Nature’s Sketchbook Part I (published Take Ten)

Note:- After a recent post saying that Oxford Impressions Field Notes stamp set was out of retirement, I received word that it was now sold out.  There was a query about whether the set would be made available again so I contacted Suzanne.  Below you can read her note about the availability,  just in case anyone out there is interested in this beautiful stamp set.

 I am ok making them one at a time as long as the customer knows that it is a second as the shell stamp is cracked.   If anyone is interested then the stamp sets will be made one at a time, this is due to the process for creating this particular stamp set. 
Click HERE to contact Suzanne

Hello Everyone
Now, let me tell you, without a word of a lie, the paper used on the following cards is Poo paper! Yes, Poo as in POO! I do have to add that it is mixed with pine needles!  My lovely friend Darlene sent me a pad of this paper.
This collection is the most submitted under any one theme, seven in total. I never submit with any expectations, once mailed I put the artwork out of my mind but I thought, if they did catch their eye at Take Ten, maybe one would make it to print, not all seven of them in a feature. To limit the length of this blog post I am splitting the cards into groups, sharing three of them today and instead of taking up your precious time with long drawn out details I have decided to share with you detail photographs so you can get an idea of the little bits I gathered for each card.
All cards are 4″x4″ and feature Fields Notes stamp set with background script from French Script.speciment2468lynnemoncrieftaketenSubtle background stamping with the handwritten script with the butterfly fussy cut to create dimension as the focal image.
detailonelynnemoncrieffA fragment of bark along with a torn piece of stamped numbers.detailtwolynnemoncriefftaketenOne of the reasons I am such a fan of Oxford Impressions stamps isn’t purely that I love the designs but that each set is so cleverly thought out and for my “comfort zone” stamping, they fit perfectly, allowing me to stamp all those little elements which I get so much joy from adding here and there whether to a card, tag, canvas, etc.
specimen2468lynnemoncriefftaketendetailfiveInitially my thoughts had been to watercolour images, along the lines of an Edwardian ladies nature journal but I was conscious of the ten minute rule (!) for Take Ten and I never ever need an excuse to work with a neutral colour palette.
honeybeelynnemoncriefftaketenOnly one of the bees was fussy cuthoneybeedetailoneI am partial to buttons!
honeybeedetailtwoThe final card for this post features a beautiful dragonfly.
fieldnoteslynnemoncriefftaketenA wee piece of knotted jute twine and vintage crochet lace are all that adorn this card.
fieldnotesdetailoneI will share the second instalment very soon. I am finding myself trying to do some catching-up with blog posts that I hadn’t intended to leave as long as this to share with you.
Have a lovely week and I hope to see you soon and many thanks, as always, for taking the time to visit.
Wishes
Lynne

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lee
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 00:32:32

    Lynne these are so lovely! I love how your details like tiny buttons, seam binding and so on are always such a perfect complement to the beautiful stamping, backgrounds and text on your cards. Once again these are a delight. What an achievement yet not surprising that your creations make it to the pages of these magazines. You are so inspiring. xxx

    Reply

  2. Valerie-Jael
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 05:48:39

    Beautiful stamping. Valerie

    Reply

  3. craftytrog
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 08:59:15

    Simply beautiful Lynne, congratulations! xxx

    Reply

  4. Dorthe
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 09:52:24

    Dear Lynne they are so very beautiful, the simple stunning compositions With your adds of tiny treasures of lace and button, and the lovely low colours. I LOVE them. Dorthe xx

    Reply

  5. Shari T.
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 17:34:55

    YAY, Lynne!! These little cards are simply lovely!! They look like they could have been plucked directly out of nature, as if they’ve sprouted from their own sturdy stems of blooming creativity!! And I don’t know what ‘Poo’ paper is, but it’s wonderful–I can see the mottled texture in it and it’s perfect for this natural collection of cards!! I can’t wait to see the remaining cards in this published collection!! Congrats to you, Lynne!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  6. butterfly
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 17:38:48

    I’ve got some poo paper too, and I think it’s lovely stuff… and what could be more natural or appropriate for the nature stamps of the Field Notes set. Charming notelets!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  7. Anne R
    Jul 20, 2015 @ 21:29:10

    Congratulations again Lynne, these cards are absolutely delightful, I love the butterfly and the dragonfly – and your poo paper!! Apologies if I have missed any of your gorgeous creations, I am away at the moment and internet connection is sporadic… Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  8. Samantha Read
    Jul 21, 2015 @ 10:17:34

    So sweet and beautiful. Gorgeous stamps!

    Reply

  9. michele s
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 00:25:31

    I adore your sketchbook. it does conjure images of the field biologist/artist out in the field documenting the things she finds in nature. the coloring is so subtle and gives the feel of something somewhat old but not entirely. i love it. watch for an email from me… xo

    Reply

  10. Marjie kemper
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 20:18:01

    Wow, Lynne, these are so lovely. A great combination of pre-made, Lynne-made, and natural ingredients. Congratulations on the publications!

    Reply

  11. pearshapedchris
    Jul 23, 2015 @ 19:24:50

    This is just so beautiful, I feel calmed just looking at it! Chrisx

    Reply

  12. Sharon
    Jul 24, 2015 @ 08:15:44

    Love the “nature” feel of these – just gorgeous Lynne!

    Reply

  13. barnie
    Jul 24, 2015 @ 17:03:51

    Congrats on being published again 🙂 That’s a wonderful piece.

    Reply

  14. Shelly Schmidt
    Jul 25, 2015 @ 18:59:49

    Congrats on the feature article- these note cards are just beautiful! Love the soft subtle texture : )

    Reply

  15. Avril
    Jul 26, 2015 @ 10:17:09

    Congratulations on the publication and no wonder, they’re beautiful. Love the neutral shades.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  16. coco
    Jul 26, 2015 @ 17:32:19

    Oh, fabulous work and news Lynne!!! 7 cards accepted, wow! You are really a shining star.. 🙂
    This first three cards are really beautiful, you made me love these stamps set to bits, that’s all thanks to you I think! Hugs, hope your week-end has been peaceful, creative and pleasant my lovely Lynne. xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

