Morning Dew & Fragrant Blossoms (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
Time for a new post featuring cards I made a wee while ago and which appear in The Stampers’ Sampler Summer issue
For this card collection the idea in my mind was to work with Redlead Paperworks Floral Stems stencil as the focal for each card but I also needed stamping to feature as well and what was really important, as they were submission for Stampington’s Take Ten (even though they were actually selected for The Stampers’ Sampler), they needed to be quick makes.
Just as I set out to create this collection I had been working with another Redlead stencil, beautiful feathers. The base for that collection was Stampington & co artist paper something which I had not previously worked with, always keeping the papers intact within the pages of the magazines. With the cards needing to be quick makes, I decided to work with another sheet of artist paper, immediately cutting down on time. The artist paper I selected for the Floral Stems had a lovely textural appearance with colours blending from yellow/orange to a deeper orange …… let it be noted that orange and yellow are not favourites of mine!5 October 082Onto each background I stencilled some subtle pattern to bring added depth to the backgrounds. 5 October 084Yellow and orange might not be favourites of mine but it showcases the boldness of the floral stems especially by stencilling with black.
This sounds fanciful but most times there is an idea that is my springboard.  I had this idea of a summer’s day, when you take a photograph direct into the glare of the sun and the focal whether architecture, a person or flowers, will create a silhouette.  I actually like this effect and enjoyed taking photographs in this way to heighten the drama.  Anyway, that was the foolish notion in my head!5 October 085The paint flicks bring texture and I just cannot resist adding them. I also deliberately flicked onto the stencilled flowers to mimic pollen floating in the air.5 October 088Stamping must feature so I stamped the wonderful labels from Redlead Paperworks.  The labels cover different themes and are so useful.5 October 086I don’t think I pointed out that Floral Stems is one stencil with me focusing on particular stems.5 October 089Torn pieces of muslin were painted to blend in with the backgrounds and cardstock painted for the stamped labels.5 October 090I varied the strength of colour for the muslin to bring contrast.5 October 091The final card, Spring Beauty.5 October 093A hint of gold catches the light beautifully.5 October 097Thank you for your visit to this post and thank you to Devon Warren and The Stampers’ Sampler team for publishing this collection even though they were outwith my comfort zone (again!). Also a huge thank you to Chris and Sharon, Redlead Paperworks for allowing me to play with their fabulous products.
If you are in the middle of planning your Christmas projects then you might want to visit Redlead Paperworks where they have festive themed stamps, stencils, collage images and embellishments or if Christmas still seems too far off, then why not take a peek at their Halloween offerings.
This is a scheduled blog post but I wanted to add heartfelt gratitude for all the comments here and at Facebook. Your messages of congratulations for my Somerset Apprentice article really touched me, in fact, overwhelmed me!
Wishes
Lynne

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christine Smith
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 00:19:26

    These are all wonderful! I love the background colours, lovely texture too. Perfect backdrops for the cool stencilled flowers. xxx

    Reply

  2. lucy Edmondson
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 01:02:52

    What lovely cards, the texture is amazing!

    Lucy x

    Reply

  3. lesliecapone
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 01:32:00

    Beautiful! I love the colors and textures!

    Reply

  4. Ruth
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 05:54:04

    Gorgeous colours, simplicity with amazing touches of texture. Ruth x

    Reply

  5. annie g
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 06:52:48

    absolutely stunning Lynne and very appropriate for the CA sunshine/sunset colours.
    Huge congratulations on this publication, which are one of many I have recently viewed.

    Huge hugs
    Annie x

    Reply

  6. Suzi B
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 08:29:25

    Great cards Lynne in zingy colours which cheered up this mornings misty beginning.
    Suzi B xx

    Reply

  7. Hazel H
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 09:21:30

    Beautiful cards Lynne, the colours are gorgeous.
    xxx Hazel.

    Reply

  8. Corrie
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 10:01:54

    As you probably know I am quite fond of orange and yellow ! Therefore I really love these cards that look so simple yet so intricate ! Beautiful, Lynne !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  9. Anne R
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 11:07:12

    They may not be your favourite colours but they look absolutely glorious on your beautiful cards and really highlight the boldness of the flowers. Stunning work Lynne! Apologies for being missing but I have been keeping a distant eye on your beautiful creations. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  10. butterfly
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 11:24:04

    These are glorious, Lynne – it seems that stepping outside one’s colour-comfort-zone can have lovely results! The sunshine glow is just perfect with the flowers and love all the inky spots and drops.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  11. candycolwell
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 13:13:17

    Beautiful cards, Lynne. For not really loving the color palette, you have done a fabulous job with it. The simplicity of the designs are lovely. Red Lead has some lovely stamps. I really like the addition of the fabric scraps. Such a simple but effective idea. I also wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog and les I got such a kind comment.

    Reply

  12. meggymay
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 15:21:55

    Wonderful summery warm colours, its a beautiful set of cards Lynne.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  13. Dorthe
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 16:29:07

    I see the desert flowers ,the desert glowing in the hot sunshine, making the sand look almost like fire, and with golden spots inside , the flowers almost dried ,so in the strong light they looks like shadows !! You made a wonderful work, and they are gorgeous, when thinking you only used 10 minutes for each card, Lynne.
    Coming to the colours ,you know dear , what I think, but these cards are beautiful in all their simplicity !!
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  14. Sharon Bruner
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 17:01:47

    Lynne, Once again you have welded together the papers, layers of paint, textures and images to create a word story for the viewer. Thanks so much for sharing your great works with us! Cheers! sharon

    Reply

  15. Shari T.
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 18:29:44

    Yellow & Orange may not be your favorite colors, Lynne–But they are mine!! 😉 🙂 And I LOVE this set of vibrant cards!! 🙂 🙂 Oh and Lynne–No foolish notions in your head! I totally understand what you’re saying and I’d think you’ve nailed the effect you were going for!! LOVE THEM!! Congrats on this feature, Lynne! I still haven’t re-upped my subscriptions and look at what I’m missing in those pages! I’m so glad that you share these cards here 🙂 🙂 Happy Friday to you my Friend!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  16. craftytrog
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 21:52:57

    Wonderful summery cards Lynne! Congratulations! xx

    Reply

  17. Rachel Fisher
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 22:01:28

    these are gorgeous Lynne – amazing backgrounds and i love the stencils too – fabulous lovely lady! hugs rachel x

    Reply

  18. Julie Lee
    Oct 02, 2015 @ 23:38:59

    Oh, these are so lovely, Lynne. I love the warmth and the texture. It’s always a delight to see the lovely detail you include – the scraps of muslin, beautifully coloured to complement the design; the glorious paint spatters and the fabulous stamping. I love those Red Lead sentiments. These little rays of sunshine have truly brightened my evening! xxx

    Reply

  19. suesartofcraft
    Oct 03, 2015 @ 13:55:32

    Stunning cards. I love the way the simple image allows the textured background to really shine.

    Reply

  20. shilpa
    Oct 03, 2015 @ 19:38:05

    Beautiful cards, l love yellow and orange on the background.
    Congratulations on your feature at Stampers Samplers. Your work is always unique.

    Reply

  21. Fliss
    Oct 03, 2015 @ 21:13:10

    So beautiful Lynne. Such gorgeous colour and texture and stunning simplicity.
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  22. Lynn Price
    Oct 03, 2015 @ 21:39:28

    Absolutely fabulous, and hard to believe this color palette is out of your comfort zone! Will definitely be paying Red Lead a visit after seeing what you’ve done with these beautiful images! xx Lynn

    Reply

  23. Samantha Read
    Oct 03, 2015 @ 21:41:21

    So delicate and beautiful xx

    Reply

  24. Avril
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 17:50:50

    The colours might be out of your comfort zone Lynne, but they look stunning with the black stencilling and gorgeous textures.
    Congratulations on another wonderful publication.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  25. Sharon
    Oct 10, 2015 @ 03:09:18

    Love the colours on these!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

