To The Tower (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
This is the second card from the trio I mentioned HERE.  There are quite a lot of details on each card which would have resulted in too photo heavy a blog post if I had showcased all three cards together. This card once again features PaperArtsy LPC stamps.
three.1The background for this card was prepared in the same way as for the card shared previously.  For the tag I painted it with a diluted wash of the colours used for the background.  You might be able to see that I stamped onto the tag and then I stamped the image again onto watercolour paper I prepared with paints, fussy cutting particular elements which I overlaid onto the main image, such as the cheeks, the tower and the collar.   To bring further detail to the collar I painted a teeny mosaic tile.  I am repeating myself when I share that the tile was one of many rescued from an old lamp.  When I was a child my parents had a lamp base which apparently was a bottle (I think it was a champagne bottle ) which had been covered with mosaic tiles …. upcycled but no-one called it that back then.  I cannot remember who up-cycled it, I will need to ask my parents that one.  Isn’t it funny when you reach a stage in your life when you realise that memories can be warped, what you actually think you remember from your childhood can vary from actual events.  I am sure it was my Uncle who decorated the bottle but will not be surprised if this is just me re-writing history!  Anyway the lamp base was unearthed years ago during a tidy up of the loft, I rescued the lamp base from items to be taken to the council dump.  Every now and then a tile will appear on something I make!three.2A gathering of fragments to dress up the side of the tag.three.4Another of the painted tiles!  This time embellishing a metal bezel, creating a detail of the two towers.three.5Thank you for visiting this post and I will share the final card very soon.
Wishes
Lynne

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie G
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 22:20:35

    Another stunning card Lynne with such wonderful details. You have showcased the LP stamp beautifully and the addition of the recycled tiles make this so unique. Love the way you have used the tower stamps and of course the fragments are perfectly positioned

    Tfs and best wishes
    Annie x

    Reply

  2. Elaine Wheeler
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 22:40:41

    great colours , love the buckle too xx

    Reply

  3. Rita
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 04:29:12

    Good Morning Lynne. What a magnificent creation. I love all the colours and textures, the stamp is perfect for the fabulous background. Have a Good Day. Hugs Rita xxx

    Reply

  4. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 07:54:31

    What a beautiful piece. I love how you’ve used the two towers – and that lamp tile (genius!) to create the belt.

    Reply

  5. gio
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 08:11:09

    I love every single details, Lynne, and those mosaic tiles are a historic lovely pieces.

    Reply

  6. Astrid
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 08:25:19

    Stunning piece and such a gorgeous colour combo!!!

    Reply

  7. Dorthe
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 08:59:11

    It is gorgeous, dear Lynne. A so beautiful piece, with the collar looking like tulle , and love the tiles, and your story behind them. They are just perfect for the colours used here, and looks royal between the two towers!! Your background with the stenciling, is faboulous coulored, too.
    Wishing you a wonderful day, my friend.
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  8. Julie Lee
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 09:16:10

    More exquisite beauty, Lynne. I love all the delicate details, which accord with your colour scheme perfectly. The scrap of gold, the text and the tile enhance this little gem. xxx

    Reply

  9. suesartofcraft
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 10:37:48

    Such lovely backgrounds, very delicate but as ever with lots of texture and detail. I love the stamp on this although this is not usually my kind of image.

    Reply

  10. Corrie
    Jun 02, 2015 @ 17:40:23

    I saw these cards in the Stampers’ Sampler and they are all awesome, Lynne !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  11. craftytrog
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 13:50:34

    So many wonderful details Lynne, I love the story behind the tiny tiles! x

    Reply

  12. Dawn
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 16:24:34

    Such beautiful work xx

    Reply

  13. Anne R
    Jun 03, 2015 @ 23:34:50

    This is so, so beautiful Lynne, the stamp itself is wonderful and I love the gorgeous background you created. The tile is a lovely addition and what a lovely story behind it too. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  14. Avril
    Jun 04, 2015 @ 07:45:35

    Beautiful card Lynne, love the colours for the background with this image.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  15. Shari T.
    Jun 07, 2015 @ 19:53:01

    Another Fabulous card, Lynne! Love the backstory of the salvaged tiles!! Yes, those memories–I now call them ‘head movies’ because they are so dim, like scenes from an old movie 🙂 🙂 I completely adore all of your detailed fussy cutting and layering of those fussy cut pieces–there’s so much interest added to the image when you do that–I love it!! This card, like its two mates, are soooo completely deserving to be in the pages of Stamper’s Sampler!! Can’t wait to read your details of the third card, Lynne!! 🙂 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  16. Sharon
    Jun 10, 2015 @ 05:26:28

    Love the colour tones!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

