How Often Do You Create? (@ Somerset Place)

Hello Everyone This was one of the questions posed to me by Somerset Place , a few months ago. My response, along with those of such incredible talent as Sandra Evertson, Cat Kerr, Renee Zarate, Seth Apter, Anna Corba, etc,….  I know, I don’t know either what I am doing amongst them all, can be viewed HERE. All the questions were more difficult to respond to than I would have imagined. For this particular question I simply started by saying “when life allows”. In fact the whole of my response was rather boring and clinical, not beginning to hint at the passion I have for creating. To have given a more rounded response I would have had to dip into my personal life which isn’t something I tend to share on public platforms and also it would have been too involved an answer. Like so many of you, excluding any of you who make a livelihood from your art, we would probably all choose to create at some point, every single day but whatever the reasons:- family commitments, work life or factors completely beyond our own control, the chances are that creating has to fit around a window of opportunity and they might not occur on a daily basis.  What about the times when time/energy is limited but you know you are able to sneak 5 or so minutes of creative time and you will snatch at those precious minutes because you know it will prevent those twitchy, itchy fingers setting in! What about the times when you are not actually creating but your mind is actively planning, the springboard of an idea forming in your mind and where is that journal to jot it down before it becomes enmeshed with all the other germs of ideas free-flowing in your head. I know my Blog hardly begins to compare to Somerset Place but if you feel comfortable sharing how often you create, I really would be interested to read about your creative life and how you fit it around the other aspects of your life. Wishes Lynne

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen McAlpine
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 01:14:00

    Hi Lynne! I am working on something or other most days. Sounds excessive I suppose( but I just love creating and making things), and like you, I have lots of Design Team projects to create. Then there is the charity cards-Valentine’s for hospitalized children this month. And, special event cards for friends and family. Then the just for fun stuff. I decided to make an idea journal today. Collected lots of bits of paper where I had jotted down ideas. I will write them all in this journal and draw sketches, etc… Of course I will alter the cover and make it look cool. I fit it in around the rest of my life. We moved this October and are now closer to family. So, I am spending lots more time with my family. Which I like. Spending time getting the new house together too. How is everything with you? I will email more….

    Reply

  2. Catherine
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 01:39:52

    I similarly would love to create every day but life gets in the way. I’ve been lucky the last two days to create almost all day uninterrupted, but that is a rarity. Most weeks it will be sneaking some time in in the evening when I don’t feel guilty that the hubby is left on his own for a while, or if he is out and the child is in bed. Sometimes I ask for some creative time at the weekend if they want to do something else (lego or playing computer games usually dominates). I am almost always creating in my head though and this can lead to frustration of not having the time to complete these planned things.
    I also have classes I plan and create for so at least doing this means I have official reasons for sneaking some time here and there to create and not be a wife or mother for a bit.

    Reply

  3. Jani Howe
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 05:36:29

    I’ve been a card and small collage artist for about 17 years now, and have some customers who rely on me. This past year, I lost my dear husband, and now it is very important for me to try to keep to a schedule of creating something every day, even if the smallest bit. Children live elsewhere, the house is too large, so my creativity is what keeps me going – I have a goal for the days when getting up. Thank God I have a little talent, and I’m also grateful for some customers who look to me for meaningful cards to give to loved ones and dear friends. I do love what I do and hope that for the next few years I can keep at it as fervently as I do now. I do try to keep abreast of techniques and have learned so very much via the computer classes and even short videos. Thanks to all who give of their time to help the rest of us! Do please always let our ‘teachers’ know how much you appreciate them!

    Reply

  4. Dorthe
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 09:31:04

    Dear Lynne, like you, and so many others, creating is a ,in between , and happy thing, which are done when there are “place” in the day, energy and nothing else which too deeply concerns me. And I love the peace and relaxed feeling it gives me. I know that for you with deadlines it is something totally else, my friend, and admire you so much for all you accomplish , with creating all your amazing and beautiful cards, collages, ornaments etc……
    It must be difficult to fully answer those questions ,as of course also private matters affects our creative life.
    I wish you all the best conditions for your creativity in our new year.
    Something else ,Lynne, have you read my last blog post? will it effect us? If so I will find another way of following you?
    Winter hug (snowing here) to you.
    Dorthe, xx

    Reply

  5. coleenfranks
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 11:24:32

    Hi Lynne, I dream of the day when I am free enough to art more regularly, but in the meantime I know it is my path that God has chosen for me to share my love of creativity with the children and ladies of Ukraine. It is a joy to see them light up with the discovery of their own abilities. I know that in so doing I am giving something that will outlive me. Someday in the next few years we will move back to the states and hopefully have more time. In the meantime, I teach many things that I myself love doing so I’m often creating the examples to show. We’ve done collage, altered books, mixed-media, altered containers and more. So fun. Always enjoy seeing your art.

    Reply

  6. Corrie
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 15:23:52

    Hi Lynne, I am very lucky to be able to create every day! Although I am sometimes not in the mood… My husband has retired and has a very time consuming hobby too (he builds model aeroplanes) so most days we spend on our hobbies which is absolutely fabulous and I am grateful that I could stop working in 2010. I am on a few design teams like you and have to adhere to deadlines but for me that is a really good thing…. an incentive to create !
    What I wanted to say to you is that you DO belong amongst the artists you mentioned as you are a very, very talented lady !
    Corrie x

    Reply

  7. Gerrina
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 20:24:21

    Well, as you wrote I too am creating and having ideas in my head during the day (sometimes on the stranges times a/o places 🙂 ). If possible I draw them in my little book, but most of the time they land on whatever kind of little paper I can lay my hands on…
    Putting the tools and all I need for a project together is something I do in between in those 5-10 minutes that I sometimes can spent during a day. And if I have the piece and at least 30 minutes time, I start creating. Even then it is possible that ‘life’ comes between me putting something onto the paper… The only time in the week that I really take for myself is a few hours each saterday, if I am at home on saterday…
    Creating and thinking about what to create gives me the opportunity to “clear my head” and gives me energy to get going during all the other things I do…
    Enjoy your weekend; even the little beautiful moments!

    Reply

  8. Fliss
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 21:35:32

    My crafting is an inbetween thing too Lynne and I’m always thinking of ideas even at times when I should be thinking of something else! I quite often wake up first thing in the morning with an idea or two (much be thinking in my sleep :D) and have to leap out of bed to jot them down so I don’t forget.
    Have a great crafty weekend (I’m planning on some).
    Fliss xx

    Reply

  9. suzy
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 21:46:37

    Oh this is such an interesting topic Lynne! I often wonder about the amazing output of artists in their lives and how they manage to achieve so much. I am even amazed at the people like you who are always having to meet deadlines in producing their artwork! I think it is something that cannot be forced and one must have peace of mind, heart and spirit to create and today’s lifestyle can be such a hinderance in achieving this space. I feel very fortunate in being able to have the space and time I do have to just create and feeling blessed at the same time.
    Thank you for sharing all of this and I shall go on continuing to admire your wonderful artwork and how you also share your techniques.
    Warm hugs,
    Suzy xx

    Reply

  10. Julie Lee
    Jan 08, 2016 @ 23:00:38

    I find myself snatching some time to create most days! Those days when I can’t fit any crafting in I always feel a little bit unfulfilled. Even on those fallow days when there are just too many calls on my time to create, I usually dash to my little notebook and jot down ideas for the next project before they evaporate! That said, once I start work on a project, I just go where the muse leads and it turns out very differently from my notebook plans! I am so happy to have discovered the outlet of craft for creativity and your beautiful blog, which never fails to inspire me. Thank you so much so much for asking us to contribute here.xx

    Reply

  11. Lynn Price
    Jan 09, 2016 @ 23:46:00

    Ah, Lynne – what an intriguing question!

    Reply

  12. Lynn Price
    Jan 09, 2016 @ 23:51:54

    And here is the rest of my reply, lol! Like most of us, I carve out time, mostly on the weekends for actually doing something, but I also spend a lot of time dreaming and imagining (whilst going about my work day), and then trying to figure out how to bring what I’ve in mind to reality. Many times, I am inspired by something I see here or elsewhere in the craft blogland….and often by a challenge although I rarely meet those deadlines. I am trying to be (forgive the pun) more crafty (as in fox) about how I spend my time, however – as I love seeing what everyone creates for these things. What I would ask you is how one publishes? I love seeing your work in Somerset – you absolutely rank tops there!! xxx Lynn

    Reply

  13. Jackie P Neal
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 16:42:20

    Lynne!! Of course you are among those artists!! are you kidding- you are one of my very favorite artists and I truly enjoy reading viewing and experiencing your words and art by reading your posts,whether here on your blog or others,or in magazines! You are amazing!
    Now what was the question?heehee
    warm wishes,Jackie

    Reply

  14. darscards
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 00:33:07

    How often do I create???? alot more than I used to now – as I retired in October.
    (so I got back into crocheting too – haven’t done any of that in over 25 years) But on saying that – my mind/imagination have to be there too….the ideas colours techniques….so much to do and choose from. But there are days where I sit in my room and think …and think… and think…and nothing happens..so out comes my old stampers magazines to flip through / log onto the internet and start browsing – blog hopping – looking for inspiration…
    Then again -other times … it is like a whirlwind in the craft room !
    So how often I create really depends ….. whatever life brings…..
    I say – bring it on !
    Darlene
    blog-dar-blog.blogspot.ca

    Reply

  15. Christine Smith
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 11:58:04

    With me it depends on my energy levels due to a constant struggle with ME/CFS. There is no pattern. I create when I can. I haven’t created this year so far but hopefully soon. I starting crafting when I got ill and it is the best therapy ever! I haven’t been able to work for nine years and without craft and the crafty blog world to keep me in touch with lovely people and fab inspiration, my life would be a darker place with a lot less colour! Sorry, I may have gone off at a tangent! xxx

    Reply

  16. Sue F
    Jan 12, 2016 @ 17:54:28

    I try and set aside sometime each day but it doesn’t always work. With my last job I could go weeks, working evenings and weekends so there was no time for anything. I have much more time now although I haven’t done very much since Christmas. The obstacle now is one of my own making: I can’t start anything creative until housework, shopping and all the other ‘life stuff’ is out of the way. I just grab the time and the inspiration when it’s there.

    Reply

  17. Corinne Rollet
    Jan 13, 2016 @ 22:13:12

    I’m sorry Lynne, I’m just too tired tonight to formulate a good and complete answer… but as a very good friend of mine, you know quite well my life and my difficulties to stay quietly at my craft table every day, despite my strong desire of crafting almost ALL the time! Just because I remain above all a mum of 4 children not raised yet, giving me a lot of work (I have no more housekeeper, and my twins no more go to the canteen at lunch time and are back from school just two hours only after lunchtime!!..) I have also troubles sometimes with my eldest..
    So even if I thought initially that I would have much more time than before to craft, it is rather the opposite in fact at the moment!! 😦
    But I still continue to create of course, 5 minutes here and there, every free minute… writing also the instructions for my workshops that give me so much work too! Well, I do not complain however.. just regret the lack of time to blogpost, go on FB or follow my friends on their blogs more regularly!
    Hugs and good night Lynne, until the next time… as soon as possible 🙂 xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

