In The Woods Somewhere (The Stampers’ Sampler)

Hello Everyone
When Crafty Individuals released CI-429 I made this sample, HERE, for them but as I enjoyed making that card,  I decided to create a collection, with the intention to submit to The Stampers’ Sampler.
Delighted at realising they are published in the Oct/Nov/Dec issue of The Stampers’ Sampler, as a feature article called Nature Calls (I called them In The Woods Somewhere, a favourite track of mine from Hozier, actually I am slightly obsessed with all the tracks!).  Not only am I pleased that they liked the cards enough to publish them but they also photographed them so beautifully, staging one of the cards so perfectly for Autumn and emphasising the colours of the cards. For this post, unfortunately you only have my own photographs!
Washes of beautiful earthy tone Brushos form the backgrounds.  I knew I didn’t want any stamping on the backgrounds, the only stamping being the focals of the various tree images and aside from that, a sentiment.pacethenaturelmoncrieffoneAlong with the sense of Autumnal colours I wanted there to be textures so I added here and there, fragments of bark and also texture in the form of handmade papers and muslin, which were also stained with the Brushos.pacenaturelmoncriefftwo
For this card, I stamped the trees more than once, layering them to create a longer image to suit the cardbase.  When I look at this now, the background to the tree landscape almost has a stormy, brooding appearance compared to the first card.  I actually think this suits the dense appearance of the trees.  I still find Brushos to be slightly unpredictable so this was purely by chance.treeslmoncrieffoneA mica tile layered partially over the trees, with a cluster of stained handmade paper, muslin and velvet ribbon attached to the lower corner.treestwoNormally when stamping onto tissue paper the idea is for the tissue paper to dissolve into the substrate, blending into the background but for this collection that wasn’t what I wanted.  I tried to ensure the edges were not adhered to bring another element of texture and I like the lightness it brings to the trees.smallbeginningslmoncrieffoneThis beautiful sentiment is from Darkroom Door.smallbeginninglmtwoBrushos stain muslin and handmade papers so beautifully and allowed me to co-ordinate those little scraps with the backgrounds created.smallbeginningslm3Thank you to The Stampers’ Sampler for publishing this collection and for sharing on their Facebook page.
As big a Thank You to those of you taking the time to visit this post, I really do appreciate all your visits.
Wishes
Lynne

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie G
    Oct 26, 2015 @ 23:34:10

    Absolutely stunning makes Lynne….wonderful makes in such beautiful colours x they so deserved to be published as your makes are fabulous..huge congratulations on being published x x
    Annie x

    Reply

  2. valorydegree
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 05:49:25

    Oh, yes, Lynne, The Stampers’ Sampler did a wonderful job of showcasing your autumn cards in the latest issue – really beautiful! But I also want to mention how much I love your Holiday cards in pink 🙂

    Reply

  3. Avril
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 07:40:11

    Congratulations on the publication Lynne. Love the autumn colour range you’ve achieved with the brushos, perfect with these images
    Avril xx

    Reply

  4. craftytrog
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 09:48:16

    Congratulations Lynne! These cards are beautiful, such lovely Autumn colours!
    Alison xx

    Reply

  5. Meggymay
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 14:53:29

    Many congratulations for these being published, its a stunning collection.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  6. ~*~Patty Szymkowicz Magpie's Nest
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 16:15:59

    Congratulations Lynne!
    Every detail is so lovely and captures the essence and beauty of Autumn splendidly.
    oxo

    Reply

  7. Autumn
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 17:24:35

    Wow oh wow! Lynne, these are just the most beautiful earthy creations I’ve seen! Biggest congrats on being published! They are lucky to have your work! So very happy for you, sweet girl!

    Reply

  8. Julie Lee
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 18:34:23

    Congratulations on the publication of these exquisite cards! I really love all the texture on them – from the different papers to the beautiful scraps and the fabulous effect of the Brushos! Your work is a constant delight. You evoke nature in all her moods so perfectly in your wonderful creations. xxx

    Reply

  9. Dorthe
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 18:34:51

    This series is so beautiful, dear Lynne, the Brushos giving the feel of watercoloured background , creates so “living” autumn colours, with hints of all kinds of tones, which I love, and your stamped trees are beautiful.
    Congratulations dearest friend on being published with all of them, and so many more !
    Sending you wishes and warmth .
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  10. corinne
    Oct 27, 2015 @ 22:25:01

    They look incredibly beautiful Lynne. So pleased to see that you have been published once again using these marvelous CI tree stamps that you feature so well is several pieces.. I think they are made for you 🙂
    I adore them ALL. Hugs, Coco xx

    Reply

  11. 2amscrapper
    Oct 28, 2015 @ 04:15:11

    congrats–beautiful work!

    Reply

  12. michele s
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 04:11:49

    an utterly stunning collection! such richness of color and texture. love it so much and so glad it is being shared with others. xo

    Reply

  13. Anne R
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 09:09:26

    I always love it when you use the mica tiles and they are perfect on your autumnal scenes. You have captured the season so beautifully Lynne, to me it looks like those few moments before sunset when the colours are glorious. The tissue raised at the edges does indeed give the trees a subtle lift too. Huge congratulations on again being featured in Stampers’ Sampler magazine – they clearly have excellent taste! Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  14. Diana Taylor
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 09:18:31

    Stunning! I love your handling of the Brusho’s – I can’t seem to get any control on them at all! The colours are beautiful and I love the little additions, especially the bark. Beautiful work for a beautiful season!

    Reply

  15. Samantha Read
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 10:05:29

    Beautiful Lynne. You have such a wonderful eye for detail. I could look at this all day and keep seeing something new.

    Reply

  16. Asia King
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 14:17:36

    These cards are stunning, Lynne! The dramatic backgrounds created with Brushos are truly captivating. Yet the cards still look so delicate and precious and so mesmerising. Pure gorgeousness! Big hugs xx

    Reply

  17. Shari T.
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 17:10:23

    Congratulations, Lynne!! These cards are soooo beautiful and so deserving of publication (but of course, I’m biased about your creations!) in The Stamper’s Sampler!! The Brushos backgrounds are all these cards need with those gorgeous images of trees and you’ve embellished them perfectly with earthy pieces of fabrics, papers and bark!! Just Breathtaking!! Congrats again my Friend!! XOXO-Shari

    Reply

  18. hettiecraftI
    Oct 29, 2015 @ 21:01:14

    These are gorgeous Lynne. Very apt for Autumn too. congratulations on being published again.
    BTW what I did not mention on my post is that there is a huge crapalanche to the left of my desk!! I just kinda shoved everything out of the way to clear a space!
    Hugs
    xx

    Reply

  19. Marjie Kemper
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 14:15:41

    How beautiful! The soft touches of the fabric and ribbon are so nice against the lovely coloring.

    Reply

  20. Shelly Schmidt
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 17:44:15

    I just love your Autumn colors- and your texture you achieved by not adhering all of the tissue to the BG. I always love to re-look at your projects after I comment, so many fun details! Hope you have a great weekend!

    Reply

  21. Lynn Price
    Oct 30, 2015 @ 21:15:11

    Stunning collection, Lynne! Your brusho work is fabulous – I can’t wait to play with mine. And that stamping is luscious…..beautiful stamp to begin with, but you’ve taken it to another level! Gorgeous – I feel like I’ve been on a walk through the forest!! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  22. pearshapedchris
    Nov 01, 2015 @ 21:18:37

    Love these beautiful colours – perfect for the tree stamps! Congratulations on being published, although I do think they would have been daft not to! Chrisx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

