Nightcrawlers

Hello Everyone
Another Halloween piece to share with you featuring a stamp I have already played with for this Halloween, HERE.  I so wanted to ink up Mr Poe once again, this time for some playtime with a Calico Crafts Parts Halloween ShrineMDF Flying Bat Colony and  MDF mini insects, decidedly creepy in themselves!
This might sound really dark and sinister, which isn’t really where my brain is at (!) but for this shrine I wanted a sense of claustrophobia, as though Poe is lying in a tomb and around him the insects silently crawl, spinning their webs and leaving their trails and above the bats swoop low on a midnight sky, illuminated by the golden glow cast by gaslight.
poeshrinelynnemoncrieffoneI decided from the outset that I wanted Poe himself to be set far back, I didn’t want him to appear as a stamped and fussy cut shape, I suppose I wanted to work with the depth of the shrine.  After preparing the base board with paints I stamped Poe, then stamped again, this time onto tissue paper which I layered onto the first image.  Onto this I applied the same paints and spray used throughout, before adding the decorative stamping. poeshrinelynnemoncriefffourThe shrines have such great depth, lots of room to play around in, so I sneaked in another MDF shape, this time a corner cobweb.
The detailing on those insects is amazing!poeshrinelynnemoncrieffthreeWith the paints and spray I achieved a mottled effect on all the MDF surfaces.
Included in the shrine kit is the MDF word, Spooky, the same as etched onto the shrine itself but I decided to keep it aside for another project.poeshrinefivelynnemoncrieff
This was the first time I had worked with a shrine (previously I had worked with one of their MDF shells) and although I was impressed with the shell, for some reason I was expecting a slight battle on my hands to assemble the shrine as often such items can be less than perfect when trying to fit them together.  I had nothing to worry about, a  touch of Gel Medium was all the adhesive I needed.poeshrinelynnemoncriefftwoPoe is from Oxford Impressions Haunted and the decorative stamp is from the Wicked set, available directly from Oxford Impressions and in the U.K. from That’s Crafty.
Many thanks for taking the time to visit this post.
A final word ….. Sweet Dreams!!!
Lynne

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Frances Peets
    Oct 16, 2015 @ 23:47:00

    Lynne you achieved a coffin-like appeal with the shadow box and I really love how you re-stamped the image on tissue paper. So much happening and so much to look at in the depth of your display. Fabulous, as is your usual.

    Reply

  2. paper profusion
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 00:04:57

    Oh my Wow! He really does look as if he’s decaying in a coffin, a shadow of his former self, open to all of nature’s nasty decomposition agents! All things considered Lynne I think this is the spookiest Halloween make I’ve seen yet, and I mean that with great kudos to you for creative artistry and scene setting I’m just a little bit sorry that i’ve viewed this at midnight! Shall keep the light on for a while yet. Might just check too that there’s nothing under my bed, or in the wardrobe……Nicola x

    Reply

  3. Valerie-Jael
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 06:10:05

    Beautiful tag, very spooky and stylish, hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  4. craftytrog
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 11:55:18

    Very spooky! x

    Reply

  5. Julia - Vintage with Laces
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 11:56:43

    Hi Lynne, This is a great piece! I’m not sure I would have slept well if I had seen this right before bedtime. It’s fabulously creepy!

    Reply

  6. Anne R
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 12:10:21

    OMGoodness Lynne, you certainly achieved what you set out to do, I love, love this wonderful creation. I really love how you got the coffin-like effect, it is spectacularly creepy and just made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. Well done for exploring the darker side of Halloween and getting it spot on! Fantastic work! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  7. Julie Lee
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 13:16:57

    What a fantastic creation! I really do like vintage and gothic when it comes to Halloween, rather than the garish gore! Wonderful, subtle spookiness! That colour choice is perfect and I love the way that Poe seems to rise out of the shadow at the back of the shrine. xx

    Reply

  8. Meggymay
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 13:33:39

    Wow, Lynne, you have gone over to the dark side with this one. Its a spooktacular creation. A fabulous shrine, with amazing details.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  9. Dorthe
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 15:36:51

    Oh Lynne, sleep well Lol, not after seing this fabolous shrine with all the insekts crawling on and around poor mr. POE. wonderful how he lay in the shadow, and You achieved a fantastic look with your brillant background, colours and stamps -love the cobwebs, too.this is wonderfully creepy, my dear. 🌸 xx

    Reply

  10. Sharon Bruner
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 16:44:22

    The whole vision is so reminiscent some of Poe’s work. My husband loves to read him…..I shy away a bit from him. But this is beautifully done to bring with the very essence of Poe thrillers. Well done! My, those MDF creatures look amazing real. Thanks again for sharing! xx sharon

    Reply

  11. Deborah (rustycage11)
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 17:15:03

    Fabulous tomb shrine, Lynne. Especially effective as he had a real horror of being buried alive (don’t we all?!!).

    Reply

  12. Rachel Fisher
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 19:08:06

    very very spooky Lynne – it had a feel of one of those awful jungle ordeals to me! Lol!!! Hugs rachel x

    Reply

  13. corinne
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 21:17:36

    Wow!! A frightening scene but so well done, the appearance of Poe inside the Shrine is fabulous and all these insects all around is scary!!!! I’m in awe Lynne, totally opposite to your delicate creative side, love love the diversity of your art. xx

    Reply

  14. butterfly
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 21:52:12

    What wonderful creepy crawlies and a spooky supernatural glow to the shrine! I just love what you’ve done with the Calico Craft Parts here – fabulous!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  15. Avril
    Oct 17, 2015 @ 23:20:50

    This is so creepy and spooky, you really have achieved the look of being encased in a tomb – all those spiders and bugs – I don’t think I’ll sleep tonight!
    Avril xx

    Reply

  16. Lynn Price
    Oct 18, 2015 @ 02:08:56

    Wow, Lynne! Such wonderful effects here with all the creepy, crawly bits….. and Mr. Poe shining through. The Calico Parts certainly play a major role but I think your use of paints absolutely brings this piece over the top – brilliant! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  17. Sharon
    Oct 18, 2015 @ 04:23:41

    Oh love this!!!

    Reply

  18. Samantha Read
    Oct 18, 2015 @ 14:22:26

    Poe’s unhappy face is great for Hallo’ween makes. You genius! xx

    Reply

  19. Julie Lavalette
    Oct 18, 2015 @ 23:36:04

    Wow Lynne, this is so creepy, eerie and utterly fun. I love it and must get myself one of these spooky shrines.
    Julie x

    Reply

  20. Sandy Dehon
    Oct 19, 2015 @ 23:34:27

    creepy crawly wonderful! My poor Edgar. What a talent and so handsome too!
    We see him and all we can do is heart the heart beat in the floor boards below.
    Thanks for your visit and wonderful comment. You have a new follower kid!

    Reply

  21. Shari T.
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 16:23:06

    Oh My Goodness Lynne!! My skin is crawling just looking at this spooky shrine or is it a tomb? Well, it’s got me feeling the creeps, for sure!! But, in a fun way 🙂 🙂 You know how I love Mr. Poe, and you’ve actually got me humming the little song…the worms crawl in, the worms crawl out, the worms play pinnacle on your snout… 🙂 🙂 LOL!! This Halloween season has been made so much more fabulous with your shrine/tomb!! Love It!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

Leave a Reply

