She Sits Amongst The Flowers and Bees

Hello Everyone
Earlier in the year Oxford Impressions released a stamp set called Bee Happy. Most of you will know by now that I have had a love affair with Oxford Impressions for some time, in fact I fell in love with the stamps before I managed to get my first set so for me it is always exciting when a new set is released. However, again, as many of you know, there was a long time when I was unable to craft and when I did many any crafting it was at a minimum, I am still trying to find my feet again. Suzanne was extremely understanding, with no pressure and no expectations to create to a deadline, knowing that when I could, I would create something. The something, my first completed project (I am still playing with this set) is this canvas panel.beehappylynnemoncrieffI will share the only embellishment, for want of a better word before sharing an abundance of detail photographs. A stamp bee nestles inside a distressed wooden frame. twoI only used four stamps from this gorgeous stamp  set but, as you can see, that wonderful flower was stamped many, many times …. I think my poor hands are still in trauma from all that fussy cutting!facedetailSilicone Glue and Gel Medium were my friends for the dimension I wanted to achieve however instead of detailing all that I used or the inspiration, beyond the actual stamps themselves, I decided to fill this blog post with detail photographs showing you the canvas panel from different angles so you hopefully get a sense of the dimension and depth achieved.fiveI will say that I deliberately opted not to ink all of the fussy cut edges of the flowers because I didn’t want a heavy or too vintage a feeling so I lightly and randomly inked here and there but as you can see, much of the white areas of the edges were left….. it is difficult to step away from the sponge and ink because I would normally, if anything, over-ink!sixOne flower stamp but I created a little variation by cutting into it in various ways.sevenI did consider solely working with honey tones as I am a wee bit partial to monochrome but it didn’t take me long to make the decision to be inspired by lavender honey.eightBee Happy is available directly from Oxford Impressions . I don’t know if it is available within the U.K. but if you have your eye on this stamp set then it might be worth your while keeping a check on availability, if any at That’s Crafty as Laura does stock several Oxford Impressions sets.
Many thanks for taking the time to visit this post.
Wishes
Lynne

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie G
    Jul 30, 2015 @ 22:52:55

    Such a beautiful canvas Lynne x love the stamped image and the flowers look amazing. Have a lovely weekend
    Annie x

    Reply

  2. Anne R
    Jul 30, 2015 @ 23:14:54

    I am in total awe of this gorgeous canvas, I think this has to be my new favourite of your work Lynne, it is just simply stunning. It was worth all that fussy cutting because the flowers looks beautiful nestled around that beautiful lady. I love, love, love this gorgeous piece! Off for a few days to meet up with some lovely friends, hope you have a lovely weekend too. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  3. Julie Lee
    Jul 30, 2015 @ 23:18:20

    Lynne, this is such a beautiful piece of work. I love how you created dimension on it and the colours are just wonderful. What beautiful stamps and what magic you have created with them. xx

    Reply

  4. jellybeanerz
    Jul 30, 2015 @ 23:23:40

    This is so creative! I love it!

    Reply

  5. Terry
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 00:09:31

    Lynne, I am being a bad blogger, but I am still loving your artwork. Lovely canvas and the flowers look amazing adorning that beauty! Hugs!

    Reply

  6. lesliecapone
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 02:04:21

    This is absolutely amazing! Just beautiful… You’re one talented lady:)

    Reply

  7. valorydegree
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 04:29:24

    Oh, Lynne, this is a favorite; I am drawn to anything with bees on it and this has several, including the girl’s necklace!

    Reply

  8. craftytrog
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 06:24:44

    A beautiful Summery panel Lynne, I love how you created different flowers from the same stamp.
    The lavender in my little wilderness of a garden is attracting lots of bees, and I love watching them 🙂
    Alison xox

    Reply

  9. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 11:50:50

    Love those flowers, Lynne. And such a wonderful Summer-y feel.

    Reply

  10. Dorthe
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 13:16:57

    Your canvas, my dear Lynne, is so very beautiful. The flowers on top of each other and in different tones, looks almost allive, and and they are wonderfully layered around the sweetest maiden, with her bees necklace !! And the bee inside the frame, is also a beautiful eye catcher . You created a very lovely and amazing fairy garden with these gorgeous stamps, my dear.
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  11. thecobweboriumemporium
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 13:31:20

    Breathtaking, Lynne. Absolutely, totally, beautifully, breathtaking.
    Sending love ~ Cobs. x

    Reply

  12. Meggymay
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 13:43:07

    A stunning canvas Lynne, the fussy cut flowers draw the eye into the canvas and the beautiful main image.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  13. Avril
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 21:22:29

    A beautiful canvas Lynne, love the main image surrounded by all those fussy cut flowers,
    Avril xx

    Reply

  14. Shari T.
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 22:07:45

    Oh so pretty, Lynne!! I think I can feel your achy hands and fingers from all of the fussy cutting, but soooo worth it!! 🙂 I find fussy cutting kind of cathartic and so very rewarding when it’s all said and done 🙂 I love the honey and lavender tones you’ve used–It’s like this young woman is sitting in her meadow at sunset and the hues from the sun are setting upon her and all of those lovely flowers! This is a fabulous new stamp set from OE–I already know you’re going to create some AWESOME projects with them! I can’t wait 🙂 🙂 Happy Friday and Happy Weekend, Lynne!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  15. Shari T.
    Jul 31, 2015 @ 22:09:06

    OOOPPS–I meant OI!! I really do know the alphabet, but my fingers on the keyboard may have other ideas!! 😉 🙂 XO-S

    Reply

  16. Hazel H
    Aug 01, 2015 @ 08:58:48

    This is so beautiful Lynne.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  17. Sharon
    Aug 01, 2015 @ 14:06:44

    Oh wow so beautiful- gorgeous colours and stamps!

    Reply

  18. Corrie
    Aug 01, 2015 @ 17:55:40

    Beautiful work, Lynne !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  19. coco
    Aug 02, 2015 @ 08:25:53

    A stunner Lynne!!!!!! I’m totally in awe in fornt of this wonderful lady, all your fussy cut-out flowers, and the combo of delicate shades of colours… Wow!! I adore this make, such a great piece of art dear Lynne. Hugs, Coco xxx

    Reply

  20. gio
    Aug 02, 2015 @ 13:14:11

    Wow, this is trluly stunning! Love the delicate face,the crispness of stamping and all the layered flowers. Just gorgeous!

    Reply

  21. marci piraro
    Aug 02, 2015 @ 13:55:00

    This spoke to me the instant I saw it. Such subtle shades and depth, lovely.

    Reply

  22. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Aug 03, 2015 @ 13:55:10

    It is an ongoing delight to visit you and enjoy your boundless creativity dear Lynne!
    Your BEE canvas is absolutely stunning in every detail.
    WOW!
    I adore that beauty in her honeycomb top and precious bee necklace and the layered flowers OH MY!
    I enjoy cutting and appreciate each and every bloom you added.
    Happy August my talented friend oxo

    Reply

  23. hettiecraft
    Aug 05, 2015 @ 21:46:24

    when this email came through I knew I wanted to take a good look at it, and looked good I did. This is absolutely beautiful Lynne. I just love the stamps, colours and composition. her necklace is so beautiful. Wonder where she got that one as I want one too! Likewise, I want this stamp set. I do have a soft spot for the bees though being a beekeeper!
    Beautiful work.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  24. marjiekemper
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 19:28:31

    I just love the way the flowers look – what a gorgeous creation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

