French Rose

Hello Everyone
Not everyone likes their birthday number right on the front of a card but when I set out to make a card to celebrate a friend’s 50th birthday, I was sure that she wouldn’t mind at all. When I make a card for someone I tend to focus on one stamp company that I design for so it allows me to create the card with the person in mind but also double it up as a DT sample. For this card I didn’t do that, instead I mixed Darkroom Door with Oxford Impressions for this feminine birthday card.birthdaycardlynnemoncrieffThe numbers are from a fabulous Oxford Impressions set of Distressed Numbers. I couldn’t resist glittering up the numbers! oxfordimpressionsnumbersI will tell you that I was stuck when it came to making this card. It was taking me forever to decide which stamp to use and without being aware of it I had obviously made a decision to feature numbers on the card front. It was only when I was tidying away the recent Darkroom Door sample I shared with you HERE, a canvas with a stamped paperclay rose that I had that moment of “ding!” I know which stamp to use ….. the elegant rose stamp which also featured on that same canvas. darkroomdoorroseThank you for your visit to my first post of this brand new week and the final week of November!
(The title for this post might seem strange.  It relates to my friend as she lives in France and for the French script which was stamped randomly and repeatedly on the background.)
Wishes
Lynne

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shari T.
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 01:34:15

    Absolutely love this wonderful 50th birthday card for your friend, Lynne!! It’s fun and feminine and who doesn’t love glittery and sparkly digits, no matter the ‘meaning’ of the numbers themselves 🙂 The edging of lace on the top and bottom of the card is so sweet–you always think of the tactile delights your embellishments give, Lynne!! Happy Birthday to your Friend and Happy Monday to You!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  2. Valerie-Jael
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 06:40:57

    Fab card! Valerie

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 07:15:11

    Beautiful – very feminine and delicate looking Lynne!

    Reply

  4. Suzi B
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 08:09:52

    Such a beautiful card your friend will be delighted. I love the rose stamp..
    Suzi B xx

    Reply

  5. Sue F
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 08:22:54

    A very pretty card. I love the way you’ve kept the background soft and feminine and then given the numbers some ‘razzamataz’

    Reply

  6. craftytrog
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 08:29:50

    It’s beautiful Lynne! xxx

    Reply

  7. Meggymay
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 08:35:53

    Gorgeous and feminine. Your friend will love it.
    Yvonne x

    Reply

  8. Sophie
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 08:40:38

    Traumhaft schön…

    Sophie xx

    Reply

  9. astrid51
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 08:44:27

    Stunning vintage and feminine, I bet it will be treasured, so beautiful!

    Reply

  10. coco
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 12:02:01

    What a lovely card Lynne… These Numbers stamps are perfect I think, especially with Glitter on them like that combined to the delicate rose. Hope you are well and not too cold… or too busy as very often ! 🙂 Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  11. Dorthe
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 13:38:25

    This is the most beautiful, feminine, and elegant birthday card, for your friend, dearest Lynne. I also don`t mind the numbers shown ,if it had been me,- and in this very gorgeous way, of glittered numbers together with the rose ,on the wonderful cream and salmon background ,they create a very festive sight.
    I hope your weekend was lovely dear friend of mine.
    Hug and xx
    Dorthe

    Reply

  12. Darlene
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 14:45:17

    Lynne – what a fab card !!! your friend will luv it !!!

    Reply

  13. MarieS.
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 16:15:26

    So very pretty, dear Lynne. I’m sure your friend will be thrilled:)Hope all is well.
    Have a lovely evening.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  14. Ira
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 19:00:22

    Very pretty card Lynne and I love the glittered numbers, makes it look even more festive! Love the delicate rose and colours, so pretty!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  15. Anne R
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 20:20:51

    Oh this is so beautiful Lynne, even with the 50 on it, I am sure it will be very well received! I love the way you distressed those numbers. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  16. Ingrid Kristina V
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 21:07:36

    Stunning card! The rose is beautiful! I’m sure your friend will love the card! X

    Reply

  17. Rachel Fisher
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 21:25:53

    a stunning card – really beautiful Lynne – your friend will adore it I’m sure xx

    Reply

  18. Julie Lee
    Nov 24, 2014 @ 23:36:27

    Such a pretty and feminine card and the rose goes perfectly with those vintage numbers. It’s nice when one can combine different stamp sets and find that that they complement each other perfectly as these do. I’m sure your friend will love this card, Lynne. xxx

    Reply

  19. Samantha Read
    Nov 28, 2014 @ 12:18:01

    So very pretty, age is just a number 🙂 xx

    Reply

  20. thecobweboriumemporium
    Nov 29, 2014 @ 19:29:41

    Ohh this is so pretty! Something to be treasured. I love it. ~ Cobs. x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

