Golden Hours (@ PaperArtsy)

Hello Everyone
I am so thrilled to share the news that I am part of the first Semester at the PaperArtsy blog.
There is a new format to the blog posts and challenges at the PaperArtsy blog.  To start the New Year the challenge theme is Fragile Papers.  For the duration of this theme there will be various artists sharing a tutorial focusing on all manner of fragile papers.  Fragile papers are something I routinely use, most often in the form of vintage French book text but it might also be vintage dressmaker tissue, vintage sheet music, fragile found papers, there is such a wealth of papers which fall into this category.
Working with book pages was a huge hurdle for me to overcome in the early days of stamping because tearing into a book, how could I possibly bring myself to do so when I wouldn’t even turn down the corner of a page to bookmark it!  However, in time, with books so distressed they were falling apart anyway, it has made it easier for me although even yet I still get a twinge of, should I really be doing this. 
I am sharing with you a sneaky peek of my project. Over at the PaperArtsy blog there is a tutorial along with the inspiration for it.blogphotoIf you would like to view the tutorial then please visit HERE. I hope it will inspire you to join in with the Fragile Papers challenge.
Thank You, as always for your visit.
Wishes
Lynne

27 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lee
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 21:38:05

    Lovely to see you at PaperArtsy’s blog! This is such a lovely project! I have really enjoyed looking at it over at PaperArtsy. I know just how you feel about tearing into a book! When I started altering books and using book text a little while ago, I comforted myself with the knowledge that the books I was using were near the end of their useful life as reading books anyway, but, as you say, one never quite loses that anguish about tearing a book. xxx

    Reply

  2. butterfly
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 21:39:45

    Just seen your fabulous fragile papers over at PA – a wonderful project. Yes, I know it’s you!!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  3. Debbie Kaste
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 21:53:02

    Congrats Lynne! They have a very creative and talented addition to their team. Have FUN!
    Big hugs,
    DebbieK

    Reply

  4. coco
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 22:13:23

    Just left you a comment on PA’s blog Lynne, I ADORE your tutorial and your wall hanging, so gorgeous and perfect, fantastic start as new Guest DT for PaperArtsy tonight!!! The theme was a wonderful one for you moreover… you are the Queen of books pages for me! 🙂 xxx

    Reply

  5. Julia S-W
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 22:24:48

    Congratulations Lynne – they must be delighted to have you! Off to have a look at your sneak peek in full.
    Juliaxx

    Reply

  6. Meggymay
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 22:25:27

    Just saw your piece at Paper Artsy, its gorgeous.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  7. Anne R
    Jan 07, 2015 @ 23:02:58

    Wonderful news Lynne, they must be so thrilled to have you join them! Your piece is stunning – thank you for showing us the how to with those fragile papers, you are such an inspiration! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  8. pearshapedchris
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 00:28:17

    Left a comment on PA blog but just felt I had to say again how fabulous I think this is! Chrisx

    Reply

  9. Valerie-Jael
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 07:27:12

    Beautiful work, Lynne! Valerie

    Reply

  10. Florence
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 08:37:51

    Super project Lynne. Popped over to have a look at it in all its glory. Have fun in your new craft adventure.
    Florence x

    Reply

  11. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 13:11:03

    Such a lovely way to give old book pages a new life.
    Off to have a look dear Lynne ♥
    oxo

    Reply

  12. Shari T.
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 16:21:56

    Oh, Lynne!! Many CONGRATS to you for being on the PaperArtsy DT!! You are a Fantastic addition to their team 🙂
    This gorgeous creation has your name written all over it 🙂 I’m with you Lynne–I have a hard time ripping out pages from (‘new’) books I don’t like, let alone vintage books! When I’m out and about and looking around in antique stores, I’m constantly searching for vintage books/papers/sheet music now, especially in different languages 🙂 Inspiration courtesy my friend Lynne 🙂
    Congratulations again, Lynne!! Your first PA DT project is beautiful Lynne!! I can’t wait to enjoy your future creations at PaperArtsy!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  13. Dorthe
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 16:29:31

    Oh, dear Lynne, this looks so very stunning and beautiful,- I love what you did with the also fragile laces and tulle, and the golden tones of old papers are fantastic !!
    Also I can`t bear to ripping in an old book, and have also had so many discussions with myself , if to do it or not…. it gets even more impossible when it comes to old bibles or religious books!
    Sweet friend, congratulations on being on this team , I know I will se amazing and beatiful creations from you – now off to see the whole project!
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  14. CarolS
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 16:43:24

    I’m with you there Lynne…tearing into a book is hard to do! I thought it would be easier if I bought an old book from the thrift store that meant nothing to me and it’s not…a books a book! LOL I bought the book a couple of years ago and may have managed to get 2 or 3 pages out of it so far!
    Congrat’s with PaperArtsy!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  15. Ana K.
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 16:44:41

    Lynne, this is another stunning piece from you…unique, beautiful hanging… and great description at PaperArtsy!
    Hugs

    Reply

  16. Annie G
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 18:39:05

    TFS Lynne x hope to spend time viewing the tutorial tomorrow night x

    Reply

  17. Annie G
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 18:40:31

    Congratulations on your position with the PA team. I love their products/stamps x

    Reply

  18. Ira
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 19:16:46

    I know exactly how you feel about books dear Lynne! I’m like you, books really need to be treated with respect, but I feel I have changed slightly. If I manage to find a really cheap book at a thrift store I am finding it less difficult somehow, argh! You made a fine creation again, so delicate and pretty!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  19. Astrid
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 20:14:49

    First of all, congrats on being part of the PA tea, they are lucky to have you! A great challenge theme and your piece looks wonderful!

    Reply

  20. Sharon
    Jan 08, 2015 @ 23:27:27

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  21. paper profusion
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 21:04:53

    Huge congrats on this great news Lynne! So happy for you…hopping over for more…Nicola x

    Reply

  22. Trackback: Dream… | Magpie's Nest ~*~ Patty Szymkowicz
  23. Terry
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 21:45:38

    What a totally lovely way to start a new DT spot! Love this Lynne as I always love your artwork. Congratulations and looking forward to more! Hugs!

    Reply

  24. 2amscrapper2
    Jan 09, 2015 @ 23:33:06

    I feel the same way about tearing into books. It’s been awhile since I’ve been to Paper Artsy. I will check it out.

    Reply

  25. Shelly Schmidt
    Jan 10, 2015 @ 06:15:13

    How fabulous! I love the way you can take these fragile papers and make such gorgeous art! I don’t have the easiest time tearing into books either : ) I should try the tissue paper….! Congrats on your DT- they are lucky to have you.

    Reply

  26. craftytrog
    Jan 10, 2015 @ 18:06:11

    Congratulations Lynne, and your first project is very beautiful and inspiring! xx

    Reply

  27. Samantha Read
    Jan 11, 2015 @ 14:23:02

    Congratulations, this is such a treat for the eyes 🙂 xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

