Setting The Scene For Love (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
At the beginning of the month I shared with you news of the Crafty Individuals January Challenge, as chosen by the lovely Coco.
Amongst the information for the challenge it was stated that scenic stamping could be interpreted any which way but even I will admit that I am probably being cheeky by saying that the cards I share below are Setting The Scene For Love!  I didn’t make the cards with the challenge in mind, I actually made them last year but I would be sharing with you soon and it was the ideal opportunity to refresh or draw your attention to the CI Challenge.
A few days ago I received the latest issue of The Stampers’ Sampler.  Answering their Challenge Call, Heart of a Different Colour, amongst my submissions were two Crafty Individuals cards featuring Alice Palace designs, designs which I have been honest in the past by stating that I have struggled with them particularly when I was desperately trying to fit them into the shabby chic/vintage style.  When I simply sat back with a collection of Alice Palace stamp and several paints, it was actually fun to create these cards.  myfavouriteplaceoneAround the time of making the cards I was playing with the notion of not adding layers which I normally build up, sometimes with a tag, lace, seam binding, buttons and other usual suspects however I still wanted texture and interest.  At this point I played with building the layers before any paint was applied.favouriteplacetwoI also played around by mixing and matching several Alice Palace stamps, selecting a heart from one stamp, a border from another and playing with composition.  If you own any of those Alice Palace designs you will know what I mean.favouriteplacethreeBy Your Side
byyoursideoneDifferent paint colours and papers but essentially the same style of background.  The paint, on both cards, was applied in a bold manner which created a lovely textural qualitybyyoursidetwobut I always ensured that some of the pattern on the paper beneath was peeking through the layers.byyoursidefourFunny that I am starting to grow fond of those animals!byyoursidefiveSo, maybe if you have a little time or looking for a challenge you might want to pop over to the Crafty Individuals blog and join the fun.
Before I say goodbye I have to say a warm thank you for always being so supportive, whether I share something which is vintage in style or sees me playing around with colour, you always encourage me.
Wishes
Lynne

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valerie-Jael
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 07:22:49

    This is simply beautiful! Valerie

    Reply

  2. Anne R
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 08:27:46

    I had quite simply forgotten how wonderful these stamps are, they are so quirky and fun. I love the wonderful backgrounds you created and the little touches of added colour on the hearts and hats are lovely. Thank you for making me pause and reflect on the stamps I have stashed away! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  3. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 09:46:49

    Love those ice cream colours, Lynne.

    Reply

  4. Julie Lee
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 10:14:51

    Well, Lynne, you’d never know that you’d found these images not appropriate to your usual style! They look just perfect as you’ve interpreted them here. I love the idea of painting over the texture: it looks fabulous and I adore the way you applied the paint with such texture. Those geese and hares are delightfully drawn and I think the subtle approach with unusual, understated colouring of the images themselves has worked really well. These are lovely! I’m going back to look again when I’ve finished writing this comment. xx

    Reply

  5. annie g
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 10:22:17

    adore these gorgeous stamps and the way you have used them, against the fabulous background.

    TFS and have a great weekend xx

    Reply

  6. Dorthe
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 15:27:20

    How fun and sweet they are dear Lynne,
    I just love the one with the hares / rabbits- and the colours you used there,- The pink background papers and the cloth peeking through your paint, ,makes little interesting pictures, and oh so sweet with the painted hearts . I can see how fun those stamps are to use ,and in many ways !! Also they truly are “setting the scene for love ” 🙂
    I had my walk, and enjoied ,even it was cold ..
    Hugs from Dorthe

    Reply

  7. Gigi Harlan
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 16:02:00

    So cute!

    Reply

  8. craftytrog
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 16:38:05

    I love how you used the Alice Palace Designs Lynne. Great backgrounds too.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  9. Meggymay
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 21:12:09

    Wonderful cards Lynne, so sweet and in your special style as well.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  10. Sharon
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 21:43:48

    LOL these put a great big smile on my face – they are so much fun!!!!! Love the style and love the stamps Lynne!!

    Reply

  11. Jean
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 21:58:08

    Love these beautiful cards Lynne – perfect designs for the Alice Palace stamp designs, and congrats on being published again! Jean x

    Reply

  12. trisha too
    Jan 16, 2015 @ 22:42:51

    Lynne, it’s true that if I’d seen these elsewhere, I would not have said in my head, “Those are Lynne’s!” But they are absolutely charming, with the pretty pastels and embedded textures and those sweet images! 🙂

    Reply

  13. hettiecraft
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 00:29:49

    This is adorable Lynne. I think I like the first one.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  14. Hazel H
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 09:53:55

    Beautiful work Lynne, the colours are lovely.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  15. Terry
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 16:21:46

    Oh this is adorable, Lynne! Love the colors and those images! Two wonderful cards! Have a lovely weekend! Hugs!

    Reply

  16. Shari T.
    Jan 17, 2015 @ 18:01:55

    Absolutely LOVE these cards that you made for Stamper’s Sampler, Lynne 🙂 I surely don’t want to spoil any of the other creations that you made that got published, but THEY’RE WONDERFUL!! All of your pinks and yellows and playful hearts–so romantically fun!! I love these geese and bunnies, Lynne!! (are they geese or ducks?) Regardless, I love all of these lovely animals and the cards you’ve showcased their love on 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  17. coco
    Jan 18, 2015 @ 07:57:53

    Wow, wow, wow I ADORE these cards so much!!!!! Thank you for providing so wonderful samples to illustrate my own challenge Lynne!!! 😀
    Big Hugs to you from your friend Coco

    Reply

  18. Samantha Read
    Jan 18, 2015 @ 12:52:12

    These made me smile all over my face! Adorable Lynne xx

    Reply

  19. Ira
    Jan 18, 2015 @ 16:56:21

    How wonderful to see you using this colour combination Lynne, love the pastel shades and adorable images. You have created some really cute cards with these lovely animals!

    Reply

  20. Paper Profusion
    Jan 20, 2015 @ 17:53:22

    So beautifully soft and romantic yet quirkily modern. You are adept at any style Lynne – these are wonderful. Nicola x

    Reply

  21. Bärbel
    Jan 22, 2015 @ 18:29:03

    Die Karten sind wunderbar, liebe Lynne!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

