A Glamorous Christmas

Hello Everyone
One of the Darkroom Door releases I recently received was the Brushed Christmas Vol 2. Generally I like Christmas to be muted tones, wintry whites but the brushstroke baubles brought to mind Art Deco.  Please don’t ask me why that popped into my head but I know that all of you relate when I say that sometimes notions strike and we feel the need to go with it!
A trio of petite Christmas cards are what I created with three of the baubles from the set along with sentiments from Stitched Christmas stamp set.
(The cards appear as a post HERE, on the Darkroom Door Blog which is where all supplies and instructions will be available)
oneI was very liberal in my application of shimmer and sparkle on each card as I aimed to try and capture the glamour of the Deco era.sixMy use of embossing powder has been more in the past month or two than it has in the past five years!fourFor each cardbase I used for the first time a Distress Stain Spray.  I really wasn’t too sure if I would be impressed with the spray because I have only 3 of the actual Distress Stains but with my mind turning towards festive projects I thought I would take a gamble with the Brushed Pewter and I was so impressed.  What I was most pleased with was with one product I could inject some life into the black cardstock and also stain items to match.threeAs always, I need to finish by saying thank you for visiting this post.
It is strange because I might be in the middle of making cards, gifts, etc for Christmas yet at the same time I cannot get my mind into the place where it will soon be countdown to Christmas. In my world it is only March, possibly April but certainly not November LOL.
It will not be all about Christmas projects from hereon in, I will mix up the blog posts otherwise I will become too weary myself of Christmas even before it has arrived!
Wishes
Lynne

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suze
    Nov 05, 2014 @ 22:12:01

    These are lovely Lynne. Classy, festive and sparkly! Xx

    Reply

  2. hettiecraft
    Nov 05, 2014 @ 22:26:15

    Gorgeous Lynne and so Christmassy. Love the black and glitz.
    Hugs
    xx
    PS I had to giggle at your not being ready for Christmas yet…I saw a blog yesterday making Valentine’s cards…gosh I was lost!! LOL!

    Reply

  3. Meggymay
    Nov 05, 2014 @ 23:00:57

    These are all beauties Lynne. Love the colour combination and the textures.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  4. Rita
    Nov 05, 2014 @ 23:05:59

    Gorgeous cards Lynne. I love the textures. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  5. thecobweboriumemporium
    Nov 05, 2014 @ 23:28:56

    Really pretty Lynne. The textures compliment each other. Well done! ~ Cobs x

    Reply

  6. Tracy Evans
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 00:25:46

    These are so classy and sophisticated . I love the spray of Brushed Pewter against the black card, lovely touch and the baubles are gorgeous. Tracy x

    Reply

  7. Terry
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 00:37:10

    Oh I really love your color choices! Beautiful Christmas cards, Lynne! Love those baubles. Hugs!

    Reply

  8. Miss Iowa
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 01:10:01

    These are fantastic! Love the nontraditional color scheme.

    Reply

  9. butterfly
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 02:10:54

    Oh, my word, Lynne… what an inspired treatment of those stamps! Monochrome sparkle is my favourite sort, and complements those stylish baubles perfectly. Delicious!

    A flying visit during the show interval… Hope to be back more regularly soon.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  10. Valerie-Jael
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 07:05:29

    Beautiful cards, I love them. Valerie

    Reply

  11. MarieS.
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 11:16:56

    Very pretty Christmas cards, dear Lynne. Whoever will receive them sure will treasure them. Have a lovely day.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  12. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 15:27:13

    These are so dramatic, Lynne. Wow!

    Reply

  13. Dorthe
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 16:27:28

    Lynne, dear- they are wonderful!! So dramatic and elegant, and love all the glitter and sparckle ,– as you know ,I`m also normally to the soft and white,-but these are truly amazing. Lovely with the added twine and strips of laces !!
    Thursday hug from me- xx

    Reply

  14. Shari T.
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 16:49:54

    GORGEOUS cards, Lynne!!! These cards exude the Art Deco era with not only glamour (I see a svelte woman in a long, silver lame dress sipping champagne in front of a white flocked Christmas tree) but with class & posh!! So pretty and elegant and so sparkly!! And you’ve got some of the new Distress Stain Spray, too!! YAY!! Lucky!! 🙂 Gorgeous cards and wonderful samples for DD!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  15. Hazel H
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 17:28:03

    Stunning cards Lynne and wonderful colours.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  16. Corrie
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 17:49:56

    Gorgeous, elegant cards. I love the non-traditional colours !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  17. Julie Lee
    Nov 06, 2014 @ 22:08:50

    Fabulous textures and rich and splendid tones on these great Art Deco cards, Lynne. They are so unusual and so stylish. I love them – they just exude elegance in true Art Deco fashion. xxx

    Reply

  18. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Nov 07, 2014 @ 04:45:37

    These are absolutely amazing and over the top gorgeous, Lynne!!! I love everything about them.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  19. Anne R
    Nov 07, 2014 @ 09:25:32

    I am so, so pleased to hear that you are loving the stains, I think they are fabulous. You really have captured the era beautifully Lynn, these cards are absolutely stunning! I just love all the textures you have created. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  20. craftytrog
    Nov 07, 2014 @ 17:31:30

    Stunning cards Lynne! x

    Reply

  21. coco
    Nov 07, 2014 @ 19:00:37

    Ooh Lynne, this is so impressive and GORGEOUS!!!!! Love this trio of bubbles and cards, fabulous use here of Distress stain pewter on black cardstock and all your embossing powders!! Love also the tiny elements that complete so wonderfully the set. I’m in awe!! 🙂 Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  22. Rachel Fisher
    Nov 07, 2014 @ 22:13:34

    I adore these Lynne – the texture is fabulous and the monochrome looks awesome – fab xx

    Reply

  23. Sharon
    Nov 08, 2014 @ 04:13:43

    Wow stunning & very classy looking!

    Reply

  24. 1cardcreator
    Nov 08, 2014 @ 19:16:24

    Gorgeous cards and that stamp set is awesome! I love the look you achieved with it. Big hugs, ~Diane

    Reply

  25. gio
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 12:35:23

    Wow, black and gold and white, all so well mixed to get gorgeous, elegant and unique cards, I’m impressed, Lynne!

    Reply

  26. marjiekemper
    Nov 09, 2014 @ 18:55:59

    These are so elegant!

    Reply

  27. Dianne
    Nov 10, 2014 @ 01:40:12

    LOVE the way your mind works Miss Lynne, I see you have been working your magic in the attic again, they are SPECTACULAR, pure vintage Art Deco perfection. I don’t think they could be show cased any better, wow thanks for sharing these beauties…

    Reply

  28. CarolS
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 16:24:40

    Wow Lynne! These are great! I never would have thought to go with these colors but they work amazingly well…always a good idea to think outside the box once in a while…and they still have your romantic, chic flare! LOVE them!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  29. Cynnie
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 20:33:51

    What gorgeous Xmas cards!!

    Reply

  30. Samantha Read
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 14:38:41

    O my Lynne, these are spectacular 🙂 Love them x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

