Shine Bright (Take Ten)

Hello Everyone
I would like to share a trio of cards with one of my absolute favourite Redlead Paperworks stamps, Shine Bright. This little girl is wonderful, such a fun stamp to play with. I teamed her up with another fabulous stamp set from Redlead, a set called Labels – She Knows All Things Are Possible which is a set I have played with on many occasions as the stamps have sentiments which are just that little bit different.
Thank You to Stampington & co’s Take Ten for publishing this trio in the Spotlights section of the Summer issue.
shelistens Paint was swiped onto each watercolour paper panel. In reality the paint was more vivid than the creamy colour which has appeared in the photograph (above).
Cutting the words into word tiles and scribbling boxes around each tile gave a more mixed media appearance than if I had simply stamped the label stamp in its original format and by altering the layout of the words it created a more balanced composition. shelistens.1I deliberately left the white of the watercolour paper peeking through, aiming for a loose feel and the white brings more interest than if the paint had been carefully applied. Also, with Take Ten submissions I am conscious of the time element. hopeandheartSubmitting to Take Ten has been a wonderful exercise for me as it has made me strip back my style to fit within the criteria of this publication.  The biggest hurdle for me, I know most of you will relate to this, is that we make our own backgrounds which can at times be the most time consuming element of a card.  For submissions to Take Ten, as someone who doesn’t tend to use pattern paper, it was a matter of what do I do about the background.   I was beginning to be all splattered out! LOL – a plain cardbase which needed something injected so I would flick paint onto it but I couldn’t keep submitting cards with those backgrounds time after time!  A quick swipe of paint I realised, needed no drying time and with the hint of white shining through it adds some character and not a paint splatter in sight!shehascourageThe girl was stamped onto the painted background and again onto contrasting polka dot paper, layering up the dress and her boots to the main image. shehascourage.1So there we have it, quick makes which hopefully still pack a punch with the colours and uplifting sentiments.
Stealing the words from this little girl …. I send you hope and heart.
Wishes
Lynne

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne R
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 12:46:31

    The little girl really is adorable and all of the words you chose suit her so well! The cards are all beautiful! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  2. suesartofcraft
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 13:21:38

    Lovely colours and the image is gorgeous.

    Reply

  3. Dorthed
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 14:26:38

    I love the different borders you created on each card, dear Lynne,- and how you put the words in frames, so they did not float all over the page. Beautiful little girl in polka dot dress, and sweet colours, which ( for me ) may be a little strong ,but which suits these cards, very wonderful !!
    Sunshine hugs,
    Dorthe

    Reply

  4. Meggymay
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 14:47:06

    The backgrounds are just right for this adorable image. They are fabulous cards.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  5. coco
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 17:28:38

    Even simple since you made these cards for Take Ten and I think time to do cards must remain short, all three are simply delightful!! And I agree with you, these stamps are totally gorgeous, especially when YOU use them my dear friend. 🙂 xxx

    Reply

  6. craftytrog
    Jun 15, 2015 @ 18:08:06

    Wonderful quick cards Lynne! x

    Reply

  7. Julie Lee
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 23:10:32

    What a superb effect, Lynne! So simple and so beautiful. These cards are a delight – unique and special. I love Red Lead stamps and it was your beautiful work with them that encouraged me to invest in some of their lovely sentiments. They are indeed, just that little bit different. xxx

    Reply

  8. Samantha Read
    Jun 18, 2015 @ 11:38:47

    So sweet 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Reply

  9. Shelly Schmidt
    Jun 19, 2015 @ 04:24:51

    Wonderful trio of cards- such cute images too! Back from a computer crash- trying to catch up on blogging!

    Reply

  10. Sharon
    Jun 30, 2015 @ 13:17:04

    So cute & sweet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

