A Hint of Wicked In Their Eyes

Hello Everyone
I have a Halloween offering to share with you, a card featuring Oxford Impressions Jack o’lantern stamp set.
For me, I like a neutral, tea/coffee stained colour palette for Halloween as it works perfectly for the vintage style I prefer but I decided that for this card I was going to take a deep breath and add a dash of orange! I know, what came over me I don’t know but as you can imagine, I toned it down with walnut ink crystals to bring it to a tone more suited for me.
Now, I mentioned the Jack o’lantern stamp set, this is the most recent addition to Oxford Impressions Halloween themed sets. Suzanne really does have such an extensive range of Halloween stamp sets ranging from the Too Cute to Spook side of Halloween to the slightly more macabre, as seen in the Danse Macabre set, with everything in-between.jollynnemoncrieffoneTaking watercolour paper, a shipping tag and fabric and trims along with a wooden frame, I set about staining all, firstly with dissolved walnut ink crystals then adding the orange before toning it all down.
For the background panel, I stamped the pumpkin, Trick or Treat and that lovely branch and on the shipping tag I stamped the focal image of the girls with spider’s web repeatedly stamped around them.
jollynnemoncriefftwoThe painted wooden frame highlights the sentiment.  I am sure those girls are harmless as they set out to Trick or Treat with their pet bat, Batholomew but there is something rather intense to their gaze so maybe they have a wee touch of wickedness, with the elder sister leading her younger sister into all sorts of Halloween mischief.jollynnemoncrieffthreeThere seemed to be so much time until Halloween yet all of sudden it feels as though time is running away.  Another day I will share another Jack o’lantern card which I made at the same time as this one. In the meantime, many thanks for your visit and I do appreciate that not everyone embraces Halloween, for whatever reason. I hope I cause no offence to any of you during the times I share anything related to this occasion.
(Selected Oxford Impressions Halloween themed stamp sets can be purchased from That’s Crafty in the U.K. HERE.)
Wishes
Lynne

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terry
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 00:24:08

    Well is that time of year and as wicked the look in their eyes, you still kept them looking beautiful! Lynne, I love the tag on card and the orange is so perfect for Autumn! Hugs!

    Reply

  2. Julie Lee
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 00:39:39

    I really love Oxford Impressions Halloween stamps. I was inspired to buy one of their sets last year, Lynne, thanks to your beautiful work! You are the best ambassador! This project just glows with special, Lynne Halloween magic – it’s perfect! I’m so envious that you still have those little wooden frames that we purchased from the same shop! That little bat is gorgeous too! xx

    Reply

  3. annie g
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 00:59:53

    Such beautiful OI stamps Lynne, perfectly showcased by you xx Wonderful details x

    TFS

    Annie xx

    Reply

  4. gio
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 08:32:59

    What can I see! Your unique, vintage style is a marvellous addition to the Halloween theme!

    Reply

  5. Gerrina
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 13:58:07

    Beautifully vintage! Love all the little embellishments; they make it delicate and beautiful! Have a colourfull day!

    Reply

  6. Dorthe
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 14:21:30

    Lynne dear, even we do not celebrate Halloween , I`m sure there will be a little magic, as this year Mathilde and Gustav is here,- I though hope I will see no wickedness in their eyes, and also there will be not trick or treat here, lol
    Your card is marvelous, with the beautiful stamped background, all so fall-like, and the girls gives me a little creap ….and I`m sure you are right, that big sister is on to something not so good !! Beautiful is your added flower, and the cut out pumpkins, ,it is such a wonderful story your card tells, and Batholomew is a sweetie 🙂
    You made me smile , xx

    Reply

  7. Corrie
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 17:46:30

    A wonderful card in true Lynne style ! Fabulous !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  8. Corrie
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 17:47:35

    Congratulations on your published cards in Stampers’ Sampler ! There are so many ! Fantastic and well deserved !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  9. Rachel Fisher
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 18:49:56

    super work Lynne – they do look like they’re up to no good – lol!! Hugs rachel x

    Reply

  10. Meggymay
    Oct 07, 2015 @ 21:19:18

    Absolutely your style and colours, love your take on Halloween with this fabulous project.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  11. Cheryl
    Oct 08, 2015 @ 08:02:36

    oh wow hun this is stunning the style colours and stamps fit to perfection,hugs Cherylxx

    Reply

  12. butterfly
    Oct 08, 2015 @ 09:04:00

    I just love this – I completely agree that there’s something very peculiar about the gaze of the older one – I wouldn’t care to cross her! The orange adds a great warmth to the piece – more of a glow than an out and out orangeness. Great vintage work as ever.
    Alison xx

    Reply

  13. Paper Profusion
    Oct 08, 2015 @ 18:04:37

    I’m sensing Damien (The Omen) through this pair! Something wicked this way comes alright! Gorgeous make though Lynne – love your beautifully warm tones – unless of course the light emanates from the fires of hell!!! Hope your week is going well and will try to catch up on email soon. Nicola x

    Reply

  14. Lynn Price
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 04:09:39

    Stunning make!! I just got these stamps from Oxford Impressions – total inspiration here to get them into use! Your colors and all that wonderful inked texture is fabulous – wow!! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  15. Diana Taylor
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 08:31:21

    Oh I love this – the colour palette is beautiful, I do like the toned down colour and the vintage look. The girls are beautifully creepy and I love the bat too – just perfect for Halloween!

    Reply

  16. Samantha Read
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 12:29:22

    Gorgeously orange to match the leaves and pumpkins. Beautiful as always Lynne.
    Wishing you a lovely weekend xx

    Reply

  17. Anne R
    Oct 09, 2015 @ 15:23:42

    Oh well, you know me Lynne, I wholeheartedly embrace Halloween and your card is wonderfully spooky – their eyes do look a bit more than mischievous and having a pet bat kind of gives them away…. The bat stamp is one of the best I have seen and I love how realistic the pumpkins look! This is a wonderful Halloween creation! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  18. Shari T.
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 16:11:51

    OMG! Lynne, you are not kidding when you say time is running away!! Indeed it is!! I can’t believe what I’ve been missing here at your blog!! Look at this lovely, but a bit scary, Halloween card! It’s those children….They look harmless enough, like you said, but it’s their jaunty stance and their staring eyes that have me shaking in my boots…well, maybe my socks! (it’s not boot weather yet!) 🙂 But, I do have to say, I like their bat, Batholomew! We need the bats, not the scary children!! 🙂 🙂 Just a FaBOOlous Halloween creation, Lynne!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

