The Many Faces of Friendship (Take Ten)

Hello Everyone
Last year I submitted a collection of cards to Stampington & co’s Take Ten, all featuring Dina Wakley’s All The Gals stamps (available from That’s Crafty).  One of the cards was selected by Take Ten as their Design Challenge layout. (I believe they select from all submissions to Take Ten, looking for a card design which they can break down into a layout for others to be inspired by). I was amazed to have a card selected for this category. The other cards I submitted were subsequently published in another issue of Take Ten and can be seen HERE.
I rarely submit to the Challenge Calls at Take Ten, mainly due to the time factor of their deadlines and I cannot remember ever submitting to their Design Challenge Call but I had to give this a go.
Instead of a stamped image as the focal I opted for  Darkroom Door Photobooth images, pairing them up with some of the wonderful Labels stamps from Redlead Paperworks. I was really pushed for time, in fact I was so pushed for time that I was sure that by the time my submissions arrived at their office, I would have missed the deadline but joy of joys, the trio of cards appear in the latest issue of Take Ten as the feature, Friends Forever.
It was fun to look through the Photobooth images to decide which would work with the sentiments.  Immediately I could see this woman as an artist with that flair she is displaying in the way she is dressed, the hat perched at a jaunty angle.
On the initial card, the Design Challenge card, I had randomly stamped words across the middle of the card, creating a band.  I wanted to work with that idea once again so on this card I stamped Life is Art (available from That’s Crafty) which worked so well with the idea of this woman as an artist.sheisanartistlynnemoncrieffThe backgrounds were too stark when left white so I injected a pop of colour and a little bit of whimsy by stamping polka dots, simply a round sponge brush and paint.  I painted cardstock either the same colour or a lighter version onto which I stamped the Redlead Labels.  The colours of the polka dots were also picked up in the fabric scraps.
This sentiment stamped across the middle is from the same stamp set as the one above.shemakesmelaughlynnemoncrieffI thought of the girls as friends but after making the card I thought they could actually pass as sisters.
Friendship Forever is actually two separate stamps from Darkroom Door.mybestfriendlynnemoncrieffAt the moment I am unable to craft, this has been the situation for many weeks now and I really don’t know when I will be able to dip my toe back into crafting, can only keep my fingers and toes crossed that it won’t be that much longer. This means that any blog posts I share will be anything which I have been lucky enough to have published. To me it is old art because it would be made last year but it will be new to my Blog. It is a way of trying to keep my Blog at least a little bit active.
I have started to read the comments which have been left for me over the past weeks. I count myself so lucky to have such loyal friends, taking the time to still visit my Blog and to comment. Thanks to all of you for your friendship.
One last thing before I finish this post. When Take Ten announced the Design Challenge Call, the lovely Shari mentioned that she planned on submitting cards, in support of my card being selected for this spot. I was so thrilled when I opened the pages of Take Ten to see that Shari’s art was published and all the more exciting, her cards were also presented in a feature.
Thank You to Stampington & co for sharing one of my cards on their Facebook page.
I have another scheduled post, set for Sunday, for That’s Crafty. Until then, have a lovely weekend.
Wishes
Lynne

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ira
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 17:40:09

    Even though to you your creations are ‘not new’, to us they most certainly are. These are such fun cards, the polka dots make them so playful, too. Hope you’ll soon feel much better Lynne, take care, Ira x
    ♥Ira’s Crea Corner♥

    Reply

  2. 1cardcreator
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 18:04:56

    Great cards, congrats on the publication too! I almost thought that was a picture of Valerie in the 1st one, she is an artist too! ~Diane

    Reply

  3. breathecreaterelax
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 18:09:29

    Thanks Lynne for sharing your story. I’m going to head out and pick up the latest issue of Take Ten and make it a goal to submit some work. I enjoyed your cards. mj

    Reply

  4. Corrie
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 18:25:42

    These are fabulous Lynne ! Hopefully you will be back to your old self soon ! Wish I could help !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  5. Julie Lee
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 18:27:20

    I am so sorry to hear that you haven’t been able to craft, Lynne. It is always a joy to visit your blog and to see all the delightful creations you have had published. I love these photobooth cards. The polka dots are really reminiscent of the fifties and sixties and take me back to childhood memories. I love those Red Lead labels – what an excellent idea to match them with the photobooth sitters like this! I think my favourite is the jaunty-hatted artist lady! I feel I should like to have known her! Every good wish, Lynne, I do hope you will be crafting again really soon. xxx

    Reply

  6. Valerie-Jael
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 18:39:01

    Fab work, congrats on being published again. Valerie

    Reply

  7. Annie G
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 18:56:15

    Sending you my bestest wishes and a huge cyber hug Lynne. I am sorry to hear you are so poorly. You must have been thrilled to have these gorgeous DD cards published……….I am certainly thrilled for you.

    Take care
    Annie x

    Reply

  8. craftytrog
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 19:00:54

    Just adore those polka dots, fabulous cards, congratulations Lynne!
    Thinking of you, and hoping that you’re well enough to craft again soon xxx

    Reply

  9. Suze Bain
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 19:09:26

    These are such happy cards Lynne, I love the colourful,polka dots and don’t we all have some of those photo booth pics stuffed in an envelope somewhere, I suppose they were our versions of the “selfie”. Lol. Sorry to hear things are not good with you at the moment, sending big hugs and hope you are able to don your crafty hat real soon. Take good care. Xx

    Reply

  10. Anne R
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 21:51:36

    Oh Lynne, it must have lifted your spirits enormously – so thrilled for you! I am just so very sorry that you are still not feeling up to crafting but it is always a pleasure to visit you, whether new or old work, it is always delightful. I hope you have managed to enjoy some of the glorious weather we have been having! Big hugs, Anne xxx

    Reply

  11. Julie Lavalette
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 22:15:12

    Congrats Lynne on another publication, I do hope this brightened your day and you get back to some crafting soon. Thinking of you and sending a big hug.
    Julie xx

    Reply

  12. tracy745
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 23:32:12

    So sorry to hear you are not able to craft Lynne, hugs. Hope that changes soon. Love today’s pieces, the dot backgrounds work so well with the focal images. Tracy x

    Reply

  13. paper profusion
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 00:26:19

    Sending you my Warmest wishes and hugs Lynne that improvement comes to you at soonest possible. I completely understand your frustration. I’m soooo pleased to learn of yet another publication. Not surprised either seeing these terrific designs, Congratulations and well deserved. Every best wish winging it’s way over to you, Nicola x

    Reply

  14. marci piraro
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 02:58:23

    I love these! Different from a lot of your other work, but so creative, and just as wonderful. Congratulations on the publication. Hope you are back to crafting soon!

    Reply

  15. pearshapedchris
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 12:28:52

    Another set of fabulous inspiration! Congratulations on the publication! Sad to hear you haven’t been crafting lately and that ‘normal service is resumed as soon as possible’ (showing my age here!!) Hugs, Chrisx

    Reply

  16. Meggymay
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 14:09:00

    Beautiful cards Lynne. Hope you will be crafting again soon.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  17. suesartofcraft
    Apr 11, 2015 @ 14:59:17

    I love the images and the colour you’ve used on these Lynne. What a great way to use the photo-booth pictures too. Fingers crossed that you will be crafting away again very soon.

    Reply

  18. Sharon
    Apr 12, 2015 @ 08:30:42

    Wow fabulous Lynne!

    Reply

  19. Shari T.
    Apr 12, 2015 @ 17:32:48

    Oh, Lynne–Talk about The Many Faces of Friendship! You are waaay to sweet to have included a mention of me in this posting, and you’ve pretty much brought tears to my eyes!! But, they’re happy tears 🙂 I’m just emotional like this, these days! 🙂
    You inspire me so much, Lynne and your art makes me happy!! Your polka-dot cards featured in Take Ten are sooo happy and fun–Just so uplifting 🙂 I knew these were your cards, even before reading the intro on them 🙂 Big hugs of renewed health being sent your way my Dear Friend!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  20. Samantha Read
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 10:42:26

    Oh Lynne, I’m a huge fan of polka dots and I just love your cards. I do hope you can return to crafting very soon. Big BIG hugs to you from Poppy and me xx

    Reply

  21. Dorthe
    Apr 14, 2015 @ 16:16:00

    My dear Lynne, I suddenly ( when seing you on fb ) found out ,that I missed this post, I`m sorry ,but here I am. Congratulations on being on their fb page and also with the publication in Take Ten, I just got it from Wendy, and I also LOVE your nature art pieces ,published there , so very beautiful. You are such a treasured artist in their publications, and I`m always so exited to actually hold the magazines, in my hand and see my dear friend ,in them.
    Warm hug, from Dorthe -xx

    Reply

  22. 2amscrapper
    Apr 15, 2015 @ 21:57:54

    These are adorable! I’m currecntly looking for your link to the tutorial currently featured in Stampington’s email newsletter, they pulled your feature from a 2012 issue where you made lovely cards using dictionary stamps.

    Reply

  23. coco
    Apr 16, 2015 @ 11:57:13

    Oh dear Lynne, I read that you are not feeling better yet?.. Fingers crossed that you get healthier quickly now, to find again the joy to craft as you love and that makes us so happy.
    Your three cards published are simply wonderful, they form a fabulous trio!!! Really loving them… And this is great to read that Shari has also been published following your steps.. 😀 Maybe I should try too one day, but I do not receive any Stampinton & Co magazine, it’s hard to get them here in France, and also to find the time to craft in advance of regular deadlines! 🙂
    Sending you big hugs my lovely friend. Coco xxx

    Reply

  24. Jenny Marples
    Apr 17, 2015 @ 12:23:35

    Hoping you turn a corner soon Lynne. I love your cards and am so pleased for you that they’ve been published. Jenny x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

