.  I believe many of us are not comfortable with using the work artist. I even struggle to use the word art, more comfortable using the terms stamping/crafting. Every now and then I will try and force myself to use the art word but it doesn’t fit comfortably with me.
This was actually the second Guest Designer project art, I made  created (!) for Redlead Paperworks so it is long overdue being shared here.
If I were to quickly name two stamps which I immediately associate with Redlead it would be the Pixie Girl I shared HERE and also the girl from Shine On.  I wanted to create a fun project and to say I had fun altering this paint brush of mine, which had seen better days, would be an understatement as I had so much fun.  The downside was having to wait for the thick application of paints to dry because when I utilised the heat gun it was bubbling the paint too much for the appearance of this project.sideonelynnemoncrieffI like this little art sentiment She is a work in progress – that is exactly how I feel about myself. (Find this art sentiment HERE. as part of this wonderful stamp set.)sideonedetailoneToo much fun to stop at one side and I had to complete her story from being a work in progress to what she has become …
She is an artist.
sidetwolynnemoncrieff
Even after those few months have passed since I made this I cannot decide if I should have embellished it.  I might well tweak it yet, time will tell!sidetwodetailtwoYou can keep up-to-date with Redlead news by signing up to their newsletter which is where Chris and Sharon share their weekly news, artful creations and also announce their Stamp & Stencil of the Week. Redlead also have a Facebook page, HERE.
Thank you for visiting my first blog post  for this brand new week.
Wishes
Lynne

31 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne R
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 22:12:59

    And what a great post your first one of the week is Lynne. You have done an amazing job on that old paintbrush, the colours are wonderful, the little girl is adorable and those sentiments are just perfect. You are definitely an artist and this is a wonderful piece of art! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  2. coco
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 22:19:00

    Hi Lynne, we have really much in common, I share so much your feelings about the word art (use it sometimes but always a bit ashamed as I did not an high school of arts and so on…). However knowing you now, and looking at this delicate paint brush, so lovely and with fantastic colors and strikes, I think you can consider yourself really as an Artist. for me I don’t know yet though I’d love to be.. 🙂 Hugs Coco xxx

    Reply

  3. Annie G
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 22:21:36

    Hi Lynne x love the colours on your altered Art piece and the stunning little girl and sentiment. I know what you mean about the word art or being an artist, but you are an Artist x

    Hugs Annie

    Reply

  4. Meggymay
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 23:05:34

    Love how you transformed your paintbrush, it is a stunning project and the images and words go perfectly with the piece. I can understand what you mean about art, but I agree with the others you are an Artist.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  5. thecobweboriumemporium
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 23:56:43

    Ahhh … the word ‘artist’.

    When someone called me an artist for the first time, I honestly wondered who he was talking about. … and what’s funny is [that at the time,] I was producing sculptures (‘proper sculptures’ – made from proper ‘mud’ clay) and selling them in an art gallery. But I didn’t consider myself an artist. I just made stuff.

    In the end, the way I made myself understand where the line was, was to work out what the difference was. And I think I’ve worked it out. It’s the difference between home made – and – hand made.

    Now take another look at your paint brush. Is it home made, or is it hand made?

    (you’d better be smiling at yourself now Lynne, cause otherwise I’m coming round to poke you with a stick!) lol.
    Sending love and … crafty artistic hugs ~ Cobs. x

    Reply

  6. Rita
    Nov 03, 2014 @ 23:58:20

    Fabulous take on the paintbrush. Love it Lynne. I totally agree with Annie, you are an Artist. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  7. Yvonne G
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 00:18:07

    Love, love, love: your post, your heartfelt struggle that many of us share, your art piece, and Red Lead Stamps! I feel so fortunate to have stumbled onto your blog at the very beginning of my blog adventure. You have inspired me from the beginning, Lynne, my dear artist friend! Hugs, Yvonne

    Reply

  8. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 04:23:03

    Oh this is perfectly lovely and so very creative my dear talented artist friend ♥
    you are a wonder!
    oxo

    Reply

  9. Florence
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 07:16:41

    Oh, This is such a darling make Lynne. I have seen altered brushes before but not as pretty as this. I am doing a craft stall for a Charity event in February so something like this would be perfect to make. TFS.
    Flo xx

    Reply

  10. Valerie-Jael
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 07:31:48

    This is a wonderful make, love the 2 sides to the brush and the little girl, a very deep project! Valerie

    Reply

  11. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 09:14:43

    It needs no embellishment, Lynne. It’s just lovely as it is.I have trouble with ‘artist’ too – do you think it’s a British thing?

    Reply

  12. Hazel H
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 14:11:19

    You are an amazing artist Lynne and I love your altered paint brush,
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  13. Suze
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 14:53:58

    Well I have never seen an altered paintbrush before Lynne, it’s fabulous and the sentiments are perfect! I always tell people “I’m not arty, I’m crafty” but maybe we ought to give ourselves more credit! Xx

    Reply

  14. Dorthe
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 15:20:38

    I have alwayes felt the same, my dear Lynne, alwayes denied being an artist !
    Much more easy for me to say, that ofcourse you are an artist, and a wonderful one !
    Your altered bruch is so special, the way you made the paint run in thick layers,- it looks great, and is such a fun way of using the paint,- I love your mix of colours and that little girl, looking as if she also have difficulties in saying :” I`m an artist ”
    Hope your tuesday is lovely, dear friend.
    Dorthe, xxxxxx

    Reply

  15. 1cardcreator
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 16:21:41

    Wow, stunning brush Lynne, love the pretty colors you chose and the sentiment is so sweet and perfect for the brush too. Big hugs, ~Diane

    Reply

  16. Julie Lee
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 16:54:38

    This is controversial, isn’t it Lynne – what makes one an artist? I know I’ve used the word about you and what you create. I feel that you bring the imagination and the creative flair – and importantly – that total absorption in the story of what you do and the technique you employ to bring that story to life that makes you an artist. This project is a delight. I love these Red Lead sentiments and I’m going to treat myself to some for Christmas. I particularly love the idea of the double sides to the brush. All artists are always works in progress, I believe. xxx

    Reply

  17. Ira
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 18:12:02

    A splendidly altered brush dear Lynne, love that sweet little girl with the pretty colours. But I don’t think this calls for modesty, for you ARE an artist to me and many others out there. We love to see what you create and hence makes the world a better place. Take care, Ira
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  18. Shari T.
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 18:34:53

    Lynne–You are an Artist and you prove it time after time, project after project!! Look at this paintbrush!! DARLING!!! How clever you are to alter a paintbrush–see, Artists think of things like that and then inspire the rest of us!! 🙂 Thank you for mentioning me in your post, Lynne!! 🙂 Our email chats are so meaningful to me and being able to reach out to an ARTIST like yourself fills me with creativity and motivation!! So, except it chica–You Are An Artist, You Are Sooooo Talented and us little crafters are so lucky to have you in our lives!! OMG–now I need to go get some cheapy paintbrushes to alter, too!! 🙂 LOL!!! Totally cute gift idea, too!! Make altered paintbrushes as ornaments or a collection of them as a wall display….OH…the wheels are turning!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  19. ConnieM
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 21:35:59

    Lynn this is so darling. Love the stamp and the paint brush is a brillant idea. Amazing girl!!!

    Reply

  20. paper profusion
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 23:57:20

    You’re an artist for sure Lynne! Just look at this, it’s a fantastic artpiece (and super cute too!). Nicola x

    Reply

  21. Mona Pendleton
    Nov 04, 2014 @ 23:58:14

    So very cute and creative! That little image is darling!

    Reply

  22. Gerrie
    Nov 05, 2014 @ 01:03:01

    I have not made one of these, but seeing yours, I may sometime try. This is lovely and cute. You make it look so easy. Sorry I have not been commenting, but i do check your lovlies and drool often. Lol. Hugs GF

    Reply

  23. michele s
    Nov 05, 2014 @ 17:33:04

    thank you for sharing your struggle, i have it too. and of course the minute you claim such a word some naysayer in the crowd looks aghast like you can only be an artist if you’re Renoir! not true. it is about what the eye and the heart translate onto the canvas, whatever your canvas may be — card, tag, shopping bag. and then you turn that into something beautiful, intriguing. whether the paintbrush is a real paintbrush or a stamp and ink pad. still art. and oh lordy the things you do with lace! so yes you most certainly are an artist extraordinaire. your work gives me inspiration and joy. claim your birthright. and keep it coming. xo

    Reply

  24. Samantha Read
    Nov 05, 2014 @ 20:23:59

    I’ve been meaning to try this for ages and you have inspired me Lynne, thank you, the kick up the bum I needed lol. Hope your furry nephew is coping ok with the big bags, Poppy is snuggled by my feet just about coping!! Hugs xx

    Reply

  25. nefertiti
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 14:21:56

    So lovely and original artpiece Lynne!!!!! bises,
    Sylvie

    Reply

  26. trisha too
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 15:54:39

    It’s a charming, thoughtful piece, and doesn’t need a thing added. And I can completely relate to your story. Someone once told me–“Just say yes, you are an artist!” Still struggling with that . . . have a wonderful weekend, dear Lynne!

    Reply

  27. 3renee
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 19:48:24

    I love your altered paint brush! The little girl is adorable. The next time you receive a complimentary copy of any Stampington magazine look at the label. It plainly states “artcomp”. They tell you you’re artist every time you’re published, just in case you ever need confirmation! Never doubt your amazing artistic talents my dear friend. Hugs~Renee

    Reply

  28. craftytrog
    Nov 07, 2014 @ 17:39:40

    Wonderful arty altering! xxx

    Reply

  29. Electra
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 17:12:08

    I think this is beautiful!!

    Reply

  30. marjiekemper
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 18:54:37

    This is wonderful Lynne. I am off to pin it. And while you may hesitate to use that word, you are surely and undeniably an artist. Glance down your sidebar at all those magazines if you need reminding!

    Reply

  31. Dianne
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 01:28:42

    Hello Miss Finally have some time to get caught up. Well your right it took me years to finally call my self a mixed media artist, if we keep our minds open to new experience in art we will always be evolving, that is so exciting. Your paint brush is just PERFECT, describes you to a “T”, I would be able to pick it out as yours in a line up :)… You’l know exactly what to add, when you see it, love how that woeks, loke magic, thanks for sharing…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

