Please Don’t Break My Fragile Heart

Hello Everyone
A few months ago Stampington & co’s The Stampers’ Sampler had a challenge call for Heart of a Different Colour, looking for submissions for their annual Valentine’s Day challenge but asking us not to use the traditional red.
In the past two years when I have answered their Valentine’s challenge call for Tiny Hearts and Stitched Hearts I have submitted with a shabby chic/vintage style. Β I did consider doing so this time around but wasn’t this the perfect opportunity to be bolder with the colour choice. Β At the time of reading their challenge call it wasn’t so long that I had received the Dina Wakley Collaged Hearts from That’s Crafty so with the Collaged hearts and a few bottle of paints I set to work creating these two ornaments.
paperclayheartonelynnemoncrieffLet me declare, that personally, I do not like the colours I selected but that was the whole point for me.phototwoThe second heart ornament.
You will have guessed that they were both made from paperclay (available from That’s Crafty). Β I never would have imagined I would get such a kick out of working with paperclay, especially for stamping into which is my favourite way of playing with it.
The sweet ribbon was a gift from my lovely friend Dorthe.paperclayhearttwolynnemoncrieffThe black brings a grungy appearance but it also aids in highlighting the impression of the stamp in the paperclay.
Thank You to The Stampers’ Sampler for publishing them, along with a canvas as a feature in the Winter 2015 issue.
Many Thanks to you for taking the time to visit this post. It has been a strange week on my Blog, from the bright and whimsical canvas for PaperArtsy, the shabbily romantic card for Redlead Paperworks and now these slightly grungy paperclay hearts!
Wishes
Lynne

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne R
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 17:22:49

    I have to admit, I love the soft subtle colours that you have used on the first heart and I love the look of the stamped clay. The black on the second heart is bold and beautiful! I also love the use of non-traditional colours for Valentine’s Day. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  2. Julie Lee
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 17:27:27

    Your blog never fails to delight me Lynne. This week I’ve been both surprised and delighted by each creation – every one different yet each stamped (sorry unintended pun!) with your own style.. I really love your work with paper clay. Its delicate texture fits so well with your special style. Congratulations on being published by Stampington. These hearts are such beautiful and individual creations: I think they both work brilliantly and I think they would look great hanging from branches painted white and arranged in a shabby chic jug. I rather like the turquoise colour, which has a kind of rustic French look, especially with the texture. xxx

    Reply

  3. Fliss
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 21:53:58

    These are both absolutely gorgeous Lynne and I do like the colour too.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  4. Meggymay
    Feb 13, 2015 @ 22:05:11

    Beautiful ornaments Lynne, wonderful texture stamping into clay.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  5. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 09:44:41

    I do like the colours, Lynne, and the way the stamping layer shows just in places on the first one, as if the top coat has peeled away.

    Reply

  6. Ana K.
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 12:32:57

    Although you don`t like the colours, I think that are perfect and both hearts are awesome…I would love to hang those in my craft room! Superb

    Reply

  7. Dorthe
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 16:20:29

    Your hearts in many colours, are truly different, dear Lynne, I also have to admit, they are not my heart colours, but they are a wonderful new way of thinking ,hearts and romance-, and the stamps are greatly suited for your paperclay hearts ,which I love, The number two is fantastic in the 3 chosen colours, and so beautiful with the stamp of the heart, on top . I`m so happy you found use for the heart-ribbon, dear friend.
    Hoping your weekend is lovely.
    Dorthe ,xxxxx

    Reply

  8. Rita
    Feb 14, 2015 @ 17:29:17

    Beautiful hearts Lynne. Both are quite different too. Well Done for having them published. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  9. craftytrog
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 14:32:28

    These are wonderful Lynne! Congratulations! xx

    Reply

  10. Ira
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 16:30:18

    Superpretty hearts Lynne, love the delicate colours. No wonder they were published! They should be πŸ˜‰
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  11. coco
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 22:16:39

    I love you in all styles!… πŸ˜‰ So these hearts in Paperclay make an interesting and lovely change! πŸ™‚ Congratulations for your new publication of your artwork dear Lynne. Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  12. Samantha Read
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 16:05:58

    Quite simply adorable!

    Reply

  13. Jenny Marples
    Feb 21, 2015 @ 19:12:43

    I LOVE your colour choices and the design of that first heart in particular. More stunning work here Lynne! Jenny x

    Reply

  14. Shari T.
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 00:29:29

    OMG! I can’t believe that I missed seeing this blog post, Lynne!! I’m so sorry!! That’s not like me at all!! Where the heck have I been? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Let me just tell you–Your post title has actually got me singing “Don’t Go Breakin’ My Heart” by Elton John!! LOL πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It’s just the weird quirky music thing in me!
    I just LOVE these darling little heart ornaments, Lynne–and I do like the colors that you’re using!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The spread in SS featuring these darling hearts and the little canvas is Spectacular!! Congratulations for another Stunning spread with Stampington!! I just ‘Whole Lotta Love’ them for sharing you with the world!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    XOXO-Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

