Reaching Out To The Past

Hello Everyone
The first Crafty Individuals Challenge for 2016 is now underway!
The theme for the month of January is Lace, Buttons, Bits ‘n’ Bobs, a theme set by the lovely Gio.
We would love you to join the fun for this challenge theme.

CHALLENGE GUIDELINES
To enter this month’s Crafty Individuals Challenge please put together your chosen project, which must include at least one Crafty Individuals product please.
At the end of the month Gio will set about choosing five lucky participants, each of whom will win a CI rubber stamp of their choice, and don’t forget that as per usual, once you have linked in your creation, you can also claim a lovely 25% discount code to use on anything you purchase from the CI Website, which will be valid to use until the 10th of February.
Further details of the challenge can be viewed HERE.

Crafty Individuals have some beautiful vintage inspired stamps fitting perfectly to this theme, especially for artwork with a vintage dressmaking theme to it but I had a story in my head and decided to go with it.blogShe has reached a particular stage in her life where she notices that every now and then, her mind will stop to remember moments from the past, those moments almost catching her unaware as she goes about her day, a hand reaching out to her memories, trying to grasp a hold of them before they fade beyond re-call.fiveThis time in her life, where a button box is no longer a storage container to help carry out an essential repair, overnight it seems to have become a place where memories are stored.  She gathers a handful of buttons, allowing them to flow through her fingers. A small, ironic laugh emits from her as she realises that the buttons could be representing time, slipping from her grasp.  When did she become this woman, where the past sneaks up on her as she goes about her daily life, when memories can make her laugh like she has not laughed in the longest time but also exposes her to a wave of sadness, enveloping her with no given notice as though it were a cloak.
Each button now seems to contain a memory at its heart:- a button from a favourite dress, the dress she wore on her first date with her future husband, or buttons from her wedding gown, or one from her daughter’s Prom gown…twoWith memories firmly taking hold she remembers friends gathering in the dance hall, whispers to each other of who had caught their eye and dreams of a new dance partner.  A sense of festivity bursting forth, with bunting which seems to dance along to the music every time the dancers whish past, laughter spinning around the room along with the floral dresses and high shine shoes of the dancers.  A memory.
threeSifting through her jewellery box she mocks herself as to why she kept a piece of jewellery which has been broken for the longest time, the self-mockery turning to a moment of deep melancholy as she re-calls his shy smile as he presented the dazzling bracelet to her, which now rests amongst a dried rosebud and his letters, of which she has too few.four
So there we have it Lace, Buttons and Bits and Bobs!  We certainly look forward to seeing your themed artwork.
Many thanks for the time taken to visit this post.
Wishes
Lynne

29 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lucy Edmondson
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 00:15:43

    This is gorgeous, Lynne, I love the hand reaching out,

    Lucy x

    Reply

  2. valorydegree
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 00:28:28

    I love the story that you’ve woven to give an extra dimension to your artwork.

    Reply

  3. june
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 00:34:25

    Absolutely gorgeous Lynne. I am inspired and will if i get time, create something for this challenge.

    Reply

  4. youngrecluse - JudiM
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 00:39:31

    Lynne~
    Not only is the artwork beautiful, but so is the story you created with it.

    Reply

  5. gio
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 01:37:59

    What can I say? This theme is made for you ! Wow, the combo: light purple and the vintages tone, the details, the photo, the story behind it…I love everything!

    Reply

  6. Valerie-Jael
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 07:22:34

    What a fantastic piece, love everything about it! Hugs, Valerie

    Reply

  7. Annie G
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 08:37:29

    Wow!!! This is so beautiful Lynne 😀 absolutely fabulous elements perfectly put together . I love it!!!! The hand looks amazing and is a wonderful addition

    Best wishes and thank you for the lovely message on Facebook…..Ditto

    Annie x

    Reply

  8. pearshapedchris
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 08:37:48

    I’m almost lost for words Lynne! This really is fabulous – along with the story! I am getting a bit like your beautiful lady myself (I don’t think I’m so old. ….) I love the colours you have used to create this gorgeous piece and the hand reaching out is a touch of genius! Hugs, Chrisx ps I did say almost!”

    Reply

  9. Avril
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 09:47:16

    A beautiful piece and a beautiful story giving meaning to all those gorgeous details. Love everything about it.
    Avril xx

    Reply

  10. Corrie
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 10:25:12

    This is a beautiful piece, Lynne. I also love your story..
    Corrie x

    Reply

  11. Milagros C Rivera
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 12:15:23

    What a beautiful recollection so artfully presented and so poetic in its core. Took me back to my grandmother and made me cry. Love this Lynne!!!

    Reply

  12. Nefertiti/Sylvie
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 13:18:28

    Gorgeous card, lovely colours.
    Happy new year Lynne.
    Hugs
    Sylvie

    Reply

  13. Jackie P Neal
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 13:57:57

    Oh my Lynne!
    You brought tears to my eyes with your story. I read this as I studied your photos and felt glimpses of my own and my Mothers life. You are such an amazing artist my friend. Thank you for sharing this beautiful piece and story along with it.
    warmly,
    Jackie

    Reply

  14. Sugar Lump Studios
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 14:03:30

    Lynne – this is just breathtaking! what I especially love is your use of lavender on the piece. soo pretty!

    Reply

  15. Samantha Read
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 14:36:05

    Simply gorgeous 🙂 🙂 🙂 xx

    Reply

  16. Valerie
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 14:38:51

    Love the story behind this work of art Lynne, amazing! So much detail, love the hand! I think you may have a book in you :0)
    Val x

    Reply

  17. Dorthe
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 14:39:09

    Oh ,a beautiful canvas, my dear Lynne. I too love your use of the purple, together with the softer rosa, and flowery fabric. I can see the woman for my inner eye dancing with her love ,wearing the jewelry from him, and also feel a bit sad, as I can easily see myself in your story, with the forgetting of things happened, and only recalling little bits ,!!! The hand is a wonderful illustration of the trying to hold fast, to all we have experiensed ,-also so gorgeous altered,- and love the banner you created .
    A lovely, lovely masterpiece, and wonderful story. xxx

    Reply

  18. sewpaperpaint
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 14:43:44

    Oh Lynne, this certainly teared me up. Your words, so thoughtful and vivid, reached into my heart today. This piece is truly a wonder to behold and the thought behind it so evident… How I relate to these captivating memories… Hugs, Autumn

    Reply

  19. CarolS
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 16:36:32

    This is beautiful Lynne! I love those relics you’ve been using!
    Thanks for the “Noel” stamp info…I’ll have to check that out!
    Hugs!

    Reply

  20. Lynn Price
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 18:57:56

    Lynne, what a touching post this is, both visually and in your story….. beautiful project all round with all the meaningful details. I’ll have to look around once I am home next week to see what I have from Crafty Individuals – I know I have something! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  21. Shelly Schmidt
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 20:16:51

    This is so you! I love the vintage elements, the lace and dainty buttons and the beautiful colors you used as well. I love the look at all of the detail pictures you post as well. I am catching up from the Holiday- went away to be with the kids/family. Hope you had a wonderful Holiday. Wishing you many blessings in 2016!

    Reply

  22. Anne R
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 20:55:10

    You really are the most wonderful story-teller Lynne, I love how you wove it into your post and your canvas is quite stunning, the hand looks so beautiful, the buttons, gems and lace all look wonderful. A truly beautiful piece of art. Hugs, Anne xx

    Reply

  23. hettiecraft
    Jan 05, 2016 @ 23:10:37

    Lynne this is absolutely gorgeous. I love all the little elements and the story behind it. Well done.
    Happy New Year.
    xx

    Reply

  24. Julie Lee
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 00:03:29

    Such a gorgeous textural canvas, Lynne. I love everything about it – such imaginative use of stamping and embellishments. I also love the narrative. You write so beautifully. You always inspire me! xx

    Reply

  25. Meggymay
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 10:04:26

    A gorgeous project with so many wonderful details. The story you wove around this was captivating, I loved the memories it shared.
    Yvonne xx

    Reply

  26. 2amscrapper
    Jan 06, 2016 @ 15:55:53

    Those narratives I came to love–this one, perhaps a little too close to home, really touched my heart. Beautiful art!

    Reply

  27. craftytrog
    Jan 09, 2016 @ 13:16:09

    Beautiful art Lynne! x

    Reply

  28. coleenfranks
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 09:35:43

    A lovely piece Lynne. I so like using vintage photos. Real people from a real time. So fascinating. Just think, some day people may use the photos from our generation to craft with as vintage.

    Reply

  29. Sharon
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 21:09:01

    This is truly stunning Lynne!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

