Be Mine, You Sweet Thing

Hello Everyone
I was sure I would run out of time to squeeze in a Redlead Valentine creation but here I am with a card sample.
Redlead are amazing at word/sentiment stamps so when I received a bounty of Valentine stamps from them to play with I decided that I would use a selection of sentiments to create a background for a card with layers of stamping, paint and hints of texture.
Before sharing the card I want to tell you, at the time of drafting this blog post, Redlead have Valentine stamps on sale.  All of the stamps used on this card are also available as part of a Valentine stamp package which is also on sale at the moment.lynnemoncrieffforredleadFor the background I used the Be Mine and You are My Destiny sentiments and two of the hearts from the stamp sets below. redleadstampsAlongside those stamps I also used this set.
All Redlead stamps are mounted onto cling so they are ready to use straightaway.  The great thing is, I was able to use the stamp set below as one stamp by retaining the stamps on the plastic sheet they are stored on which I used as a substitute for an acrylic block.redleadstampstwoTexture is in the form of Grungepaste which I also stamped into while it was still wet, then I built up layers of Fresco, knocking back the layers of stamping.detailthreeIf you were aiming for the stamping to be legible then maybe best to not use Grungepaste or a light application and smooth it out with a palette knife.  I wanted the overall appearance of the card to be vintage yet with a slightly grungy appearance.
(The colours I used were soft pink, nougat and sepia (in the recess of my mind I must have been thinking about chocolate covered strawberries and nougat! Disappointingly the colours in the photographs are not a true representation.  The main photograph shows the truest colours).
backgroundA wooden heart and lace, along with a fragment of seam binding are the only additions to this card.
detailfourI might well squeeze in another Valentine before the 14th but in the meantime, many thanks for your visit.
Wishes
Lynne

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. 2amscrapper
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 15:11:05

    love the softness

    Reply

  2. Corrie
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 15:28:25

    This is a very sweet, romantic card! Love that scrap of lace under the photo !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  3. Ira
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 19:12:01

    What a sweet, delicate Valentine’s card Lynne, love the pretty photo and old typewriter font stamp.
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  4. Suze Bain
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 19:29:23

    A lovely valentine card Lynne, suitable also for a wedding or anniversary and you’ve reminded me that I have some chocolate covered nougat in the cupboard left over from Christmas! Xx

    Reply

  5. Anne R
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 20:31:01

    A beautiful, romantic valentine Lynne, I love the beautiful soft colours. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  6. Meggymay
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 21:07:45

    Beautiful soft colours, a romantic piece for loving occasions.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  7. barnie
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 22:23:23

    That’s a lovely card, perfect for Valentine’s day.

    Reply

  8. Julie Lee
    Feb 11, 2015 @ 22:26:06

    Such a beautiful Valentine idea. I love how vintage it is. Little details like the scrap of seam binding and the lace are such a romantic touch, giving it the feel of a real memento. Thanks to you and the lovely Mary Jane Chadbourne, I discovered Red Lead stamps and I made my first purchase lately. They are such beautiful fonts and ready mounted too! Thank You for your lovely encouraging comment on my blog. It is so kind of you to visit. xxx

    Reply

  9. Valerie-Jael
    Feb 12, 2015 @ 08:08:59

    A wonderful card! Valerie

    Reply

  10. Brenda Brown
    Feb 12, 2015 @ 08:46:31

    This is simply divine my friend, I love it. Hope all is well with you.
    Have a great day.
    hugs Brenda xxx

    Reply

  11. craftytrog
    Feb 12, 2015 @ 10:07:47

    So beautiful and romantic Lynne! xxx

    Reply

  12. Hettie
    Feb 12, 2015 @ 13:14:15

    This is wonderful Lynne. So cute and romantic but without wanting to vomit!!
    Is that you in the photo by any chance? LOL!
    xx

    Reply

  13. 1cardcreator
    Feb 12, 2015 @ 14:58:31

    Sweet Valentine, lovely work. ~Diane

    Reply

  14. Gigi Harlan
    Feb 12, 2015 @ 15:10:49

    I love how you used the words in your card. You are so creative! And Happy Valentine’s Day you sweet thing : )

    Reply

  15. Dorthe
    Feb 12, 2015 @ 16:22:02

    Lynne, they are really wonderful word stamps, and the way you used some of them, stamping into the grungepaste looks amazing, I love the distressed grungy look . The sweet pair, (is that a photo stamp) looks beautiful with the bits of laces and your bow ,under, and the Love Blooms in 3-d .
    Such beautiful card dear .
    Sending you greetings,smiles, and a hug.
    Dorthe

    Reply

  16. Rachel Fisher
    Feb 12, 2015 @ 22:16:09

    its stunning – I love this Lynne xx

    Reply

  17. Shelly Schmidt
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 06:24:13

    Oh how I love this! The word BG and the texture is so pretty! I love the texture you added. wonderful!

    Reply

  18. Shilpa
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 10:01:48

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  19. Ana K.
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 12:34:07

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  20. 3renee
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 22:18:17

    Love the grunginess of the piece, great colors!

    Reply

  21. Shari T.
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 18:17:41

    Happy Belated Valentine’s Day, Lynne! This card is simply delicious 🙂 🙂 OK I may have read into your colors with sensing the need of chocolate & strawberries and maybe some nougat mixed in, too 🙂 YUM!! I could eat this card up!! 🙂 🙂 It’s wonderful with its nice grunginess–it is Valentine’s Day after all, and your background is like a romantic graffiti!! I just love it!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  22. coco
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 22:25:23

    That’s true that the All RedLead stamps are really beautiful.. Not only the birds (really wonderful), but also their words and sayings look great! Your make with them in your (comfortable tee-hee) vintage style is exquisite!!!! 😀 Hugs, hope you are well in this moment I’m sorry to miss time to message you to get fresh news from you as I really would like to, I have my head totally under water… 😦 Big hugs to you and positives vibes. Coco xxx.

    Reply

  23. Samantha Read
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 16:03:58

    Fabby stamps!! Gorgeous creation Lynne 🙂 xx

    Reply

  24. somefromnone
    Feb 20, 2015 @ 12:15:09

    Simply beautiful Lynne as usual for you!

    Reply

  25. Jenny Marples
    Feb 21, 2015 @ 19:13:57

    Pure vintage chic – love the whole look you’ve achieved on this. Jenny x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

