Words of a Feather (Published in Take Ten)

Hello Everyone
Many of you will know that when possible I will submit to Stampington & co publications. One of the publications I try to submit to on a regular basis is Take Ten.
For this particular collection it was the first time I had ever used one of the Artist Papers (included in many Stampington & co publications) and the first time I had submitted cards with a stencil design as the focal. It all came about when I received a beautiful feathers stencil/mask set from Redlead Paperworks. The use of the Artist Paper came about because I would be stencilling with paint and conscious of the time factor I knew I couldn’t spend time on a background. Flicking through some back issues I came across the perfect Quad Papers with almost a burlap appearance, subtle areas of text and a naturalistic colour palette – all so perfect for the feathers.
I would like to share a collection of cards featured in the Summer issue of Take Ten.
The stencilled feathers were all supported with Redlead stamps.
On each card the feathers were stencilled with a combination of metallic paints (Martha Stewart – available from That’s Crafty) with watersoluble crayons flicked onto the base to provide some texture. For this card the little stamped element in the top corner was stamped onto a piece of balsa wood.  newwingslynneoneWings and the torn piece from a stamped nest definition were stamped onto different papers to provide variation of colour and texture.newwingslynnedetailone
With the detailed background and the large stencilled feather, it was simply a matter of small stamped elements to support the theme of the feathers.anegganestlynneoneWith the egg stamped onto mulberry paper, tearing, instead of cutting the stamped image allowed the fibres of the paper to be exposed.anegganestlynnedetailoneThe white flourish is actually part of the paper design, all I added to the papers, beyond the stamping, are the  paint flicks and a jute twine bow.iwillflylynneoneThe fourth and final card.
nestinglynneoneA scrap of pleated Crunchy Kraft Waxed Paper (PaperArtsy) with a torn piece of stamped nest definition which I had stamped onto tissue paper.nestinglynnedetailoneSo there we have it, four simple cards and a Thank You to Stampington & co for once again publishing my submissions and a Thank You to the lovely Chris and Sharon at Redlead for providing me with such wonderful supplies to play with.
I wonder if you know that Redlead have a newsletter. If you sign up to their newsletter you will receive regular up-dates of new products, Chris and Sharon regularly share their Redlead artwork and on a regular basis they will share a free collage image.
Thank you so much for your visit. I am slowly working my way through writing up blog posts to schedule so I can start to get my blog a little bit more active than it has been.
Wishes
Lynne

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valerie-Jael
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 05:43:17

    Beautiful work, Valerie

    Reply

  2. pearshapedchris
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 08:40:25

    These are all stunning! I often think I will use some of the papers from the middle of my Stampington mags but they are still there! Maybe now I will! Love the feathers! Chrisx

    Reply

  3. Julie Lee
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 09:59:40

    How lovely these cards are! I have some beautiful mulberry paper a Japanese friend sent me that I must remember to use more and you have inspired me to do so with these exquisite cards! They have that Zen quality about them Lynne that Japanese gardens have, a real peace and tranquillity. Light as a feather and magical – well, I expect you realise I love them! xx

    Reply

  4. Corrie
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 10:18:59

    I seldom use pattern/designer paper for my cards but when you have not much time it is a great solution as you have shown us here, Lynne. You have produced some lovely cards !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  5. Hazel H
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 10:26:06

    These are fabulous Lynne.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  6. Meggymay
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 11:44:02

    Gorgeous pieces Lynne, they deserved to be published, congratulations.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  7. Anne R
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 15:37:40

    All of the cards are beautiful Lynne, it is almost as if you have stamped onto burlap, the papers look so realistic. The feather is beautiful and I love the embellishments on each of the cards too. Well done on being published again! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  8. may
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 22:19:33

    Beautiful work Lynne, I adore the feather & the papers…Thank you for your kind words…Hugs May x x

    Reply

  9. craftytrog
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 05:09:56

    Beautiful cards Lynne, congratulations! xxx

    Reply

  10. coco
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 09:17:42

    Using some mulberry paper in this way was a great idea and produces a beautiful effect on this set of cards, I love your eggs and feathers, they are simple but VERY beautiful Lynne. Hugs, your friend Coco xx

    Reply

  11. marjiekemper
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 11:44:39

    These are lovely, Lynne, and the feathers are a great eye catcher. So glad to see you creating and posting again. Wishes to you for continued good health.

    Reply

  12. 3renee
    Jul 09, 2015 @ 15:16:53

    Those are great papers, a real gift in each issue. I love the way you have used them, what a lovely set of cards!

    Reply

  13. gio
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 12:14:10

    Such a brilliant idea to use the patterned papers, and these looks like truly burlab. I love the egg, such cool detail.

    Reply

  14. Dorthe
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 13:35:45

    They are beautiful dear Lynne, I love the feather you stenciled onto the art paper, which fits so perfectly, with the swirls, and your stamped eggs, love the one on mulberry paper , and love how you used the craft paper which was pleated and crunchy , it makes a fantastic layer of interest !!
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  15. lesliecapone
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 13:57:38

    So happy I found your blog, your cards are beautiful and I love your style!

    Reply

  16. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jul 10, 2015 @ 20:46:51

    Lovely use of the magazine papers!
    What you’ve created has such a richness and depth to it.
    Beautiful how you layer and add such great details to what you make…
    a bit of Lynne magic 🙂
    oxo

    Reply

  17. lucy Edmondson
    Jul 11, 2015 @ 08:58:49

    So, so effective and wonderful and really different!congratulations. On being published!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  18. Shari T.
    Jul 11, 2015 @ 20:55:38

    I’m sooo glad that you shared these cards, Lynne! For you see, my subscription to Take Ten has expired and I missed this issue completely!! (I better renew immediately!) I totally love how you’ve used the Artists Papers that’s included with each issue as your backgrounds! I bet TT loved that, too 🙂 🙂 Just a Marvelous collection of natural Fabulousness!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  19. Samantha Read
    Jul 12, 2015 @ 15:06:35

    Gorgeous as always Lynne, Congratulations 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

