A Rose Garden, I Never Promised You

Hello Everyone
One of the recently released stamps I received from Darkroom Door to play with was the Eclectic Stamp, Rose.
I am sure you will relate that sometimes when you receive a stamp you let ideas percolate until you decide on which direction to take and other times you know instantaneously what your plans are.  For my sample I knew I wanted to create a paperclay embellishment as a focal on a canvas.  However what was interesting, when I have used paperclay before for stamping into, the stamps have not been photo real.  Of course, we all love a challenge!!!
As I was working on this canvas the song, I Never Promised You A Rose Garden would not leave my head.  This song I remember so vividly from my childhood but when I Googled to see what year it was released, 1970, I realised I was too young to remember it from that year, I was only 2 years old but my Mum had the vinyl (now, there is a word that can date us all!) single.  Little did I know that during those years, fast forward a few decades and I would be making reference to this song in a blog post!
(This canvas involved many stages and as it has already appeared on the Darkroom Door Blog I would say that if you are interested in the supplies I used and how I used them, especially creating the rose with the paperclay, then please visit the Darkroom Door Blog post, HERE.)rosecanvaslynnemoncrieffAlthough I usually set out with a rough idea, I always like to go with the flow but in this case, alongside knowing I would be using paperclay, I also wanted there to be a romantic feel to the canvas but also for their to be texture.  This might sound silly and it might also sound pretentious but I wanted that sense of peeling plaster on buildings in Mediterranean countries with their pastel buildings which look so pretty in the sunshine even when showing signs of age and decay, which, for me, simply adds to their beauty and their story.
(This photograph is more true to the colours of the paints.)canvaslynnemoncrieffThis is what started this particular story, paperclay and the Eclectic Rose stamp.threeWhich became this after painting.sevenI so enjoyed working on this canvas, that doesn’t mean I am completely satisfied because there is much I would do different now but as for the actual process, it was a lovely canvas to work on for Darkroom Door.
Thank you, always, for the time and trouble you take to stop by and seeing what I have been doing and thank you always for your continued support and encouragement.
Wishes
Lynne

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. annie g
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 22:35:43

    This is a really romantic piece Lynne and the background is wonderful….you can imagine the various colours deteriorating in the warm sunshine over many years.
    The rose stamps are stunning, in particular the paper clay one……..how clever 🙂

    I remember that song well and remember some people calling the singles 45’s, there were also 78’s that my parents played and I remember them listening to Mario Lanza…how time flies !!!!! Now we have One Direction in the ‘Cloud’ !!!!

    Thank You for sharing your fabulous project and story.

    Best Wishes
    Annie xx

    Reply

  2. Meggymay
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 22:58:05

    A stunning canvas Lynne, the paper clay roses look beautiful.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  3. Shirley
    Nov 12, 2014 @ 23:05:51

    Gorgeous Lynne, the clay roses are beautiful, Shirleyxx

    Reply

  4. Julie Lee
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 01:06:10

    Oh, I remember that song from my youth, Lynne: I was a teenager in 1970. This canvas is beautiful and it does capture that look of the peeling pastel paint in Mediterranean countries. It also reminds me of the first glimpse I had of Venice, floating into the city in the early evening and seeing the beautiful, crumbling facades of the palaces reflected in the canal. I loved all the different colours of peeling plaster. I love how you’ve been experimenting with Paper Clay too. It’s been so interesting to see your different creations and the rose on this canvas is really lovely, I think. It’s not like anything I’ve ever seen before. Your work always surprises and delights. xxx

    Reply

  5. Shari T.
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 01:56:56

    Oh Yes–Vinyl records!! I have a few of those…the 33 rpm’s & a mini-box full of 45’s!! 🙂 Good Times! 🙂
    Lynne, I love how you experimented and went for stamping the photo real stamp into paper clay–It came out beautifully!! The detail the paper clay maintained is fantastic 🙂 The entire canvas is very romantic and your step-x-steps over at DD are Great!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  6. Rita
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 05:57:59

    What a beautiful creation Lynne. I will be humming this tune all day long now. Love the whole concept of this and the roses are really stunning. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  7. Sharon
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 06:19:39

    Oh my gosh just stunning – I LOVE roses and you have really done these justice!! LOL now I have that song in my head!!!

    Reply

  8. Avril
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 07:59:00

    A stunning canvas, love the soft colours and the paperclay rose looks amazing. Haven’t tried stamping into it- must give that a try.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  9. Hazel H
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 10:27:06

    Stunning work, the roses are beautiful.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  10. Dianne
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 12:37:14

    Hello Miss Lynne, well you certainly accomplished what you set out to do, the background does look like an old aged wall, I loooooove that look, the roses just stamped look beautiful, but the paper clay rose is glorious, visiting you, seeing all your creations just make my heart sing, you have been such a big inspiration to me, thanks you so much for that, I couldn’t create what id do with out you, your comments mean so much to me thanks Miss Designer Extraordinaire, have a wonderful week, ((( BIG HUGS )))..

    Reply

  11. Rosie
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 13:32:51

    Absolutely gorgeous, as always, Lynne

    Reply

  12. Dorthe
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 16:03:06

    Oh this is so beautiful, dear Lynne–your paperclay rose is stunning after painted, in black and salmon,-and thAT background of yours , is amazing, and yes looks so much like those old houses, in their romantic colours,- and it is not at all silly, to want both the romance and the texture, as for me to see ,it works beautifully together, for you ,and your lovely creation…and what could be more romantic ,than such an old building in lets say Venice , with the paint partly gone from the water sloshing around the walls. You created a gorgeous canvas with the new stamps !!

    Reply

  13. CarolS
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 16:07:54

    This is lovely, Lynne, very romantic!
    I love all the texture and the colors are beautiful!
    Thanks for the paper clay tutorial, I’ve had some here for quite some time now and haven’t opened the package! Maybe I will now!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  14. 1cardcreator
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 16:26:03

    Beautiful as always Lynne, I remember that song from when I was in high school, lol. Big hugs, ~Diane

    Reply

  15. Jenny Marples (Buttons)
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 18:44:16

    LOVE that paperclay rose and it looks perfect on your altered canvas Lynne. Jenny x

    Reply

  16. Corrie
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 19:39:47

    Another lovely make, Lynne. Must try some paperclay as it looks great !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  17. Anne R
    Nov 13, 2014 @ 21:19:55

    That song was one of my parent’s favourites, because my Mum had a great love of roses, so it brings back memories for me too… Your paper clay rose is just fabulous Lynne and you really have captured a Mediterranean ‘feel’ in your canvas, it really is beautiful…. and romantic. Anne xx

    Reply

  18. tracy745
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 01:07:07

    Gorgeous roses, the paper clay Rose is gorgeous. Beautiful canvas. Tracy x

    Reply

  19. trisha too
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 15:43:03

    Lovely canvas, Lynne–the texture totally comes across in your photos, so much so I wish I could touch this canvas!

    🙂

    Reply

  20. Julie lavalette
    Nov 14, 2014 @ 19:36:21

    Beautiful canvas Lynne. Love your paper clay rose.
    Julie x

    Reply

  21. Florence
    Nov 15, 2014 @ 02:12:44

    Gorgeous project Lynne. Love the texture and those roses are superb. Fab composition.
    Florence x

    Reply

  22. 2amscrapper2
    Nov 15, 2014 @ 03:55:12

    This is such a beautiful composition–love the color palette and the roses.

    Reply

  23. Sophie
    Nov 15, 2014 @ 08:57:13

    So wunderschön, dass ich nur noch staunen kann.
    Das Werk ist außergewöhnlich, rustikal und dennoch so fein und edel gearbeitet.
    Ich liebe es ❤

    Umarmung und Grüße von Sophie xx

    Reply

  24. craftytrog
    Nov 15, 2014 @ 10:52:16

    This is beautiful Lynne! I just got some paper clay to play with 🙂
    Have a lovely weekend
    Alison x

    Reply

  25. michele s
    Nov 15, 2014 @ 20:39:00

    my gosh it is brilliant. fabulous work with the clay on this gorgeous canvas. xo

    Reply

  26. Shelly Schmidt
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 19:39:34

    Wonderfully done! Love the beautiful paperclay rose, and the feel of the wall as you saw it abroad- LOVE this!

    Reply

  27. coco
    Nov 16, 2014 @ 21:01:37

    Hi Lynne 🙂 This is a very lovely canvas, I don’t know what you could reproach to it… Your paperclay rose is just wondeful!!! Everything is beautiful, the texture too is fab, and the sentiment is so perfect! Great work for Darmoor Door! Wishing you a lovely week ahead my dear Lynne. Hugs Coco xxx

    Reply

  28. marjiekemper
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 14:35:06

    Love the composition and boy can I relate to the vinyl, and not being able to get the tune out of your head. This is just beautiful!

    Reply

  29. Samantha Read
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 14:48:41

    Wow! Amazing paperclay-ing 🙂

    Reply

  30. gio
    Nov 17, 2014 @ 19:04:20

    It’s outstanding! The big rose and the ones on the background are so elegant. And the shade you got is unique. Brilliant!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

