Party Dresses & Birthday Cakes (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
This is a scheduled blog post which as with the previous post, HERE, once again features paperclay.
When last year The Stampers’ Sampler issued their Celebrations Challenge Call I was keen to submit a canvas with a paperclay focal.  In the end I managed to submit a duo, one featuring a paperclay party dress, the other a birthday cupcake and wasn’t I thrilled to discover not only they were published but as a feature in the Apr/May/June issue.
Working on small Loxley Gold chunky canvases with focal stamps from Oxford Impressions:- Wonderland (dress) and Fairy Sweets(cupcake) – both stamp sets are also available in the U.K. from That’s Crafty, I stamped into white Creative Paperclay (again available from That’s Crafty.)partydressonelynnemoncrieffScraps of paper and fabric were collaged onto the canvas before I applied the paints and topped it all off with white polka dots. I didn’t have a suitable stamp so had to improvise with the stamping for the dots.
This Alice dress was such a good size for the canvas and just the right amount of detailing, finishing with a stamped bow.detailtwolynnemoncrieffAlongside Oxford Impressions I dipped into a Crafty Individuals stamp for the bunting and the Happy is from the Darkroom Door Birthday Word Block stamp.detailtwolynnemoncrieffcanvasThe same or similar paint colours were used on both canvases.  The ice cream colours I hoped worked with the light and frothy appearance I was trying to aim for, bringing to mind tables groaning with ice cream, cakes and dishes brimming over with sweeties and girls twirling around in their party dresses (not that I ever did that – maybe I need to add a touch of twirling into my life!)cakecanvaslynnemoncrieffThe edges had the same treatment as the face of the canvas but no embellishments.
4 August 021This angle shows the dimension achieved with the paperclay, it was exactly the same for the dress.
detailtwoIt was all because of my DT role with That’s Crafty that I started to play with paperclay and it has been a fun time and I am always amazed at the detail achieved. For me, I would say I have had more success with stamping into the clay than I do when working with moulds, especially delicate moulds but maybe that is down to me not mastering a correct technique! Anyway, stamping into clay is something I enjoy and it throws a new light when working with much loved stamps.
Thank you for your visit to this scheduled post. I hope to catch up with you all very soon.
Wishes
Lynne

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 03:28:24

    OMG Lynne – How gorgeous are these!!!

    Reply

  2. Brenda Brown
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 06:17:46

    Such beautiful pieces Lynne, love the pretty colours and amazing textures xxx

    Reply

  3. Annie G
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 08:04:05

    Stunning canvases Lynne and the paper lay dress and cupcake look amazing 😀
    Love the background with the Polka dots, so girly and feminine……….regarding the twirling……it was something I loved to do as mum made all my dresses with layers of tulle so twirling was such fun x I am sure you must have done your share of twirling Lynne

    Tfs and best wishes
    Annie x

    Reply

  4. Lynne
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 09:07:46

    I have never used paperclay before but it looks fantastic and works so well!
    Love how you have used it in conjunction with the inks and background. A very lovely card.
    Lynne x

    Reply

  5. dorthe
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 10:59:37

    So adorable and sweet they are both, dear friend,-thetexture from the clay is great and such really beautiful details you have achieved , I never tried this ,Lynne, but your beautiful results makes me want to try. I so love the girlish colours and polka dots, such sweetness and innocence are coming from the dress one, and the cake canvas is gorgeous. I love the pinns you painted for holding little messages !!
    Congratulations for being featured in the Stampington mag, again dearest !
    Dorthe ,xx

    Reply

  6. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 11:21:52

    The paper clay works so beautifully for your lovely canvas Lynne.
    But everything you put your hands to turns into something special and beautiful!
    SWEET is definitely the word that comes to mind for your Sweet 16 creation.
    Congrats on being featured yet again … I am sure it never gets old oxo

    Reply

  7. 3renee
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 12:45:02

    I love these! Love the colors and the textures you’ve created, they are truly unique.

    Reply

  8. Meggymay
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 13:27:06

    Gorgeous canvases, so sweet and girly. love the paper clay details especially the yummy cake.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  9. Fliss
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 20:59:27

    So pretty Lynne with amazing texture and depth – just gorgeous.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  10. Anne R
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 22:02:17

    Both canvases are just beautiful Lynne, I love the gorgeous dress on the first one and the cupcake on the second looks good enough to eat! Congratulations on being published again too! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  11. Julie Lee
    Aug 06, 2015 @ 22:51:48

    I really love what you do with paper clay, Lynne. On these canvases it has an iced appearance reminiscent of party fun on summer days. I really must try stamping into the clay, as you achieve really beautiful results and wonderful projects. So far I’ve used PC only for little faces on dolls etc. Ah, if only there were more hours in the day to try things, especially with so much inspiration from wonderful artists like yourself. Congratulations on well deserved publication again, Lynne. xxx

    Reply

  12. Shari T.
    Aug 09, 2015 @ 02:04:04

    Oh you know how I ADORE these mini canvases, Lynne!! 🙂 🙂 These are a couple of my favorite mixed-media creations you’ve made and sent me on my quest for my own mini canvases 🙂 🙂 I loved this feature in The Stamper’s Sampler and am so glad that you’re sharing more pictures with us here at your blog 🙂 🙂 I completely love your paper clay focal points–Don’t get me started on that cupcake! 🙂 It looks good enough to eat for sure 🙂 🙂 Delicious mini canvases, Lynne!! I’m sooo happy for you and Congratulate you on another fabulous spotlight in TSS!! 🙂 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  13. craftytrog
    Aug 09, 2015 @ 07:42:05

    Such beautiful pastel shades Lynne, and wonderful textures! xx

    Reply

  14. marjiekemper
    Aug 10, 2015 @ 14:01:25

    What a neat twist on your paper collage work…. love the clay and the 3D effect it adds!

    Reply

  15. Samantha Read
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 13:17:27

    Oh my, sigh, this is just so delightful.
    When I start a project I have grand ideas in my head to make beautiful things like these, but I never succeed. Kudos to you 🙂

    Reply

  16. butterfly
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 14:17:13

    These are definitely good enough to eat! I loved your paperclay piece over at PA recently – and these are just delicious too.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  17. Sharon Bruner
    Aug 22, 2015 @ 10:21:08

    Lynne, I saw these in my TSS and was bowled over to see how you pulled all the colors, embellishments and paper clay objects together. What a master! I so admire your work. These are stunning works! sharon (inkybru)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

