A Smile of Friendship Part I (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
I have been meaning to share this card collection for weeks, in fact, make that months as they appeared in the Spring issue of The Stampers’ Sampler
There are four cards in total but I have split them over two blog posts as it would be too photo heavy otherwise!
It had been in my mind to make a collection with the fabulous Darkroom Door photobooth images as the focals but where I would have normally played around with neutrals I decided to go in the completely opposite direction and inject colour into the lives of those girls although by their wide smiles, maybe they were leading colourful lives anyway!
From the outset I had in mind fabrics, representing old cotton dresses that have faded through wear and drying in the summer sun and also of old quilts.  I wanted the fabrics I used, which although initially were bright, at least I call them bright (!) with the paint and water application, they toned down just lovely and to exactly the feel I wanted overall. cheerfulsmilelynnemoncrieffEach background is different but in a way they are the same.  Lots of layers of paint, layers of stamping including stamping with paint and lots of water to create drips and allow the colours to blend, let’s just say, lots of abuse!  In this photograph you can see the stamping which I randomly stamped with paint.  Darkroom Door background and texture stamps, to my mind, are amazing for stamping with paint and they are also amazing for adding touches of background texture, here and there no matter the project.smile.2lynnemoncrieffNow I think about it, I am sure I applied Grungepaste initially, along with the fabrics before any paint application.3smilelynnem
The words are from a Darkroom Door Word Block.  Fabulous stamps!  I used the stamp by randomly applying ink to particular phrases, stamping directly onto the background panel and then later I once again inked up the words/phrases I wanted to work with, taking the painted cardstock to the inked stamp.  I find this an easier way to work when I am zooming in on particular words/phrases.4cheerfulsmilelynnemThe Photobooth images really are wonderful and those images perfectly capture friendship and silly times.gleelynnemoncrieffoneFor this background the Word Block was randomly stamped.  It is very faint as I didn’t want the words to be obvious, it was more about creating another layer.  I also used the Splatter Texture stamp, stamped with paint.5.2Not that I am trying to tempt any of you but the Word Blocks are such great value because there is an abundance of words/sentiments and a stamp which can be used in different ways.gleelynnemoncriefftwoI will share the other two cards from this collection very soon.  In the meantime, many thanks for your visit to this post and also for your words of encouragement whether I share something vintage inspired, with a neutral colour palette or one of my more colourful pieces.
Wishes
Lynne

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. annie g
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 00:14:06

    such beautiful cards Lynne and its no wonder they were published. Stunning details and the PB’s look great

    Best wishes
    Annie x

    Reply

  2. Valerie-Jael
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 05:39:06

    Beautiful work! Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  3. craftytrog
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 06:44:13

    These beautiful cards are just perfect to give to a good friend, whatever the occasion! I love the summer dress fabric idea Lynne, you always put such thought into your creations.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  4. Meggymay
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 07:52:31

    Two beautiful, happy cards Lynne. Love the brighter colours with the old photo images.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  5. butterfly
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 12:16:16

    These are so delightful, Lynne – the colours, the great vintage photos, the lovely words about friendship – a really uplifting post. I should love to have a dress that made me feel this way!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  6. paper profusion
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 18:33:12

    Goodness what a lovely happy post, I’m smiling along with these ladies! The sense of texture, layers and fabrics is wonderful Lynne. All absolutely gorgeous! Good luck to them, I hope they do lead ‘colourful lives’! Nicola x

    Reply

  7. Fliss
    Sep 18, 2015 @ 21:58:49

    Wow! These are absolutely stunning Lynne and the image is so beautiful against your gorgeous backgrounds.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  8. pricelc
    Sep 19, 2015 @ 01:36:06

    What fun cards, Lynne! I really love how you’ve used the stamped words to evoke the fun times so evident in the images. And your backgrounds, including colors, are fabulous! xx Lynn

    Reply

  9. Lynn Stevens
    Sep 19, 2015 @ 07:18:25

    What a colorful post Lynne. Just what those girls needed!
    The little strips of fabric make for some great texture.
    Congrats again on being published again. Now I’m beginning to sound like a broken record!
    Hugs Lynn

    Reply

  10. Dorthe
    Sep 19, 2015 @ 15:43:16

    Such fantastic backgrounds, you have created ,dear Lynne, the texture and layers are so wonderful and I love your added pieces of fabrics, making, me feel the time from years ago, reaching out to me, and taking me in this lovely friendship, and time they so obviously shared !! Beautiful also, with the little faded feeling and the wonderful words .
    Hug from Dorthe

    Reply

  11. hettiecraft
    Sep 19, 2015 @ 23:18:42

    Gorgeous Lynne and I love those word stamps. On my wishlist now!!
    xx

    Reply

  12. Samantha Read
    Sep 21, 2015 @ 12:08:15

    Every time I come to your blog I fall in love with your creations. These are so timeless and lovely. Just love them all xx

    Reply

  13. Shari T.
    Sep 25, 2015 @ 16:15:12

    LOVE LOVE These cards, Lynne!! I can feel the playfulness you imbibed in the creation of this Super Duper fun set of cards!! I love the backgrounds and I love the pieces of fabric you’ve incorporated–So Fun!! Did I already say that? 🙂 LOL!! It’s like you brought the happiness these young women were feeling right into play for us all to experience! Can’t wait to see the other two cards!! 😉 🙂 Happy Friday my Dear Friend!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

