Oh You Pretty Things (published in Take Ten)

Hello Everyone
In this scheduled post I am sharing cards which were published in the Dec/Jan/Feb issue of Take Ten (Stampington & co). Below are three of the five cards which appear in the feature, I was so happy to see them be published.
The cards feature All The Gals (available from That’s Crafty).
The actual Gals have, to my eyes, quite a contemporary, edgy appearance to them. I liked the idea of Β the contrast of the edgy Gals set against pastel tones and pretty little bit of this ‘n’ that. Β The splatters and the black smeared onto the edges of the cardbase bring it back to that element of edginess once again and creates a frame for each of the Gals.fiercelynnemoncrieffTTAll the backgrounds were swiftly painted with little concern about any of the white cardstock peeking through here and there (conscious of the time a card takes to be made when submitting to Take Ten), then the fun of creating splatters.stronglynnemoncrieffttThe word stamps were used in the background with one word selected to describe each Gal.irresistiblelynnemoncrieffttSo there we have it, a collection of ten minutes (or less) cards. Those cards were made not so long after receiving the stamp set from That’s Crafty and although I liked the stamps on first sight, I have surprised myself at just how often I have inked up the Gals.
Many thanks for your visit to this scheduled post and for your continued support for my blog.
Wishes
Lynne

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lee
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 16:01:00

    I really like the idea of Take Ten – making cards in 10 minutes or less because I’m such a slow person when it comes to creating and I spend far longer on things than I plan to – always. It strikes me that speedy cards depend on putting together the perfect elements and having a simple yet stunning idea that works without too much tweaking. You really have the gift for this Lynne: your colour choices are always spot on and you have here blended the pretty and the edgy with excellent results. They fit the bill for Take Ten to perfection. xxx

    Reply

  2. suesartofcraft
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 16:58:27

    I really like these cards Lynne. They are so stylish and I agree very contemporary images.

    Reply

  3. Shelly Schmidt
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 18:24:37

    I cannot make a 10 minute card- will have to try again though! I make it hard for myself…..! I love these images- and the one on the fierce card kinda reminds me of a nun….I do love them on the soft tones of your backgrounds and love the strip of script and the addition of the flowers and butterflies!

    Reply

  4. Suze Bain
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 18:38:39

    I like these sketchy girls Lynne and the background words give a real sense of ” girl power”. Fab! Xx

    Reply

  5. Rachel Fisher
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 21:12:58

    wonderful makes – I love these images – and the words are awesome! Big hugs to you Lynne! Rachel xx

    Reply

  6. Meggymay
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 21:59:49

    Beautiful cards Lynne,amazing makes in such a short time.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  7. Rita
    Mar 17, 2015 @ 22:51:10

    Beautiful cards Lynne as always. Hope you are well and I’ll be in touch with you soon. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  8. Hazel H
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 10:11:19

    Beautiful cards Lynne.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  9. Shari T.
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 15:37:49

    Oh, here they are!! I LOVE these cards, Lynne!! The mere thought of making anything in 10 minutes or less-Daunting, to say the least! πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ But, that’s the kind of card making I used to do, and these card designs took me right back to my creative history and prompted me to try my hand at 10 minute card making once again!! Good thing for a heat tool!! πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ Lynne, you just bring out the creative in me and I just LOVE YOU for that!! XOXO-Shari πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Dorthe
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 15:59:07

    They are surely contemporery ,gals, some we could meet on the street ,- and here they also sends messages from the world we live in, I think .Your cards are lovely each, with the tiny bits , and sweet different colours. I love you used all the words behind them, and that they each have their own,to characterize them, too.
    I have never been able to make a card in 10 minutes, and admire you ,for doing it with such special results, dear friend.
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  11. Ira
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 19:05:10

    So sorry for missing out on so many wonderful posts here dear Lynne, but we spent an unexpected week in Valencia at Las Fallas, celebrating my DH’s birthday πŸ˜‰ You have been so creative as usual, your creations are always such a treat and a real pleasure to look at! Love your style! Sending hugs, Ira xox

    Reply

  12. Anne R
    Mar 18, 2015 @ 22:09:33

    Wonderful cards Lynne, the images are very striking and I do love your splatting in the backgrounds – just beautiful! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  13. Avril
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 15:25:29

    Beautiful cards Lynne, the images do look lovely on the soft backgrounds.
    Congratulations on being published again.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  14. coco
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 15:35:08

    Congrats for this new publication Lynne! Although I’m not an adept of C&S cards and Take Ten (a friend of mine gave me some issues last year, but I must confess you that this is not my fave magazine..), yours cards are very lovely! πŸ™‚ It was a very good idea to use these gals in this way, on soften painted backgrounds. Hugs to you, Coco xxx

    Reply

  15. wandahentges
    Mar 19, 2015 @ 20:30:10

    Congrats, Lynne!!! Wonderful cards!!!

    Reply

  16. Samantha Read
    Mar 20, 2015 @ 11:39:25

    Love these Lynne. Such powerful messages πŸ™‚

    Reply

  17. barnie
    Mar 20, 2015 @ 22:24:08

    Congrats on being published again. These pieces are wonderful πŸ™‚ Sorry for not being around during the last time.

    Reply

  18. pearshapedchris
    Mar 22, 2015 @ 12:31:58

    Beautiful cards Lynne! Chrisx

    Reply

  19. cynthia
    Apr 05, 2015 @ 11:45:38

    a fabulous set of cards lynne…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

