Colour My World With Butterfly Wishes

Hello Everyone
I am starting the new year with a pop of colour.  Now this is not a declaration that 2015 will be a colourful year for me but I can certainly see it playing out a bit like 2014 when I dabbled with colour more often and I hope it will see me become more comfortable using colour but I know I will also seek comfort with neutrals and muted palettes which are my absolute favourites.
Springtime must be swirling around in my mind without me even being conscious of it.
When it came to making a birthday card for a friend I reached for the beautiful Butterfly Stack from Red Lead, which I teamed up with Brusho Crystals to create a fluid background. butterflywisheslynneA few Brusho colours were used along with a spritz or two of water, also used to stain various handmade papers to bring a lovely texture to the card.fiveOne of the reasons I like this Butterfly Stack so much is that it looks equally pretty if stamped as a whole or by selecting particular butterflies, as I did for this card, using only two of the three butterflies. phototwoThis little label stamp was the perfect addition.
Normally, I would ink/paint the edges of any stamped elements to be rid of the white edging but I decided to not do that this time, mainly because the white brings lightness. threeBrusho Crystals are so inexpensive per tub of colour and very little is needed at a time as the colours are so vibrant, they really pack a punch and are lovely whether combining a variety of colours or working with monochromes.
If your thoughts are turning towards Valentine’s Day and creating Valentine themed art then you might want to know that RedLead have new stamps in stock and also stencils.
Thank You for visiting my first blog post for 2015.
Have a lovely weekend.
Wishes
Lynne

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CYN
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 22:28:12

    oh this is a first…..being the first to comment here. i was ready to sign out and saw another of these bf beauties….love the pink and orange together too.

    Reply

  2. Julia S-W
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 22:41:45

    I absolutely love your colours Lynne. I have recently bought some Brushos and just need to find time to play. I really look forward to your pieces with colour – you do it so well. Enjoy your weekend.
    Juliax

    Reply

  3. Meggymay
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 22:55:24

    Gorgeous project, love the colours an the backgrounds. I like Brusho’s as well.
    A bit late, but best wishes Lynne for the coming year.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  4. Florence
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 22:59:34

    Beautiful work Lynne. Love how you used the color.
    Florence x

    Reply

  5. Sharon
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 23:04:44

    Stunning! Happy new year to you Lynne!!

    Reply

  6. Julie Lee
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 23:16:40

    What a lovely post to start the New Year, Lynne! I love what you’ve created with the Brushos – such lovely subtle, painty effects. Those butterflies really have made me think that spring cannot be too far away too: I love how delicate their wings are. I love these Red Lead label stamps too and I’m very tempted to spend some of my Christmas money on them, as they look perfect for special birthday cards. I am looking forward to another lovely creative year from you, Lynne – so much inspiration from you always. Thank you for all the beauty you create. xxxx

    Reply

  7. Gigi Harlan
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 00:11:40

    The only thing better than butterfly wishes is butterfly kisses : ) Pretty card!

    Reply

  8. Annie G
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 00:44:41

    A beautiful card Lynne and the Brusho colours look vibrant against the background. I am sure your friend will love your card and it’s great to know that Spring is not too far away.

    Best wishes
    Annie x

    Reply

  9. Rita
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 00:53:14

    Beautiful card Lynne. I do love the colours and of course that pretty flutterby. Happy and Healthy 2015 Hugs Rita xxxxx

    Reply

  10. astrid51
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 02:01:39

    A wonderful card Lynne, love your brusho background with those beautiful butterflies! The bit of fabric just adds that special “Lynne” touch and provides some beautiful texture! Hope your new year will be full of happiness and creativity and hopefully with good health too!

    Reply

  11. craftytrog
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 08:27:15

    Such a beautiful burst of colour, that really gladdened my heart on this dull, wet January morning Lynne!
    Happy New Year!
    Alison xox

    Reply

  12. Suze Bain
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 11:24:28

    Gorgeous colours Lynne, they definitely bring a feeling of warmth on this cold frosty morning. Wishing you every happiness in 2015. Xx

    Reply

  13. Paper Profusion
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 14:17:57

    Oh my goodness what a fabulous breath of colour and fresh air!! I absolutly LOVE this Lynne! Your warm and happy colours have given me a much needed energy boost! Wishing you a truly happy and healthy 2005 dear Lynne. May it bring all you deserve and more besides. Nicola xx

    Reply

  14. Shirley
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 14:43:06

    Beautiful design, I love the vibrant water colour (Brusho) background. Happy New Year, Shirleyx

    Reply

  15. Ana K.
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 16:07:12

    Love your work in colours or in more monochromatic tones…I am just sorry I am such a bad follower…hope I will have more time this year and wish you all the best in 2015!
    Hugs and kisses

    Reply

  16. Dorthe
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 16:19:42

    It is fantastic Lynne, when using stronger colours, those are some of my favorites, and your card is stunning in these red- pinkish-orange-yellow tones.
    Wonderful mixed with the ribbons in same tones, and the beautiful butterfly stamps. Your friend must feel the summer around the corner recieving this ,from you.
    From Dorthe with a hug- xx

    Reply

  17. Rachel Fisher
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 19:02:51

    gorgeous use of those colours Lynne – I love it to bits – beautiful! Big hugs Rachel xx

    Reply

  18. Anne R
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 19:56:00

    The colours from the Brushos is just wonderful Lynne and I really love the butterflies! Hope you had a wonderful New Year and very best wishes for 2015! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  19. Pat
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:07:07

    Brushos, wonderful colour and butterflies Lynne, what more could you ask for in a card. I hope you had a good Christmas and wishing you a happy and creative New Year. x

    Reply

  20. Linda //////////////////////t
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:43:12

    Owww – Thank You Lynne for this lovely, bright and cheery card. Lucky me to get it for my birthday. I love Brusho’s – having only recently discovered them. Will get round to a proper letter, hopefully, before too long. Good Wishes to you and the family for 2015. xxx

    Reply

  21. 1cardcreator
    Jan 03, 2015 @ 23:44:30

    Beautiful card, love the colors too! ~Diane

    Reply

  22. Shari T.
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 00:22:58

    Lynne, this card is simply beautiful!! The bright washes of color are so pretty and vibrant behind those delicate butterflies!! (I think you may be allowing your inner bright, dare I say wild? colors to escape your delicate demeanor!) 😉 🙂 I do like that Red Lead Butterfly Stack stamp, too! It’s lovely and sooo versatile, especially in your creative hands 🙂 🙂 Such a wonderful birthday card!! A lovely, bright & happy tribute!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  23. Ira
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 15:05:35

    Happy New Year to you dear Lynne, may 2015 be kind to you! What a sweet, colourful butterfly card this is, the colours truly are so vibrant. I’m not familiar with Brusho, but the watercolour effect is simply fabulous!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  24. Corrie
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 18:05:22

    I hope you feel a bit more comfortable using colour, Lynne. You are very good at it ! You produced a beautiful card here; I love that vibrant background and the butterflies are perfect !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  25. marjiekemper
    Jan 04, 2015 @ 19:27:51

    Look at all that beautiful color! I’ve enjoyed watching you experiment with color last year and look forward to all the creative beauty you’ll share with us in the New Year. Wishing you the very best in 2015, Lynne!

    Reply

  26. coco
    Jan 05, 2015 @ 20:28:00

    Oh, I love this card with these beautiful butterflies and your pop of colour, gorgeous in these shades!!! I’ve just ordered Brushos too in my Katzelkraft’s DT shop, I’m looking forward to receiving them now.
    Even if neutrals remain your favourite colours, be sure you do excellent work with colours Lynne 😀 xxx

    Reply

  27. Samantha Read
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 14:15:22

    Happy New Year Lynne 🙂
    I love your card, you have such a light touch with those Brusho’s or maybe I am heavy handed! Your results are so delicate and lovely.
    Big hugs from Poppy and I xx

    Reply

  28. marci piraro
    Jan 13, 2015 @ 17:16:12

    Stunning! I love this. The colors are so pure!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

