Summer Sunshine & Lazy Days (PaperArtsy Launch)

Hello Everyone
It is time for another launch night over at PaperArtsy. Tonight announces the launch of the first of two new stamp sets from Emma Godfrey, EEG09.

I was filled with excitement and also apprehension when Emma invited me to be one of her wingmen. Excited at the prospect of working with stamps which at one time would have seen me running for the hills, wondering how on earth I could fit the stamps into shabby chic/vintage mode and this was also the reason for my apprehension, would I be able to create samples for Emma that would do justice to her designs.
With the stipulated colour palette of Autumn Fire, Haystack, Guacamole, Lake Wanaka and Concrete I decided to give myself over to the stamps and simply have some FUN!
On first sight of the stamp set I knew I had to turn a sun into a flower head and what was fun was playing around with the design.
sampleonelynnemA peek into the background with the various Frescos and some random stamping and a closer look at the stems for the flowers which was actually the straight edge of the clouds … didn’t I just say that the stamps are versatile!sampleonedetaillynnemThe stamps have a lovely naive quality.  In this sample I once again used the cloud stamp to create a grassy hillock. sampletwolynnemI opted not to ink the edges of the flowers as I wanted a brightness to the overall flowers which I would have lost with the use of ink.  This detail shows the layers of the fussy cutting along with a painted wooden star.  This was the only embellishment used on the first two samples.  No torn layers, no fragments of lace, mica, seam binding, etc, all of my usual suspects, it really was all about the stamps and Frescos.sampletwodetaillynnemSample Three:- A fun, stamped representation of a day at the beach.
Two large clouds were transformed into waves layered with muslin painted with Lake Wanaka, to create this beach scene with a liberal scattering of mica flakes and sequins bringing shimmer to this panel to give the impression of sunlight bouncing off the water.samplethreelynnemA layered sun peeking from behind the chipboard bunting.samplethreedetaillynnemFor this panel I wanted to convey that no matter the weather, especially days of grey clouds and rain, that life can still be a picnic!samplefourlynnemThe lines, representing rainfall are the stamped straight edges from the cloud stamp, the same as I used in the first two samples for the flowers’ stems.
samplefourdetaillynnemSo there we have it, my four samples for the EEG09 launch. I have to say Thank You to Emma Godfrey for inviting me to be one of her wingmen, trusting me with her stamp designs. It was a fun challenge!
If you are interested in Emma’s stamps for the HotPicks launched yesterday evening then please remember they will be available from your favourite stamp retailers and that includes That’s Crafty.
Wishes
Lynne

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. craftytrog
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 19:51:45

    I love your samples Lynne! You used the clouds and suns so cleverly to create the grass and flowers etc.
    Alison xxx

    Reply

  2. Paper Profusion
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 19:57:44

    These are fantastic Lynne!! Nicola x

    Reply

  3. butterfly
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 19:59:42

    What fabulous summery samples, Lynne – a wonderful exploration into new realms of colour and style, and I think you’ve really done Emma and her stamps proud.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  4. Julie Lee
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 20:02:43

    I really love what you did with Emma’s light-hearted, summery stamps Lynne. It’s true that they are not exactly what we would usually associate with your lovely vintage style; but you have brought out their beautiful, naive quality brilliantly. They are so evocative, reminding me of children’s book illustrations from seaside stories. I love how you transformed the different elements into a wonderful fantasy world. I particularly love those little pennants. I also really like how you used those sequins. Gorgeous projects that make me long for the sound of the sea – I can almost taste the sand in my picnic! xxx

    Reply

  5. 3renee
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 21:24:49

    I love your unique samples! Fun looking stamps & pennants.

    Reply

  6. rachel fisher
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 22:03:08

    these are amazing Lynne – I adore what you have done with the new stamps – brilliant and very vibrant! Hugs rachel xx

    Reply

  7. Avril
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 22:22:24

    Fabulous samples Lynne, great use of the cloud stamp too. Love the colour palettes.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  8. Anne R
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 23:25:02

    You may have felt apprehensive but by golly you pulled it out of the bag Lynne, your samples are absolutely stunning! I really love the clouds and using sequins to look like rain was a genius idea – fantastic work, love them all!! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  9. michele s
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 06:06:54

    this is such utter loveliness. it cries out of happy wonderful summer days and sweet memories. I love every piece. xo

    Reply

  10. Annie G
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 07:02:11

    Absolutely stunning makes using Emma’s gorgeous stamps. Particularly like sample three xx

    Have a great week Lynne

    Hugs Annie x

    Reply

  11. Meggymay
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 09:09:04

    Wow, these are all gorgeous samples, love how the sun became a flower, all the colours look great with these stamps,
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  12. Hazel H
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 10:35:27

    I love what you’ve done with the stamps Lynne, all the samples are fabulous.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  13. Fliss
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 10:55:37

    These are all absolutely stunning Lynne! Amazing use of those stamps and love how you turned the sun into such gorgeous flowers.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  14. wandahentges
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 14:08:46

    All wonderful projects, Lynne!!!!!!!!!! Emma’s new stamps are great!!!

    Reply

  15. Diane
    Jul 07, 2015 @ 21:50:40

    What fun colors and designs.

    Hugs Diane

    Reply

  16. coco
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 09:04:10

    Hi Lynne, at first my apologies to leave you a comment only now on these fabulous cards for Paper Artsy, it’s becoming very hard times for me… I can no more follow all my friends (even the best ones, and doing their best art!!) regularly.. Hope you will understand if I don’t chat or leave you as many comments as desired during the summer, especially in August where I will be far from home with my family.. 🙂
    I’ve seen your cards on PA’s blog first, and I really LOVED them Lynne, you did a fantastic job once again using these stamps that were a bit out of your comfort zone I think.. BRAVO!!! Take carre, Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  17. Dorthe
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 13:28:05

    My dear Lynne, so much fun to watch your wonderful layered sunflower samples, what a big work, to fuzzy cut all that, on the second one- they are great ,even not my coulors,as you so well know. The beach cards are the sweetest with waves and banner, the glitter so lovely showing the “dance” of the sun on the water, sky, and sand!!! I love the blue summer beach cards, and the lovely banner so much !
    Hug and xx from Dorthe

    Reply

  18. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 20:43:56

    What a lot of fun Lynne!
    You stepped up to that color and new stamp line challenge beautifully.
    You are just brimming with creativity no matter what the guidelines might be.
    Wishing you a lovely weekend my friend.
    We are enjoying a visit with our son and I have been away from the computer quite a bit.
    oxo

    Reply

  19. Shari T.
    Jul 11, 2015 @ 04:38:13

    Completely Fabulous samples for Emma’s stamps, Lynne!! I have more to say, but I had to pop in really quick to say WOW!! 🙂 🙂 You’ve taken us to flowery hills and to the beach and on a picnic with this wonderful collection–Sooo Fun!! I’ll be back to adore you more 🙂 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

