They Sing Their Song Of Springtime (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
A wee while ago I shared with you two cards which had been featured in The Stampers’ Sampler (Oct/Nov/Dec issue).  I thought I would now share with you the other two cards.
Just to outline that all four cards had the common theme of using RedLead Paperworks Bird Defined, using this particular stamp for the VOAT (Variation On A Theme) category in the sister publication, Take Ten (sometimes they will publish submissions in a different publication).  I also had the same elements running throughout:- neutral colour palette with a hint of duck egg blue, stamping onto vintage French book text which had been prepared with Gesso.
photofivelynnemoncrieffI love mica tiles especially when it is a theme relating to the natural world.  A simple bit of tile can bring such depth to whatever it is layered onto and even though on this card I used quite a decent size piece of tile, I keep even the tiniest fragments because there is always a place for the littlest of shards.photosixlynnemoncrieffWith the theme being birds I liked the notion of gathering little bits of this and that, as though the bird has had a busy day gathering items to take back add to a nest.
The duck egg blue paint was used to liven up the neutrals and for some reason, I cannot help but think of Springtime when I see this colour.  The colour appears in the form of paint, dotty ribbon and a flat back pearl.photoeightlynnemoncrieff

Another Bird Defined card
This card is what the Bird Defined stamp looks like when stamped as a whole.  In my eyes this is a  brilliantly designed stamp because there is a decent sized bird which looks beautiful as a stand alone stamped image, then moving down there is the word bird and beyond that the actual definition.  It is actually three stamps for the price of one! (BTW, I am not on commission lol)photoonelynnemoncrieffThe text peeks through the Gesso, this is why it has to be one of my all time favourite surfaces.phototwolynnemoncrieffA sweet spotty feather adorns this card. Just to say that looking at this photograph you can see that I utilise everything, that is a piece of the book page, the margin, which was surplus to requirements when applying the Gesso in preparation of stamping the bird.photothreelynnemoncrieffIf birds are a favourite theme for you then please take a look at RedLead’s on-line store as they have some beautiful birds, feathers, nests and also words and sentiments relating to this particular theme and not forgetting their wonderful range of nature inspired stencils.
Already I have noticed, if I am awake during the very early hours of the morning, that the birds are sweetly singing away, as though without a care in the world, telling all who hear them that Spring has arrived.  Although some could argue that those little feathered ones are far too optimistic and they need to be keeping a keener eye on the weather forecast!
Thank You, always, for your visit to my Blog, which is greatly appreciated.  I am so lucky to have such loyal friends who take the time to visit and comment.
Wishes
Lynne

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly Schmidt
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 04:34:52

    Every detail is so fab- love the Mica and the depth it adds the robin blue sure does add a nice Spring touch, and I love all of the bits of burlap and ribbon and lace. Beautifully done.

    Reply

  2. Annie G
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 06:10:07

    Absolutely beautiful cards Lynne, with your wonderful attention to detail and perfect adornments

    TFS and hugs Annie x

    Reply

  3. Julie Lee
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 08:17:53

    How beautiful these cards are and how they tell of spring. I love the idea of gathering the tiniest and the often overlooked item and then – not only utilising it, but also giving it a glorious new life on a project. The natural palette and the subtle little touches make these so special. Somehow you take even the humblest of scraps – burlap and feathers and ribbon and reveal their intrinsic beauty. I can’t imagine anything nicer than receiving one of these cards, Lynne. They are exquisite. xxx

    Reply

  4. Anne R
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 09:37:43

    Two really wonderful compositions Lynne and those little touches of duck egg blue are so uplifting! I always love how you use the mica pieces – Julie above is right – these are exquisite creations! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  5. Hazel H
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 10:47:48

    I love everything about your cards Lynne – they’re beautiful.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  6. MarieS.
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 11:24:17

    These are absolutely beautiful, dear Lynne.
    Hope all is well.
    Have a wonderful day.
    XO Marie

    Reply

  7. Fliss
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 11:25:54

    These are simply gorgeous Lynne. So classically elegant and vintage style.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  8. Meggymay
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 13:33:27

    Gorgeous collection of projects, as always they have your special touch.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  9. Dorthe
    Mar 11, 2015 @ 16:18:05

    They are so very beautiful, my dear Lynne , the lovely bird a little fat and sweet one, is one of my favorites, and looks great on the gessoed papers. The green and blue adds makes them wonderfully springy,- and a feeling of ease, and happyness, fills me when looking and absorbing all your beautiful details.
    Hoping your day was sunny and good, and sending you a hug.
    Dorthe x

    Reply

  10. thecobweboriumemporium
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 00:03:53

    What a truly beautiful card Lynne. I just adore what you’ve done with it. I’m not a big lover of ‘bird cards’ – as they’re just not my sort of thing, but this one is one that I’d buy in a heartbeat. It’s perfect – and the addition of the feather adds so much to it’s dimension. You couldn’t have chosen a better feather than the one you did.
    Hope everything is fine and groovy in your world.
    Sending love and crafty squidges ~ Cobs. x

    Reply

  11. pearshapedchris
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 00:06:19

    These really are so beautiful – the little flash of green is such a lovely addition! Chrisx

    Reply

  12. Samantha Read
    Mar 12, 2015 @ 13:05:13

    As always Lynne, such beautiful creations. You are an inspiration.
    Big hugs xx

    Reply

  13. Julie Lavalette
    Mar 13, 2015 @ 17:09:55

    More beautiful delicate creations and the use of the mica tiles suits the birds perfectly.
    Julie x

    Reply

  14. butterfly
    Mar 14, 2015 @ 13:08:22

    Completely enchanting! I love the book page stamping – and the bird is a delight. The duck egg polka dot ribbon on the first one is a lovely touch, and the little fluffy feather is perfection!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  15. coco
    Mar 15, 2015 @ 08:24:00

    Hi Lynne, I absolutely adore both cards, you always so perfectly show the beauty of these birds stamps by RedLead!!! The best way maybe to prove it to you is that I’m decided to pass an order to them as soon as I can (probably at the beginning of May), despite the high shipping rates for international customers. But I’ve just looked at their birds and feathers section and wow…!!!
    Your Mica tiles and all the bits and lovely details like the blue pale painting are so beautiful.. I wish you a happy Sunday dear Lynne, I’m going to look back at your previous posts now. Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  16. Shari T.
    Mar 15, 2015 @ 16:52:05

    I LOVE these little bird cards, Lynne! I just love all birds and these images are so darn sweet!! The hint of the blue that you’ve used is soooo pretty-Just like a Robin’s egg! 🙂 Oh, and there are those pieces of mica–LOVE THAT! Oh, and look at that darling little feather, too!! I just LOVE your creations, Lynne!! I’m so glad that Stampington features your designs and I’m so glad that you show us the finer details that you put into making these wonderful cards! I just love you, Lynne 🙂 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

