We Asked The Artists @ Somerset Place

Hello Everyone
Another instalment of “We Asked The Artists” has been posted on the Stampington & co Blog, Somerset Place.
Not only was it an honour to be part of this it was also interesting to ponder upon the answers for each individual question posed to me (and obviously the others).  For my response to this particular question I knew that I had to give a nod to all of the lovely friends of my Blog, who have been incredibly loyal to me.  In recent times my style has taken a slightly different direction as I ink up stamps which I might have otherwise overlooked and also dabbling with colour.  So many of you could have easily abandoned me at this time but no, you continue to be there as a wonderful source of support and encouragement.  It was actually so many of you who allowed me to take that step. Back when I was on the DT for Gecko Galz and the commitments that entailed, I created this canvas, HERE. To be honest, at the time I did not care for the result, it was more a matter of being relieved that I had created a project in time for the deadline. The feedback I received bowled me over, I was completely shocked and it stopped me in my tracks. It was almost as though your words gave me permission to step outwith my comfort zone. I can say that you gave me a gift, without you realising it. I will always be a vintage, shabby style of girl at heart but it has been freeing to simply find the unadulterated fun of playing once again.

The image they have shown beside my response features Oxford Impressions stamp, The Reader, from the Soul of the Rose set (pen stamp also Oxford Impressions) available from Oxford Impressions and That’s Crafty.  It features in this original post from when it was published in Somerset Studio Gallery.
the-readerlynnemoncrieffThank You for your visit to this post. If you want to read my response to Somerset Place’s question then you can read it HERE along with the responses from artists such as Renee Zarate, Septh Apter, Sandra Evertson and many more.
Wishes
Lynne

Oh, by the way.  The canvas created for Gecko Galz which I didn’t really like, I sort of viewed it differently after it was published in Somerset Studio Gallery!!!

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lee
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 00:29:11

    Lovely canvas, Lynne. I love all that you create and have created, whether it be vintage and shabby or experimenting with colour. What I like most about your work is that, whatever you do, you put imagination to forefront. I love that. xxx

    Reply

  2. 3renee
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 04:11:12

    Hugs to you Lynne! I have loved the courage you have shown over the years that allows you to continue to push that creative envelope. Look how far you have come and are at this point really picking up steam. Don’t let anyone get in your way ever. Just enjoy the ride. Hugs!

    Reply

  3. Valerie-Jael
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 05:15:42

    Beautiful work as always, Valerie

    Reply

  4. Suzi B
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 07:16:00

    I enjoy reading about your artistic journey and viewing the gorgeous artworks. You are an inspiration.
    Suzi B xx

    Reply

  5. Anne R
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 07:56:36

    I have enjoyed reading all the interviews, it is always interesting to see how you and other designers work! Your canvas is stunning, I love the beautiful image and the soft colours. Everything you create is a masterpiece in my eyes! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  6. Annie G
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 11:44:39

    This is stunning Lynne x love the paper layers and adornments, gorgeous OI stamp too

    Tfs and best wishes
    Annie x

    Reply

  7. marci piraro
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 20:25:40

    I enjoy your art very much. I was stunned by that butterfly girl you made, I sent it to my daughter and she loved it, too. I also like your vintage, neutral color artwork. Sometimes people are threatened by other’s success. That is their problem, not yours. I am glad you kept submitting your art for publication.

    Reply

  8. Meggymay
    Jul 17, 2015 @ 21:07:58

    A gorgeous project Lynne, always inspiring to visit your blog
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  9. Diane
    Jul 18, 2015 @ 00:25:28

    Just gorgeous Lynne, wonderful paper, layers and design.

    Hugs Diane

    Reply

  10. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Jul 18, 2015 @ 04:24:39

    You my dear Lynne and all you create never cease to delight and inspire me!
    Thank you for sharing your passion and talents.
    Headed now to read the article.
    Wishing you a lovely summer weekend.
    oxo

    Reply

  11. barnie
    Jul 18, 2015 @ 11:31:30

    A wonderful piece of art, great romantic feeling.

    Reply

  12. Sharon
    Jul 18, 2015 @ 12:28:25

    Gorgeous Lynne!

    Reply

  13. paper profusion
    Jul 18, 2015 @ 13:03:14

    This is immensely beautiful Lynne and really apt for you as a lifelong reader. Congratulations on being featured – it must be such a wow to see yourself in print like this. Nicola x

    Reply

  14. Shari T.
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 06:01:30

    These ‘Ask the Artists’ features are really fun and I’m so glad that you are a part of this Q&A series, Lynne 🙂 🙂 I’m going back to the links you’ve provided and find that these are postings of yours that I missed last year when I was down in Northern California caring for my Mom, so I’m really glad that you’re sharing some of these postings from last year! Happy Weekend!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  15. Nancy
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 15:35:38

    Such a dainty and sweet piece Lynn. I hope you are having a lovely summer!

    Reply

  16. coco
    Jul 19, 2015 @ 17:12:42

    As you know, I love all that you create wether it is in your previous style like on this delicate canvas (it well deserves the spotlight on Somerset Place, you can be sure of that!), or in your present style with more colours and paints in the background (with so lovely results each time!!), or I’m already sure, in the future direction your steps and great talent will lead you my dear Lynne… I love your art, and that’s good to see you so honoured. Hope you were doing well this week-end, Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  17. craftytrog
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 16:29:39

    Great interview Lynne, interesting read!
    I love your little card too, that quote is wonderful!

    Reply

  18. butterfly
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 17:41:15

    I saw your interview in the newsletter – so interesting… and lovely of you to credit us with helping you to take the creative leap out of your comfort zone. I love your art both in and out of the comfort zone – and I’m looking forward to lots more.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  19. Samantha Read
    Jul 21, 2015 @ 10:16:01

    It’s official; You are a superstar!!! Whoo hoo. So pleased for you Lynne. Poppy is too xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

