Friends For Life

Hello Everyone
I overlooked this card as I was sure I had shared on my Blog until I realised I’d shared it with Jean (Crafty Individuals).
Many of you will know that not so long ago Crafty Individuals released some stamps, one of which was this adorable, vintage teddy bears stamp (CI-440)1434634835CI_-_440_emailWhen I saw this stamp it reminded me of my own love for Teddy Edward, my furry companion through my childhood and who I still have and it also made me think of a lovely friend, a blogging friend, who actually created teddy bears at one time. I was late with her birthday but knew that I had to use this stamp so in this post I am sharing the card I sent for her birthday.
Normally I have a vague notion of what I intend to do, then just letting things go with the flow, depends on what paint my eye catches or little bits of this and that. For this card I initially planned an 8″x8″ cardbase with painted and stamped cardstock as the background with a tag in the same paint colours but slightly different stamps.  So the end result was this  A4 sheet of watercolour paper  painted with four Frescos and stamped with Crafty Individual stamps in the form of doilies, teddy bears, cutting down to 8″x8″.lynnemoncrieffand a tagpaintedandstampedtagExcept I wasn’t happy!  By chance the tag was laid on top of a plain sheet of A4 watercolour paper and even though I spent all that time on the background, I decided to go for a cleaner style of card than I set out to make but hopefully it stills has an essence of vintage to it.teddybearcardlynneI didn’t want to stamp onto the tag as I wanted some extra texture but I didn’t want to stamp and fussy cut the image either so I reached for a favourite, tissue paper.detailtwoI could not resist adding this CI stamp because my teddy bear was certainly my friend and the card was being sent to a friend. A little fragment of fabric peeks from the edge also.detailfiveAn embellishment was needed to fill that top corner space so I cut a piece of vintage crochet doily, more of that pretty fabric and a vintage button were all that was needed.
detailfourA trimming of lace and lace roses with a distressed band of the fabric to edge the bottom of the card. No splatters on the background, just simple and clean.detailsixJean keeps the Crafty Individuals blog active so you will no doubt be able to view more teddy bear creations from the other team members along with samples featuring the other new stamps.
Did you have a favourite teddy bear and if so, is he (or she) still a part of your life?
Thank you for your time to visit this post.
Wishes
Lynne

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rita
    Aug 11, 2015 @ 23:55:36

    As the lucky recipient of your card Lynne, you know it will be treasured. I never had a Teddybear as a child , but made well over a thousand bears as a British Bear Artist. Have a lovely Day. Hugs Rita xxxx

    Reply

  2. lesliecapone
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 01:50:32

    Beautiful! I love all the different textures and layers you used. I didn’t have a favorite teddy bear, but Raggedy Ann was my best friend:) tfs

    Reply

  3. Valerie-Jael
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 05:51:08

    Gorgeous card, bears are a part of childhood. Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  4. craftytrog
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 06:37:38

    This is such a perfect card for your friend Lynne, those wonderful teddies look very happy in the beautiful setting you created for them! xx

    Reply

  5. Suzi B
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 08:32:36

    So pretty Lynne . …. your friend must have been delighted when she received this enchanting card… xx

    Reply

  6. Meggymay
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 08:53:25

    Lynne this is an adorable image, your friend will love and treasure this beautiful card.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  7. lucy Edmondson
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 09:23:48

    This is absolutely adorable Lynne, your friend will love it! Jean has brought out a stamp that will enchant people. You are making me wonder where my favourite teddy is as I am in the process of clearing out my childhood room. He was called birthday Ted and was quite large. He had lots of operations over the years!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  8. Julie Lee
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 12:26:35

    So many of us have bears that have truly been our friends for life! How lovely to make bears and bring such joy to children! Your friend’s card is something to treasure just as we do our beloved teddies! I love the colours you have used – so warm and vintage. Every little detail is perfect – the crochet and the ribbon are just gorgeous! This is a card made with love and artistry! xx

    Reply

  9. dorthe
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 12:27:53

    Dear Lynne, your first card is so very lovely, but I agree that the new one is far more clean,and so beautiful in its also romantic style. The fabric and doily adds a wonderful touch to the stamped tissue ,and your finished card for your friend, is a gorgeous friendship gift!!
    I do have an old teddy, too Lynne, I recieved it from Nadja when she was a child ,and I treasure it very much and always brings it with me when traveling 🙂
    Wish you a lovely day dear friend. xxxx

    Reply

  10. Corrie
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 18:20:40

    I used to collect teddybears. In fact I still have them all, packed away in the attic !
    Love your card ! Very huggable !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  11. Sharon
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 02:12:59

    Oh my gosh absolutely gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  12. Samantha Read
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 11:30:05

    OMGoodness, this is SO adorably sweet. Just love it 🙂

    Reply

  13. Julie Lavalette
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 12:37:15

    A totally adorable card, love your choice of Teddy Bear shades reminds me of my childhood bear who now sits in my vintage glass cabinet.
    Hugs, Julie x

    Reply

  14. MarieS.
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 13:03:42

    This card is so adorable,dear Lynne.
    Have a wonderful day.
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Reply

  15. Shelly Schmidt
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 16:59:06

    So lovely- I love the way you have showcased this sweet Teddy bear pair! I have no memories of a Teddy Bear as a child- if I had one, it did not survive until the doll stage- I do still have a doll from childhood with her fashionable haircut I gave her back in the day!

    Reply

  16. hettiecraft
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 21:49:59

    This is so cute Lynne. Love that image and love the cute chic of your card.
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  17. butterfly
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 14:15:55

    What a sweet image – I love the vintage honey tones of the tag itself, and the card looks great.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  18. marci piraro
    Aug 17, 2015 @ 17:53:05

    First of all, the stamp is adorable. Second, I love that original background! Third, your stamping is just exquisite! Fourth, what a lovely, thoughtful card for your friend.

    Reply

  19. Shari T.
    Aug 21, 2015 @ 16:00:38

    Lynne, I could squeeze this card all up!! It’s cuddly and sweet and just too darn darling!! Your vintagey colors and delicate fabric make this card that much more sweet and dreamy! You’ve taken me back to my childhood and my own stuffed animals (and there was a Teddy in there, too!) 🙂 🙂 Such a squeezably adorable creation, Lynne!! 🙂 🙂 XOXO-Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

