Her Brave Heart (Somerset Studio)

Hello Everyone
Six months ago, or thereabouts, Somerset Studio announced their annual Colour Challenge Call, which was to be the colour lilac.  Initially had no intention of answering the call for a few reasons:- I rarely submit to Somerset Studio, I have only ever submitted to one of their Colour Challenge Calls which was for Aubergine (yes, I was published) and I am not exactly partial to lilac.  However,  I found myself reading the details time and again and before I knew it, I had decided to have a go, I had nothing to lose and if anything I had challenged myself to create with this colour.
I set to work on an art journal page using what were for me at that time, newish stamps (DT stamps I had received from That’s Crafty), Dina Wakley’s All The Gals.herbraveheartlynnemoncrieffonePaints were applied onto the watercolour paper panel after I had adhered various items to create a base layer of texture.
phototwolynnemoncrieffOn a recent post HERE I shared that I had used a stencil to create the heart embellishment.  Well the same stencil was used in the same way to create this heart, this time painted with Gelatos and NeoColor II watersoluble crayons.
A fragment of seam binding was stained to co-ordinate with the panel.
twolynnemoncrieffMark making, stamping in the form of the handwriting stamp from Dina Wakley’s Textures set and lots and lots of grungy paint flicks are some of what makes the background.texturedetailthreeA Gesso resist effect using this Mini Specimen stencil.  I also smudged areas with black watersoluble pencil to add to the grungy appearance. texturedetailoneYou can imagine how thrilled I was when the complimentary copy of the Jan/Feb issue of Somerset Studio arrived in the mail and there was my Lilac Girl along with a partner to this panel. To have both submissions published, well it was more than I could have ever hoped for.
Many thanks for your time in visiting this post because I always appreciate your visits.
Wishes
Lynne

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suesartofcraft
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 15:39:15

    Congratulations on having both pieces published. A lovely project and one of my favourite colours, in any shade.

    Reply

  2. Shelly Schmidt
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 16:56:57

    How wonderful- love the monochromatic theme with so much depth and texture! Your hert embellishment is so pretty! Love the touches of black to really pop the depth!

    Reply

  3. Lynda Warder
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 18:27:03

    Way to go! Not easy getting published by them, and to have TWO …congratulations

    Reply

  4. Corrie
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 18:56:43

    Such a pretty feminine art journal. Congratulations on being published yet again !
    You deserve it !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  5. Julie Lee
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 19:38:55

    Congratulations, Lynne! How lovely that you challenged yourself and that they published your beautiful journal page in Somerset Studios. I’m not a lover of lilac myself, but I must say it looks gorgeous here with these textures and the seam-binding. Just lately I’ve been starting to come round myself to trying out new colours, and lilacs and purples are appealing more to me than they did. Now you’re winning me over even more!You are so talented and imaginative Lynne and richly deserving of your success. Your work is always an inspiration! xxx

    Reply

  6. hettiecraft
    Mar 03, 2015 @ 19:48:32

    Congratulations Lynne. How could you not do lilac? Gorgeous piece.
    xx

    Reply

  7. Anne R
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 09:12:55

    How wonderful to have not one, but two pieces published Lynne! Huge congratulations. This piece is beautiful, I love the lilac and the gorgeous textured background you created for the heart and lady image. You are such an inspiration and your venture into new colours is certainly working for me! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  8. craftytrog
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 15:33:47

    That background looks amazing Lynne! Congratulations xx

    Reply

  9. Dorthe
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 16:08:41

    I truly love how you used the colour and created that fantastic background.
    The stencil and handwriting stamp looks wonderful, softened with the many lilac tones you created. And being a “fabric-girl ” I ofcourse love your adds of cheese cloth and seambinding, both coloured so beautifully, dear Lynne.
    Congratulations my lovely friend on being published, I believe they would love many more submitions for Somerset Studio, from you.
    Smiles from Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  10. coco
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 22:36:22

    Congratulations Lynne!!! 😀 Lovely news tonight, I’m always happy to read such good news for you… And I love your art journal page in these sweet and sublte shades of Lilac and black.. a bit striking. The heart is fabulous. Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  11. Renee Stien
    Mar 04, 2015 @ 23:19:09

    What a fun surprise for you and so well deserved- Congratulations!

    Reply

  12. Samantha Read
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 11:40:15

    Congratulations Lynne, it is truly a beautiful creation 🙂
    Wishing you a very lovely weekend, big hugs xx

    Reply

  13. marjiekemper
    Mar 06, 2015 @ 22:45:37

    Congratulations, Lynne! No surprise they published your beautiful work. So glad to see you journaling!

    Reply

  14. Shari T.
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 00:20:50

    OH YAY!! Congratulations, Lynne!! Somerset Studio is a Stampington magazine that first introduced me to the entire collection of their publications, but not one that I subscribe to! Go figure!! So, I would have missed this, had you not told us about it here at your blog!! I’m so glad that you shared this art journal page that you submitted to them!! It’s Glorious!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  15. Sharon
    Mar 07, 2015 @ 01:09:15

    Beautiful – love the colours!

    Reply

  16. Ira
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 16:59:23

    How cool this looks Lynne! I happen to love lilacs and so it goes without saying that I really love your background, superneat!
    Ira’s Crea Corner

    Reply

  17. gio
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 07:06:02

    Mmmm is it first time ever that I see lilac on your blog…isn’ it!? Since this is the gorgeous result, you have to use it more…beside, I love lilac and purple, of course 🙂

    Reply

  18. butterfly
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 13:10:16

    Glorious layers with so much textural interest – a surprise to see such lilac here at Adorn, but no surprise that they wanted to publish this beautiful page!!
    Alison xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

