Take Flight!

Hello Everyone
I remembered that I still have two PaperArtsy samples to share, created with the new Eclectica Designs by Sara Naumann. For the little hanging I am sharing in this post, I used stamps from ESN15. You can view the original PaperArtsy blog post here relating to all the new releases of the ESN sets.
The substrate is a PaperArtsy Heavy White GreyBoard No. 9 Tag SizeonelynnemoncrieffAfter cutting the substrate in half, I simply turned one section on the vertical, this would become the lower section once the two pieces were attached but that is a long way off as before attaching the pieces there was lots of fun to be had in getting messy with paint.
Six Frescos colours were used:- Lake Wanaka, Beach Hut, Vanilla, Guacamole, Sherbert and Spanish Mulberry.  Those were the colours Sara wanted us to work with.
I used the paints for the background, including stamping with paint and painting cardstock which would be the stamping surface for the various stamped elements.
For the little birdie I sponged a mix of colours onto the cardstock to provide variation with his wing stamped again onto a different piece of painted cardstock.  twolynnemoncrieffIn this photograph you can see the texture in the background. The circle emblem was stamped with paint and there is more stamping with what I can only describe as a sort of elemental script which was stamped with Staz-on. Touches of Grungepaste was also applied and a scattering of white dots with a Sharpie paint pen which I also used to doodle a frame. Scraps of lace also create texture.
You no doubt guessed that the scallop border is the birdie’s wing cut in half!  Seriously, this birdie is a fabulous design because that little wing is so useful.threelynnemoncrieffHis little banner declaring that we take flight.fourlynnemoncrieffWhimsical always appeals to me yet it isn’t a design style I dabble with but I enjoyed the process of creating this little hanging, even if the six Fresco colours did intimidate me to begin with.
Thank You for your visit to this post which I have been able to share today because of technical issues with my blog post for That’s Crafty.
Now that is what I should be sharing before I say goodbye. New PaperArtsy products from stamps to Frescos and stencils, are now available to purchase from That’s Crafty.
Wishes
Lynne

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftytrog
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 14:15:30

    One would never guess you had an issue with those colours Lynne, this little hanging looks absolutely beautiful!
    I hope your technical issues are sorted out soon.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  2. Ira
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 16:31:52

    How very subtle and pretty! And you have teamed up the colours so well, a very fine and most delication creation!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  3. Julie Lee
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 17:48:46

    I love what you created with these colours and stamps, Lynne. the texture in the background looks wonderful and the script was just perfect with those colours and images. You really made everything work together beautifully. I have now fallen in love with Sara’s little birds as well as her stars and hearts plates! I shall need to buy a new house to store all my stash in now! xxx

    Reply

  4. Corrie
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 18:14:13

    I am really enjoying seeing you ‘in colour’ Lynne and you do it so well !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  5. Shari T.
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 18:33:38

    I LOVE this little birdie hanging, Lynne!! You just make me want to paint!! I’ve got to pull out my paints and try to use them more–I needn’t be afraid, right? I LOVE your background and I was wondering about your darling scalloped edges!! I spied those scallops in your Colour My World posting, too and I loved it!! You are soooo clever, Lynne!! OH–LOVE the quote from Teddy Roosevelt, too!! (I’ve got a back story of being in one of his homes in New York over 10 years ago!) Words to live by!! Thank you for another spectacular creation!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  6. coco
    Feb 15, 2015 @ 22:12:03

    I perfectly remember this little birdie hanging with its little tag, and will remember it for long… This is such a fabulous and clever combination of gorgeous elements!!! Absolutely brilliant work Lynne!! 😀 Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  7. 3renee
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 02:46:46

    I love your use of color here! Very soft and pretty. The lace added wonderful texture to the piece. Brilliant!!

    Reply

  8. Paper Profusion
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 13:59:26

    The bird is such a wonderfully cute stamp! Love the vibrancy. Nicola x

    Reply

  9. Dorthe
    Feb 16, 2015 @ 16:13:56

    Dear Lynne, your hanger is so sweet constructed , with the two pieces attached with rings,- the wonderful texture and the dots you added, looks so great, and you used the colours beautifully, for the background, stamps and the bird.
    I forgot to tell you that I recieved the new Sara Naumann, flower stamp, and love it. I hope your day has been good, and wishes you a lovely evening.
    Hug from Dorthe

    Reply

  10. Shelly Schmidt
    Feb 17, 2015 @ 16:30:36

    I love this hanger- the sentiment is wonderful….And, I love seeing you create in such pretty colors! Love the fabulous backdrop you have created the colors are a feast for my eyes!

    Reply

  11. Anne R
    Feb 18, 2015 @ 19:54:23

    Apologies for my lateness…. I love the quirky bird and I like how you cut the tag up and attached it again in the way you did, it is so effective and your hanging tag is superb! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  12. Samantha Read
    Feb 19, 2015 @ 16:11:02

    Loving your creations with all the new stamps 🙂
    This little bird is so sweet 🙂 xx

    Reply

  13. Jenny Marples
    Feb 21, 2015 @ 19:11:13

    Love the quirky design and the way you flipped the second panel. Jenny x

    Reply

  14. butterfly
    Feb 22, 2015 @ 11:51:04

    Another charming, whimsical creation, Lynne, and you’ve reminded me I haven’t posted any PA follow-up posts after the releases. Time is not on my side at the moment.
    Alison xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

