Colour Your Life (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
When The Stampers’ Sampler announced their annual Colour Challenge, some months ago, initially I didn’t pay much attention as it is one of the challenge calls, to my memory at least, I cannot remember submitting to. However, it was around this time that I was playing with Brushos, received from That’s Crafty. The Universe was obviously nudging me to submit because one of the pots of colour I had was Vermillion, the actual colour stipulated in the colour challenge!
As luck would have it, the submissions were published!
Vermillion, brings to mind the Renaissance and another colour I associate with Renaissance is gold so that was my accent colour.
The colours seem a bit odd in my photographs, as it does look as though there are hints of mauve but nope, I used Vermillion and touches of Rose Red Brushos for the backgrounds and to stain the cardstock for my stamping surface.shemakesherownwaylynnemoncrieffI played around with the focal images for both cards I am sharing in this post (three were actually published).  This created contrast and also dimension and then I simply scribbled a white paint pen, here and there.twoA banner with a scrap of gold stained handmade paper with a random piece of stamping.threeThe Lynne Perrella image seemed suited to this Artistic Outpost sentiment.four The second card.seemeonelynnemoncrieffWith no detail photographs as I managed to delete them during the editing process! Not the cleverest of moves! Anyway, this card has the same supplies except for the Oxford Impressions sentiment. Once again tissue/handmade papers and muslin were stained with gold to create the gold accents against the vermillion.
As always, thanks for the time you take to stop by my Blog, it is always appreciated.
Wishes
Lynne

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie Lee
    Sep 03, 2015 @ 22:14:02

    These cards so evoke the Renaissance for me, Lynne. I love your colour choices and those Lynne Perrella images. Your work always has such mystery, magic and imagination and such an intriguing visual story to tell. I also love your use of hand-made papers. You find and put together the loveliest things.xx

    Reply

  2. somefromnone
    Sep 03, 2015 @ 22:48:35

    I have to agree with Julie on all fronts. So appreciate your imagination Lynne – all of the time.

    Reply

  3. Sharon Bruner
    Sep 03, 2015 @ 23:34:56

    I can see I’m going to have to have a look at Brushos. You are always an inspiration to me, Lynne. This piece is stunning due to that gorgeous vermillion that you used. Wonderful images and touches of gold and white. I think it is always interesting to see your choice of papers and fabrics that you have put together. Thanks for sharing! inkybru xx

    Reply

  4. Sanderella's
    Sep 04, 2015 @ 03:17:36

    Love!! ❤

    Reply

  5. Meggymay
    Sep 04, 2015 @ 13:35:55

    Awesome colours with the Brushos, a totally different look to your usual shades. Both of these cards are beautiful.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  6. coco
    Sep 04, 2015 @ 16:30:20

    Hi Lynne! I’m still struggling to come back commenting on my best friends’ blogs, but well, here am I… 🙂 Happy to admire some of your last creations.
    Both are are really lovely and so interesting, the contrast of colours between Vermillion, Red rose and some touches of gold is just perfect!!
    Did you win the challenge? or a single step?? or just be published as a participant?.. That would be already great!!!.. 😀
    Bises mon amie Coco

    Reply

  7. butterfly
    Sep 04, 2015 @ 23:10:32

    Nothing to do with luck – it’s to do with you creating beautiful work whatever colour-way you’re working in. Definitely a surprise to see such a full-on vivid display here, but it’s still got your trademark textural beauty and vintage depth. Gorgeous.

    And yes, Prima wired thread it is – marvellous stuff. I’ve only got it in ivory – please don’t tell me there are more colours!!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  8. Shari T.
    Sep 06, 2015 @ 17:23:56

    Oh WOW, Lynne!! These cards are simply Beautiful!! I love the bright backgrounds with those funky and fun LP images!! I’m totally missing my Stampington magazines and seeing you published within their pages, Lynne!!

    Reply

  9. Samantha Read
    Sep 07, 2015 @ 12:03:28

    You always ‘do’ colour beautifully Lynne. This is lovely x

    Reply

  10. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Sep 07, 2015 @ 15:48:18

    Wow, dear Lynne, These are the brightest creations I’ve ever seen on your blog :). They are fabulous and very striking and I’m not amazed at all, that they got published. Congratulations!!!

    Reply

  11. Dorthe
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 10:51:08

    Dear Lynne,
    what bright and wonderful stamped creations, love the banner -like way ,you kind of show off the images, the beauty of the golden papers ,and muslin, your always well-chosen words, and the white scriples here and there!!
    Congratulations my friend, for being published , you so deserves it !!
    Dorthe, xxx

    Reply

  12. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Sep 11, 2015 @ 17:49:47

    Something different again from you dear Lynne.
    You never disappoint with your attention to detail and special ingredients!
    Congrats on being published!
    oxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

